Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ekkas
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:01 pm
Location: South Africa

NStreme question

Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:20 pm

Will NStreme work fine with an AP-bridge and multiple MT stations, or is it meant just for a point-to-point link?

Thanks
Ekkas
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:29 pm

It will work fine for a point-to-multi-point network (and is what NStreme was designed for, amongst other - to work around hidden station problem etc.). The only thing (rather obvious) to observe is that all your clients have to MikroTik, too (and be configured for NStreme)...

Best regards,
Christian Meis
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:43 pm

Nstream (and polling) is perfect for p2mp

I now have 100% mikrotik and not sure if my phone still works (no support calls anymore)

Nstream will add abot 3ms to a ping but with multiple clients under heavy load thats where is is perfect

I have done spped tests and will nstream on ping sstay low under full load
 
rmdjapri
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 7:25 pm

Sat Aug 12, 2006 11:41 am

Can we do Nstream with RB532A ? I assume that the resources will not be enough? CMIIW.

Best regards,
Romie Djapri
 
ekkas
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:01 pm
Location: South Africa

Sat Aug 12, 2006 12:14 pm

I also found that NStreme does improve bandwidth test up to more than 100% faster, but sometimes the connection drops, disable nstreme and everything is ok again... P2P link with grid antennas, on 5GHz.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Sun Aug 13, 2006 1:01 pm

single nstream on rb500 is fine (20mbps) with good signal
 
Alex
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:07 am

Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:24 pm

and without nstreme and with g-turbo 32 mbps... :shock:
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:33 pm

and without nstreme and with g-turbo 32 mbps... :shock:
Short of CPU power i think ...
 
rmdjapri
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 7:25 pm

Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:36 am

single nstream on rb500 is fine (20mbps) with good signal
What is a good signal mean? Is it -50 ~ -70 is still consider as a good signal?

best regards,
Romie Djapri
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:38 am

single nstream on rb500 is fine (20mbps) with good signal
What is a good signal mean? Is it -50 ~ -70 is still consider as a good signal?

best regards,
Romie Djapri

-70 is good signal on 5.8ghz
 
rmdjapri
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 7:25 pm

Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:53 am

-70 is good signal on 5.8ghz
What about on 2.4 ghz? Is it still a good signal?
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:55 am

-70 is OK on 2.4 but I normally don't get that high speeds

perhaps 10mbps

Others may have different experiances

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 33 guests