Community discussions

 
User avatar
LatinSuD
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

[solved] Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Thu May 18, 2017 3:37 pm

We have a few boards of RB2011 and RB3011 rack mount.
The boards lose power with the slightest move of the connector (not sure if it's a problem of the power adapter or the mainboard connector).

Anyone else?

SOLUTION: Just press to insert the connector a little further.
Last edited by LatinSuD on Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23502
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Thu May 18, 2017 3:40 pm

Make sure the cable is pushed in to the maximum and then the cable is secured via the provided metallic clips on the back of the case
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Thu May 18, 2017 5:29 pm

The boards lose power with the slightest move of the connector (not sure if it's a problem of the power adapter or the mainboard connector).
are you using the original power adaptors? i've faced similar issues with a non-bundled power brick with a different device (ip camera), and it turned out that the connector (plug/socket) to have different internal diameters: 5.5mm/2.1mm vs 5.5mm/2.5mm
this 0.4mm gap results the same behaviour as you described.

Image
#TR0359
 
Simonrouge
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Mon May 22, 2017 10:44 am

Hi there, we have the same problem. The original AC adapters bundled with the latest models are not fully compatible and have little bit different size. We are powering them also through eth1 Poe from Ubiquity. BTW we use 24V 1A Ubiquity Poe adapters that transmit power not only on 4-5 and 7-8 pairs but also on data pairs. It works but none of our distributors can confirm if it can cause problems in the future.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Mon May 22, 2017 3:23 pm

I find the adaptors from devices such as the HAP AC work better. If you look at them the standard adaptors have a straight jack plug where the HAP AC ones have a right angled connector (also 1.2A) and the jack seems to be marginally longer on these.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
quackyo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:14 am

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Mon May 22, 2017 11:33 pm

Correct, the "new" PSUs from mikrotiks (the one with sharper edges) does not fit the 2011 and 3011 properly - the hole in the casing is a tad to little.
The old PSU (with rounder edges) fits fine.
 
Simonrouge
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Tue May 23, 2017 8:44 am

Please see the pictures of the old PSUs that fit perfectly;
OLD PSU OK.png
and the new ones that do not fit correctly
NEW PSU KO.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Simonrouge
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Wed May 24, 2017 6:48 pm

@normis what alternative PSUs can we use to power rb3011?
 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Wed May 24, 2017 8:29 pm

@normis what alternative PSUs can we use to power rb3011?
the specs say the box will run between 10 V - 30 V voltage and consumes up to 10W.
so the original 24V 1.2A supply actually provides twice as more than required.

all in all you can pick a simple 12V or 24V power supply (which is a commodity) with at least 15W output rating, and you'll be fine.
my approach is to open the box, put a proper meanwell RS series switching mode power supply, like this here:

http://tapegysegaruhaz.hu/spd/90686/Tap ... 4V-0-0625A

then add an IEC60320 C14 socket to the box (there is an actual cutout for this with properly placed screw holes) and do the wiring internally by using the unpopulated power headers on the board. this is a way cleaner approach and looks more "professional" than playing with the supplied power bricks. but it takes at least 30-40 minutes to make this happen and requires dismantling the device and even some soldering.

Image
#TR0359
 
Simonrouge
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Wed May 24, 2017 11:23 pm

Any standard Mikrotik 24V 0.8A Power Supply (18POW) works great unless you need the eth 10 poe output.
But we need it so we currently power RB3011 through eth1 using Ubiquiti POE-24-30W that provides 24VDC @ 1.25A 4-Pair powering on Pins 1, 2, 4, 5 (+) and Pins 3, 6, 7, 8 (-) which seems to work fine. Has anybody tested Mikrotik 24HPOW 24V 1.6A if it fits with rb3011 ?
 
ajack46
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:08 am

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Thu May 25, 2017 9:54 am

These sort of pins usually do encounter connecting issues, be it in this case or any other device of what i have experienced. Have you checked the connector port.
 
Simonrouge
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Thu May 25, 2017 7:06 pm

Can you be more specific please. I would also like to receive an answer from Mikrotik. Why did you change these PSUs?
 
User avatar
LatinSuD
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:21 pm

The solution is toooo easy, you just have to press it a little further. :D

See video:
https://goo.gl/photos/wr1vGThkBR3Bz2Ps7


Sorry i didn't notice earlier :D
 
Simonrouge
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 10:32 am

Re: [solved] Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:23 am

It's not the solution. These latest PSUs are defective. Full stop :-)
 
User avatar
LatinSuD
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: [solved] Power connector problem in RB2011-RM and RB3011-RM

Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:32 pm

Explanation of how to insert the connector in an image:

Image


You may like it or not, but that worked for me.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Grickos, keithy, rostyvyg and 6 guests