Community discussions

jmadedicato
just joined
Topic Author

DUAL WAN setup?

Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:17 pm

I have two WAN connections, one 400 Mbps/400 Mbps and the second 200Mbps/200Mbp.

My router is working fine with one WAN connected (400Mbps) at port 12.
I have now connected the second WAN to port 2 (and disabled the port until I know how to configure this) and would like both WAN to work at the same time, giving the users in the LAN a total of 600 Mbps.
Could someone explain me in an easy to understand way (I am a beginner) how I should configure this using WinBox?
And what I should be careful about so that the users do not have any problems?

jebz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: DUAL WAN setup?

Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:08 am

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Load_Balancing
PCC is generally the chosen method.

loveman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:38 am

Using one of this method
1.NTH
2.PCC

jmadedicato
just joined
Topic Author

Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:14 pm

Thanks for your replies. I think I will manage with the tutorial for PCC. But do I have to do something to make sure that the complete bandwidth is used in a correct way? I mean: the two WAN connections have different speeds. I would not want to see that both are used at only 200 Mbps because the load balancing is divided evenly instead of 400 - 200.

jmadedicato
just joined
Topic Author

Sun Jul 09, 2017 6:28 am

I have configured the router to use both WAN with PCC.
WAN1 is on port 12
WAN2 is on port 1
Port 3 to 9 are bridged and is our LAN 192.168.0.0/22
When I enable both WAN addresses in the Adress List and I enable the mangle rules in the Firewall, it seems to work as expected. Both WAN are used.
But as soon as I turn on Mangle Rules I can also not connect to IP addresses from our own LAN unless I do not have pass through the router.
So the router blocks me from going to parts of our own network.