Community discussions

 
rEVOLVEtech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:09 pm

mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:20 pm

Somewhat inexperienced with RouterOS and everything I try ends up knocking me off the or just will not work. I had it working the first time I set it up and somehow it lost that configuration. I am trying to use as a station or station bridge. OtherAP > mAP-L > wired ethernet device (IP Camera). The IP Camera will have it's network information preconfigured. Also I would like to be able to configure this unit from eth01. I'm pulling my hair out. I've tried setting up dhcp on eth01 to no avail. At this point I'm willing to pay for assistance.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4411
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:55 am

First make sure that you know how to use WinBox to connect to mAP using MAC address. Then reset the device (System->Reset Configuration) with No Default Configuration option selected. You'll get blank config (user admin with no password), which will allow access from ethernet (using MAC address). Then configure what you need. If you want to use it as transparent wifi client, then create bridge and add both ethernet and wifi interfaces. Configure wifi as client and you're done.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
rEVOLVEtech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:39 am

So I am not sure if I just got a bunk unit but I have been able to work around some issues.....still not there yet. No matter which pc I try, I can never ever connect via eth01 via MAC after a reset or complete removal of config. However, I have most luck resetting to how it comes, connecting to it's SSID then plug eth01 to my home router and let it pull a DHCP address...I then eliminate the firewall filters for eth01 then connect pc to my home router and configure wlan01 as station. I have been able to successfully get internet out of eth01 issue is I cannot see the host on eth01 from my home router. I will post the configuration I have gotten to so far when o get home......I think I need to just set this up as station-pseudobridge. Basically I'm trying to make this a Wi-Fi adapter for a wired unit only. Plug it in to eth01 to laptop, turn it on and it connects to WiFi and from other devices on my wifi/network I should be able to see said laptop, as I can with all other devices on my network. With work and family, I don't get much time to mess with this thing. I'm sure I need to do some NAT/Firewall/Routes stuff but not sure where to start as when I start making changes now I end up locking it up and having to start over.....also is there a way to change the default config file it uses when you hold the reset button down?
 
darkprocess
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:45 am

Remove all fw rules and nat. Bridge eth0 and wlan0 thats all. Remove also dhcp server
 
rEVOLVEtech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:13 pm

Tried it, still doesn’t work. FYI the router I am connecting to via WiFi is not MikroTik. It is Verizon Fios quantum router. Once I bridge the connections (wlan0 and eth0) I lose all ability to connect via winbox or web admin. Can anyone provide a simple script to run to configure this? Also when i set up my wlan0 it is in station mode, is this what i should be using?
 
darkprocess
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:53 pm

The wifi has to be in Ap mode. Put a dhcp client on the bridge also to get an ip for the mikrotik
 
rEVOLVEtech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:56 pm

I'm trying to connect the mapl to my home WiFi and pass connection to home network and internet to the device I connect to the eth01 port.
 
rEVOLVEtech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:03 pm

So here is how far I have gotten it to work....

Bridge1 is setup as DHCP client and has both eth0 and wlan0 in it.

Wlan0 is setup in station mode and connects to my wifi.

Anything I connect to the eth01 does not connect to anything and does not pull DHCP from my wifi router.
 
rEVOLVEtech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:07 pm

Also eth0 works fine if I reset to factory and plug into my wifi router....it pulls address and wlan0 acts as an ap and everything works....I just need it to work the other way around lol. Let me see if I can just pull the config script and change the ports around after adding a wlan security profile for my home wifi and making sure it doesn't preconfigure any firewall rules to block anything from either direction.
 
rEVOLVEtech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:37 pm

I'll pay someone at this point or I'm just going to abandon
 
rEVOLVEtech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: mAP Lite RBmAPL-2nD configuration issues

Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:44 pm

You know what really helps with this kind of stuff? A working Ethernet jack on your laptop. The things we take for granted.....

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests