Community discussions

 
Erayd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:59 pm

Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Mon May 09, 2016 2:09 am

What's the recommended process for upgrading a hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2?

Attempting to upgrade it via System>>Packages>>Check for Updates>>Download & Install results in the following error:
ERROR: not enough disk space, 7.7MiB is required and only 7.3MiB is free
I have reset this router to default config, and removed all files, but this did not help. I do not have any non-core packages installed. System>>Resources says that there is 7.4MiB disk space and 8.7MiB RAM available.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24199
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Mon May 09, 2016 9:05 am

please post "/system package print" and "/file print" just to be 100% sure you didn't miss something

Netinstall should be able to solve this, but I would like to learn how this situation became possible.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Erayd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:59 pm

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Tue May 10, 2016 12:34 am

please post "/system package print" and "/file print" just to be 100% sure you didn't miss something
Too late sorry - my post got stuck in the moderation queue and I gave up waiting for it - ended up doing a netinstall, which worked.

I do know that prior to the upgrade, I cleared out files and checked packages for anything unnecessary. The only file was a 40B JSON file (skin), and the only packages installed were core ones (default packages plus wireless-rep), and all were at v6.35.
 
Erayd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:59 pm

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Tue May 10, 2016 1:02 am

I've tested this with a spare hAP Lite - I can reliably reproduce the problem.

To reproduce:
  • 1. Downgrade to v6.35 either via System>>Packages or netinstall
    2. /system reset-configuration skip-backup=yes
    3. Install wireless-rep
    4. Reboot
    5. Attempt to upgrade via /system package update check-for-updates, install
This does call into question the rationale behind using such a small amount of flash - it's cheap, and going with something slightly larger would be a non-issue cost wise. In my personal opinion, it should be large enough to accommodate *all* possible packages, to ensure update reliability. 16MB is really proving to be inadequate here.

I've seen other posts claiming that the update is done entirely in RAM (and that available disk space is therefore irrelevant), but that's clearly not the case for the hAP Lite.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Thu May 12, 2016 8:08 am

 
Erayd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:59 pm

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Thu May 12, 2016 10:56 am

Thanks jarda - looks like things are pretty shocking there!!!

Normis - what's the recommended procedure for upgrading one of these remotely? If I'm using the wireless-rep package to connect to it, then I can't remove that package in order to free enough space for the update to work.

Also, I would very much like to know - what actual *testing* did Mikrotik perform regarding the upgrade process on the hAP Lite before this device was released? I cannot believe that this issue was not obvious then.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Thu May 12, 2016 10:59 am

Actually deleting all files and reboot can help a bit too. You can install wireless package together with the system in the first step. Then in second step the rest.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Thu May 12, 2016 11:01 am

I consider putting only 32mb of ram and almost any flash into new devices to be very bad idea. It is useless source of actual and future problems.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24199
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Thu May 12, 2016 12:38 pm

rep package is considered extra. either change over to REP and then upgrade, or remove it first.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
koolandrew
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:20 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:20 pm

Is there any solution to this. i now have 2% disk space on a hap lite, and the router is becoming unstable, in that it will run at 100% cpu when i try to do a supout.rtf to report it to Mikrotik.

Surely there has to be a solution, to fix this.

I have many of these, and i am afraid they will all follow suit.

I have installed the latest software 6.41.3 but now i doubt i will ever be able to change that without doing a netinstall.

Please provide a solution Mikrotik.
 
cgaspar
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Thu Apr 05, 2018 10:27 pm

Something similar happening to me using hAP Lite as well. I went to System>Packages>Check For Updates then I clicked on Downlad&Install but I've chosen a different firmware version I really wanted, so I cancelled. For some reason It got stuck on the routerboard's files and I had to reset to get back it clean cause I was out of space
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Thu Apr 05, 2018 10:35 pm

Remove unwanted packages. Remove all removable files. Put newer single system package only and reboot. Then add rest of required packages and reboot again.
 
User avatar
juliokato
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 4:27 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:49 pm

Workaround: use netinstall... :?
I apologize my grammatical errors, my english not so good, I am not a native speaker.
Wiki is maintained in English. I use Google translator. 8)
 
coylh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:11 am

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:24 pm

Or buy products with a respectable amount of flash... 16MB is embarrassing. It's like running your network with floppy disks.
 
haik01
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:10 am

No, worse than floppy disks...... Punch cards..... :D
 
Wyz4k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:23 am

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:57 pm

Remove unwanted packages. Remove all removable files. Put newer single system package only and reboot. Then add rest of required packages and reboot again.
There isn't enough space to do that. This is a remote router. Netinstall is not an option.

Trying to upgrade from 6.42.3:
I have deleted everything in Files except the skins folder and rebooted.
Can't download 6.42.6 - this has space saving functionality
Can't download 6.42.12.
Can't download 6.43. - this allows you to use ram for files
Can't download 6.43.12. - this is the version I want to get to

Supout.rif sent to support.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Thu Mar 07, 2019 5:37 pm

I wrote nothing about netinstall. If it is remote installation, add eventually other one or two packages that are critically necessary to log in aside the single system package during the first installation process step.
If you want to be sure that nothing bad happens, prepare second device and let someone to swap it at place. Then you can do whatever with the first one and use elsewhere afterwards.
 
Ansy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:41 pm

May be don't include modules disabled by default in RouterOS package for smips?
advanced-tools, hotspot, mpls, routing, security -- that modules can be uploaded separately.
 
Wyz4k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:23 am

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:35 am

May be don't include modules disabled by default in RouterOS package for smips?
advanced-tools, hotspot, mpls, routing, security -- that modules can be uploaded separately.
That's how I managed to resolve the problem. By only downloading the absolute minimum packages required for the next version and rebooting. You only need system and security for most purposes. Wireless too for non-ethernet connected devices.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Sun Mar 17, 2019 5:33 pm

May be don't include modules disabled by default in RouterOS package for smips?
advanced-tools, hotspot, mpls, routing, security -- that modules can be uploaded separately.
That's how I managed to resolve the problem. By only downloading the absolute minimum packages required for the next version and rebooting. You only need system and security for most purposes. Wireless too for non-ethernet connected devices.
In recent versions security package depends on dhcp package :-( Even if DHCP package is installed but disabled, upgrade won't proceed ... so DHCP package has to be installed/enabled before performing upgrade.
BR,
Metod
 
Wyz4k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:23 am

Re: Out of disk space - upgrading hAP Lite from v6.35 to v6.35.2

Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:57 am

In recent versions security package depends on dhcp package :-( Even if DHCP package is installed but disabled, upgrade won't proceed ... so DHCP package has to be installed/enabled before performing upgrade.
Meh. It would be nice if they ship the devices with the individual packages installed by default instead of the bundled packages. That way you can "uninstall" what you want and just reboot to free up space.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 85 guests