Community discussions

 
Samwise
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 1:21 am

CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:13 am

I am testing CAPsMAN for work and am having some trouble with setting 5GHz channels widths.

20MHz width works fine, but if I change the width to 40 or 80MHz, CAPsMAN interfaces always reports an "unsupported channel"

Here is my config
add band=5ghz-a/n/ac extension-channel=eeCe frequency=5785 name=5ghz_channel_157 width=80
add channel=5ghz_channel_157 country="united states" datapath.local-forwarding=yes mode=ap name=5G_CAPSMAN_HAP ssid=5G_CAPSMAN
add action=create-dynamic-enabled master-configuration=5G_CAPSMAN_HAP name-format=identity radio-mac=E4:8D:8C:53:00:0A
If I disable CAP on the hAP and manually set this channel/width configuration, it works fine.

CAP Manager is a CCR1036-12G-4S
CAP is a hAP AC
Both are running RouterOS 6.34.2

Screenshot
capsman-5ghz.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:42 am

be sure of provisioning the 2 radios of hap ac independently to assign respective frequency and channel
 
Samwise
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 1:21 am

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:30 am

I got this working. Channel width has to be 20MHz, and the extended channel determines your actual channel width. There also seems to be some problems with how the extension channel setting gets pushed to the CAP from CAPsMAN.

Take a look at the settings I had on CAPsMAN versus what the CAP reports as its channel/width settings
cap-5ghz.png
capsman-5ghz.png
See, the settings on CAPsMAN extension channel are eCee, but the CAP reports eeCe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Wed Mar 09, 2016 6:15 pm

this problem will be fixed in the next release candidate version.
 
whyfly
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:48 pm

this problem will be fixed in the next release candidate version.
The current way, 20 MHz channels, with options for additional extension channels (such as Ce or Ceee for a total of 40 or 80 MHz of channel usage) makes sense to me. What will the fix look like? Will 20 MHz Ce still allow for potentially 40 MHz of channel usage or will the configuration have to look something like "20/40 MHz Ce"? I don't want to accidentally configure an interface in a manner that requires the client to connect at only 40 MHz or at only 80 MHz.

In a CAPsMAN environment, my thought is the following 7 straightforward options should be valid:

"20" 20 MHz - extension channel disabled
"40ce" 20/40 MHz - Ce
"40ec" 20/40 MHz - eC
"80ceee" 20/40/80 MHz - Ceee
"80ecee" 20/40/80 MHz - eCee
"80eece" 20/40/80 MHz - eeCe
"80eeec" 20/40/80 MHz - eeeC
 
Samwise
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 1:21 am

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:12 pm

this problem will be fixed in the next release candidate version.
The current way, 20 MHz channels, with options for additional extension channels (such as Ce or Ceee for a total of 40 or 80 MHz of channel usage) makes sense to me. What will the fix look like? Will 20 MHz Ce still allow for potentially 40 MHz of channel usage or will the configuration have to look something like "20/40 MHz Ce"? I don't want to accidentally configure an interface in a manner that requires the client to connect at only 40 MHz or at only 80 MHz.

In a CAPsMAN environment, my thought is the following 7 straightforward options should be valid:

"20" 20 MHz - extension channel disabled
"40ce" 20/40 MHz - Ce
"40ec" 20/40 MHz - eC
"80ceee" 20/40/80 MHz - Ceee
"80ecee" 20/40/80 MHz - eCee
"80eece" 20/40/80 MHz - eeCe
"80eeec" 20/40/80 MHz - eeeC
Now that's what I'm talking about. If the CAPsMAN configurations would mirror what the config on WLANs themselves would be, that would make the most sense to me. Instead of splitting them into 2 different fields (width AND extension channel).
 
User avatar
intelfx
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:30 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:26 pm

this problem will be fixed in the next release candidate version.
Still not fixed with 6.38, specifying anything above "20" makes it say "unsupported channel" or "no supported band". Any comments?

My devices are RB2011 (CAPsMAN + 2.4GHz CAP) and wAP ac (5GHz CAP). The problem is present with both devices.
 
MartijnVdS
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:36 am

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:41 pm

Still not fixed with 6.38, specifying anything above "20" makes it say "unsupported channel" or "no supported band". Any comments?
You're not supposed to use a bigger channel.

You use 20MHz channels, and use the "extension channel" setting for configuring where you want the extra 20MHz channels to be relative to the main channel (they're called "extension channels" for a reason).

Works fine on my hAP AC and wAP AC.
 
User avatar
intelfx
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:30 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Sun Jan 08, 2017 3:03 am

Still not fixed with 6.38, specifying anything above "20" makes it say "unsupported channel" or "no supported band". Any comments?
You're not supposed to use a bigger channel.

You use 20MHz channels, and use the "extension channel" setting for configuring where you want the extra 20MHz channels to be relative to the main channel (they're called "extension channels" for a reason).

Works fine on my hAP AC and wAP AC.
OK, understood. The non-CAPsMAN GUI says "20/40/80 MHz" for the triple-extension-channel mode, assuming that extension channels are included in the channel width, and it confused me.
 
mischa
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:44 pm

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:35 pm

Still not fixed with 6.38, specifying anything above "20" makes it say "unsupported channel" or "no supported band". Any comments?
You're not supposed to use a bigger channel.

You use 20MHz channels, and use the "extension channel" setting for configuring where you want the extra 20MHz channels to be relative to the main channel (they're called "extension channels" for a reason).

Works fine on my hAP AC and wAP AC.
Can you post a screenshot of your channel settings?

Thanks,

Mischa
 
Kampfwurst
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:53 pm

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Fri Jun 21, 2019 7:18 pm

I have still the same problem. Version 6.44.3
 
User avatar
Exiver
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:45 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CAPsMAN 5GHz wireless channel problems

Sat Jun 22, 2019 3:28 pm

@Kampfwurst:
Please open a new thread with your hardware details and configuration. A few things have changed between 6.34 and 6.44

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests