Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Legalforensics
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:12 pm

RB260GSP - Activate DHCP server

Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:25 pm

I just bought a RB260GSP that I intended to use as a 'portable network' to use in various situations where I need to connect clients computers directly to my portable system when at a client site.

For this reason, I want to activate the DHCP Server that is supposed to be available in the unit. I fail though to find any option for this through the web interface at 192.168.88.1. The OS version is 1.16 (updated to most recent).

I tried the Wiki - http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/DHCP_Server - but this seems to only include Routers, not Switches.

How do I do this? Where can I find more information? Is the Switch capable of this use scenario?

Appreciate any help on this issue!
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: RB260GSP - Activate DHCP server

Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:45 pm

Where can I find more information? Is the Switch capable of this use scenario?
No, it's not. RB260GSP is a pretty simple switch, it does not support being DHCP server (more over, it does not have DHCP client either).
Refer to the following page for more info: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB260GSP - Activate DHCP server

Wed Aug 31, 2016 11:42 pm

As per above. The Rb260GSP is just a switch. it has no DHCP server. You would need something like a Hex Poe Lite to do similar with DHCP and other routing functions.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
dke
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:30 pm

Re: RB260GSP - Activate DHCP server

Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:44 pm

... (more over, it does not have DHCP client either).
Refer to the following page for more info: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS

That it is not true. The RB260GSP is a smart switch and has a DHCP client (no server though), see
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS/CSS106#System

Address Acquisition
Specify which address acquisition method to use:
DHCP with fallback - for first 10 seconds switch uses DHCP client. If request is unsuccessful, then address is set as a Static IP Address value
static - address is set as a Static IP Address value
DHCP only - switch uses DHCP client to acquire address
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: RB260GSP - Activate DHCP server

Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:20 pm

@dke, That thread is from four years ago and they are talking about the old RB260 that maxes out with 1.x firmware - NOT the current RB260 series (also known as the CSS106-5G-1S) which uses firmware versions 2.x. Yes, the current product with current firmware does as you describe (I have one), but what they are talking about four years ago is static IP only (I have one of those too).
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest