Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020

stevep
just joined
Topic Author

Thinking about buying

Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:23 pm

Hey, I am thinking about buying a Mikrotik Router.

I can see they offer massive functionality for a good price. But i want to be sure I will be able to set it up easily.

I guess I was a little put off because of a couple of reviews online saying they were not at all friendly to use.

I have many years experience in networking etc, but i did find the Cisco Router CLI hard to configure, well, when coupled with the Zone based Policy firewall, I was struggling to get my head around it.

How would you say RouterOS Compares?

I have around 50 users, and am considering some of the Cloud Core rack mount routers here.

Thanks if you can help.

jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Thinking about buying

Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:05 pm

Well. For consideration only you can buy the cheapest device or install chr for free virtually. Read the manual and login to demo device before to get a bit more familiar with the configuration approach.

Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:46 pm

RouterOS may not be friendly to use for users who don't know much about networking, because it doesn't try too hard to prevent them from shooting their own foot, and that's what they often end up doing. But if you do know something about networking, it's great, because it gives you freedom to do things (almost) any way you want.

Start by downloading WinBox from this page, then use it to connect to demo.mt.lv or demo2.mt.lv (user admin, no password) and see if you like it. Next step is Cloud Hosted Router from same page, a disk for virtual machine with RouterOS that you can run yourself and experiment with anything you want.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.

liviu2004
just joined

Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:56 pm