Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:34 pm

Today I tried to configure a Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick on a RB951G-2HnD.

The router is partially configured and everything looks OK until I plug in the stick.
At that moment, many lists like the interfaces list become completely empty.
The router is still working but when looking in the config (via ethernet) it behaves very strangely.
E.g. when looking in the Firewall filter set, the default rules which have an interface are marked as invalid
because the interface no longer exists.

Unplugging the stick does not fix it, but rebooting the router without the stick makes everything normal again.
When the router is powered on with the stick in place, I cannot reach it anymore.

What can be happening here? How can it be made working normally?
Software is the latest testing version: 6.35rc46
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:59 pm

I tried the stick in a PC, works OK. Took the opportunity to disable PIN. Connection is fine.
When stick plugged into the MikroTik, still the same problem.

After some time of flickering the LED on the stick lights solid blue, so I don't think it is a power problem.
What else? This stick is supposed to be working...
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:52 am

modem firmware? hilink or non hilink?
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:09 am

When I plug the modem in a laptop it has a folder "HiLink".
It also has an installation script for use on Linux.
(I don't think the MikroTik will call that, but at least it indicates the thing should work on Linux)
I have not yet tried it on a plain Linux system, only on a Windows laptop (works!) and the MikroTik router.

When I generate a supout without the stick it completes in seconds, when I try with the stick inserted it takes
half an hour or so with 100% CPU. But with just the stick inserted and not generating supout the CPU is low.

I have mailed to support@mikrotik.com with these two supout files, hopefully it will be possible to fix it as we
have a good use case for this combo.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:36 pm

More info:
Hardware version: CL2E3372HM
Software version: 22.200.05.00.1080
Web UI version: 17.100.11.00.1080

Is it advisable to put "serial modem" software in it?
(I see another thread now that discusses that it works but is slower, however I don't care about that)
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:13 pm

I tried with Huawei E1820 3G stick, which is not even listed as supported, and it works OK!
That stick uses a normal "modem" interface with PPP.
Apparently the E3372 problem is becuase it uses the HiLink mode, which is supposed to be better.
However it can be downgraded to a modem stick, I think I will have to do that when no solution comes forward.
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:26 pm

I tried with Huawei E1820 3G stick, which is not even listed as supported, and it works OK!
That stick uses a normal "modem" interface with PPP.
Apparently the E3372 problem is becuase it uses the HiLink mode, which is supposed to be better.
However it can be downgraded to a modem stick, I think I will have to do that when no solution comes forward.
did the lte1 interface appear when u plug it?
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:31 am

did the lte1 interface appear when u plug it?
No. Instead, all other interfaces disappear from view (but they still work).
When I put the stick in before power-on (as support suggests), the interfaces do not come up, so
I cannot connect to see what is happening.
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:58 pm

can you take screen shot form System> resource >USB
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
kristaps
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:37 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:25 pm

This issue was introduced in 6.35rc version in 6.35rc49 it is now fixed.


You E3372 with vendor-id="0x12d1" device-id="0x14dc" should be in hilink mode. lte1 interface will appear . you need to add dhcp-client to that lte1 interface.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:28 pm

It shows a device HUAWEI_MOBILE and when I further click on that I get:

Device 1:6
Vendor HUAWEI_MOBILE
Name HUAWEI_MOBILE
Serial Number
Vendor ID 0x12d1
Device ID 0x14dc
Speed 480 Mbps
USB Version 2.10
Ports 0
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:31 pm

This issue was introduced in 6.35rc version in 6.35rc49 it is now fixed.
Ok thank you! I am in mail contact on the support mail with you as well.
I will again update the software and see how it goes!
Edit: the rc49 version is not on the site yet, I presume it will appear soon.
Also, for some reason this router won't update from the "check updates" button, it says:
ERROR: could not resolve dns name
However, I have traced the DNS traffic and it appears to get a valid DNS response.
I'll have to debug that further before putting the blame on MikroTik, the router is on a WiFi guest network now.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:00 pm

