Community discussions

 
Patrick92
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:25 pm

External Radius Server

Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:47 pm

Hello,
i´m form Germany,
I hope you can help me.

I need an external RADIUS server, for connecting the hotspot staions.

I createt an Ubunut 14.04 LTS Server with Acccessmanager ( http://www.accessmanager.in ) but i have some problems....
The Support of Accessmanager is very poor....

Give it other solutions???

I hope you understand my bad english,
an someone can help me with my problem.


Best regards Patrick from Germany
hotspot.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Valexus
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:11 pm

Re: External Radius Server

Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:10 pm

Hi,

why don't you use FreeRadius (like everybody else)? :wink:
 
getonlove2
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: External Radius Server

Fri Jan 29, 2016 6:49 am

First of all, Mikrotik User Manager is very good solution. Beside this, I prefer Free Radius which is the best in ever. You can try Dalo Radius as open source software.

Else you have different options for commercial radius like Radius Manager.
 
Alshaf3e
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:15 pm

Re: External Radius Server

Fri Jan 29, 2016 6:35 pm

how can i configuration external radius server and userman
 
User avatar
leemans
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:55 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: External Radius Server

Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:24 pm

Dear,
You have to setup Userman first.
Or in the same router (not recommended) or in a separate router (device) or VM.
Read the documentation of Userman how to setup subscribers, profiles, routers, users, etc...
Then in the AP in winbox menu Radius put IP address of Userman + secret and rest of config.
This should work but you have to read the manuals first.
Grtz,
Patrick
 
m4t7e0
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:17 am

Re: External Radius Server

Thu Feb 25, 2016 1:04 pm

Dear,
You have to setup Userman first.
Or in the same router (not recommended) or in a separate router (device) or VM.
Read the documentation of Userman how to setup subscribers, profiles, routers, users, etc...
Then in the AP in winbox menu Radius put IP address of Userman + secret and rest of config.
This should work but you have to read the manuals first.
Grtz,
Patrick
i have tried userman configuration, but i have a problem with the external NAS ip address, in my scenario, every day the IP address of the external hotspot Change and is possible to accept radius request from every IP Address.

Anyone have a solution?
 
User avatar
leemans
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:55 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: External Radius Server

Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:16 pm

In order to get everything working well you need public fixed IP addresses on all sites.
Another solution is to make VPN's to your central point if this is possible and then you're authenticating through a fixed connection with fixed IP address.
Patrick
 
m4t7e0
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:17 am

Re: External Radius Server

Fri Feb 26, 2016 5:44 pm

In order to get everything working well you need public fixed IP addresses on all sites.
Another solution is to make VPN's to your central point if this is possible and then you're authenticating through a fixed connection with fixed IP address.
Patrick
Yes i know this solution, but is not good for my request becaus some device doesen't support VPN (Cloud Device)... but is possibile add a subnet in the nas ip addresS?
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4048
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: External Radius Server

Fri Feb 26, 2016 6:26 pm

I don't know about UserMan, but FreeRADIUS lets you do that.

Do realize that it can be a security weakness because if someone captures your RADIUS secret, they can connect to your server from that same range and start making brute force attempts on your passwords.
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
User avatar
leemans
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:55 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: External Radius Server

Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:02 am

I don't know about UserMan, but FreeRADIUS lets you do that.

Do realize that it can be a security weakness because if someone captures your RADIUS secret, they can connect to your server from that same range and start making brute force attempts on your passwords.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest