Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
agfjpcs
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:36 am

How to create sub interfaces?

Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:11 am

I can't find a way to create sub-interfaces on a MikroTik device. I.e. on a cisco device

Interface g0/1
no shut
Interface g0/1.10
ip address 10.0.10.1
Interface g0/1.20
ip address 10.0.20.1
Interface g0/1.30
ip address 10.0.30.1

Now I know that yes you can assign multiple IP addresses on a MikroTik however that's not necessarily the only reason for wanting sub interfaces. Perhaps i.e. I want to monitor traffic only on the 10.0.10.1 'interface' and not have traffic from .20.x and .30.x counted in the collection. Maybe I have 2 public IP's and 2 internet connectiosn on ether1 (which is connected to 2 other router's via a switch) and I want to monitor bandwidth on each internet connection separately (and I don't own the upstream routers / have no access to them)

I believe the closest equivalent on a Mikrotik is to create multiple VLAN interfaces on the physical interface, however its mandatory to specify a VLAN number and I don't necessarily want to use tagged VLAN's
 
Erachnbaer
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:14 am

Re: How to create sub interfaces?

Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:24 am

Nice and wonderful post also
 
pateutz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: How to create sub interfaces?

Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:07 am

Hi,

from my experience working with MikroTik they don't offer this functionality on Ethernet but on the other hand you can create virtual WLAN interface for Wifi.
If this can help ..

Best Regards,

Daniel
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: How to create sub interfaces?

Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:18 am

There were requests for that already on this forum, but were not heard by the mikrotik yet.
 
craterman
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: How to create sub interfaces?

Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:31 am

You want to create a configuration with the native vlan. Do I understand correctly? That is, the traffic from the port has to go in a few vlan tagged and one untagged?
If so, then simply create multiple vlan on the port, and configure IP for them. And for the native vlan configure IP on a physical port.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5977
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: How to create sub interfaces?

Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:12 am

I believe the closest equivalent on a Mikrotik is to create multiple VLAN interfaces on the physical interface, however its mandatory to specify a VLAN number and I don't necessarily want to use tagged VLAN's
It is possible with VLAN tagging only. A VLAN interface works much like a subinterface. There is no subinterface without VLAN in RouterOS.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 78 guests