Also, for some reason this router won't update from the "check updates" button, it says:
ERROR: could not resolve dns name
However, I have traced the DNS traffic and it appears to get a valid DNS response.
I'll have to debug that further before putting the blame on MikroTik, the router is on a WiFi guest network now.
Found that! It is an error in the default settings of the DNS server timeout.
This used to be 2 and 10 seconds, now it is defaulting to 0 seconds and that apparently makes the DNS
queries always fail. Setting 2 and 10 seconds manually restores the DNS function.
(but the rc48 version is still the uptodate version it says)
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:50 pm

It was fixed by installing the 6.35rc49 version!
 
kobuki
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Sun May 22, 2016 10:45 pm

I also have a Huawei E3372, it works fine in Hilink mode under Debian Linux 8, kernel 4.2, but I can't make it work on my HAP AC. The modem is stuck in the vendor-id="0x12d1" device-id="0x1508" configuration, which is the "basic" mode without the Hilink interface. Linux can switch it to device-id="0x14dc" and bring up the wwan0 LTE interface. So the modem is not at fault, probably. The basic mode doesn't work either. I can make it connect but the connection is dropped at the fist packet going trough it.

I've made a support request too, but no answer at all. Not even an automatic acknowledge mail. That's pretty frustrating, Mikrotik.

Any hints are greatly appreciated.

EDIT: using latest RC.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Mon May 23, 2016 11:10 am

I've made a support request too, but no answer at all. Not even an automatic acknowledge mail. That's pretty frustrating, Mikrotik.
That means there is a problem in the mail somewhere. The auto ack always arrives promptly.
Maybe your provider has been spamming?

Anyway, the 3372 still works fine for me, now running 6.35.2
I would have liked it to work in PPP mode instead of hilink (because this removes the NAT) but I don't want to spend
the effort of flashing the alternative firmware. Hopefully some alternative way of switching to a non-NAT mode will
pop up sometime, but I think it is a Huawei issue.
 
kobuki
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Mon May 23, 2016 11:22 am

@pe1chl, can you please tell me what version of the srick you use? There're different series, 21.xx, 22.xx. Also, did you make any special settings?

My host is not spamming but that's only relevant when sending mails out of it, not when receiving...
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Mon May 23, 2016 11:46 am

I don't remember the version, but in my case it was a new stick and it did not work at first, I contacted MikroTik
support and promptly it was fixed in the abovementioned RC version and later released version 6.35
The only setup required was to add a DHCP client after plugging in the stick, which showed up as an LTE interface.
DHCP client is used to give the router an address from the NAT pool of the stick.

When you get no autoreply from the support mailbox, either your mail does not reach them (e.g. because it is marked
as spam somehow) or your own mail system or path drops the reply somewhere.
I have never had problems to contact support and get an autoreply. And very often there also is a human followup,
and in this particular case a very fast fix of the problem (couple of days).
 
Senux
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Mon May 23, 2016 12:58 pm

I tried with Huawei E1820 3G stick, which is not even listed as supported, and it works OK!
That stick uses a normal "modem" interface with PPP.
Apparently the E3372 problem is becuase it uses the HiLink mode, which is supposed to be better.
However it can be downgraded to a modem stick, I think I will have to do that when no solution comes forward.
Do you know what is Hilink or stick mode in Huawei modems? I suppose you do not. There is too different modes of modem behavior: Hilink (firmware 22...) is modem-router, stick (firmware 21...) is usual modem, so there is no downgrade or upgrade, there is mode switching. Hilink is worse, because it has limited configuration and there is one more router till internet. Modem hardware is weak, so working in Hilink mode takes more resources and as result lover maximum downloading and uploading speed.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 5989
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Mon May 23, 2016 3:11 pm

I have searched the internet when I was doing this, and I encountered a page with a long and complicated procedure
to change from HiLink mode to normal modem (PPP) mode. This involves downloading different firmware, for
which authorization codes are required etc. So it is not a matter of simply setting a checkmark to change a mode.

As this was a pilot for a project for which I want a plug-and-play solution, I did not further investigate that.
 
kobuki
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Using Huawei E3372 3G/4G stick

Mon May 23, 2016 4:35 pm

@pe1chl: well, it was my mistake, the ack mail landed in the spam folder after all. It got lost with the junk there but just found it. I hope they can fix the issue. It works for you, it should for me as well. I hope it's not a faulty HAP AC where I tested it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 91 guests