Community discussions

 
MulderSk
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 12:36 pm

Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:56 am

What is the default password please ? because I cant connect through winbox on mac address admin blank don't work thanks
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23451
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:02 pm

Have you read the instruction in the box?
https://i.mt.lv/routerboard/files/WirelessWire.pdf
username is admin and password is printed on the label that can be found inside the device cover.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7465
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:19 pm

New approach for standard default settings? Does it mean that if we loose the label and reset the device, we will not be able to log in anymore?
 
MartijnVdS
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:36 am

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:30 pm

New approach for standard default settings? Does it mean that if we loose the label and reset the device, we will not be able to log in anymore?
You can (presumably) always netinstall with a custom .rsc file
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23451
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:36 pm

Yes, but Wireless Wire is a special case, since they are already pre-configured to form a link, the user doesn't have to open the config page, just plug in the cable and use. This is why they must have a password set. Currently we don't plan to have the same strategy on all devices.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Gedeon
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:22 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:34 pm

Hello,

I have the same problem with routerboard sxt lite2.
The guide says login ; admin and no password.
But Winbox says login or password false!!!!!!
Sorry for my english
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7465
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:03 am

Normis. Why is it necessary to have the devices to be paired from manufacturing? And if, why it requires special admin passwords?
 
Paternot
Member
Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:25 am

Normis. Why is it necessary to have the devices to be paired from manufacturing? And if, why it requires special admin passwords?
From what I understood, they are sold in pairs - and intended to be used only this way: as a drop in replacement to ethernet. Point one to another, plug the ethernet cable, turn it on and use it.

One big security problem that this kind of device have is the user: he will not change password. Hence, default passwords are a bad idea.

I liked it: is easy to use and secure.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23451
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:24 am

Exactly like Paternot said.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7465
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:34 pm

I understood the same. On contrary I believe that an admin has its own responsibility and none should overtake it from him or against him.
 
neg2led
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:29 am

You're right - but with the packaging materials and pre-paired nature of these units, it's pretty clear MT is trying to make something that they can sell on the shelves of electronics/computer parts stores. An actual consumer product, for a change - instead of something aimed at nerds like us.

Someone who wants or needs to access a device pair with a lost password (read: nerds like us) will be able to netinstall the devices to a clean state. Someone who lacks that know-how and just wants it to work can factory reset the units and they'll be re-paired, re-secure themselves, and the user never really has to worry about malicious attacks.

I don't think any of us will struggle with handling the included password stickers, or changing the password ourselves. Both units have the same password, there's a sticker under each unit's cable cover - you can peel the rest of the backer off and stick the sticker the whole way down, or just leave them as-is like I have - the potential for loss here isn't huge.
 
Paternot
Member
Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:10 pm

I understood the same. On contrary I believe that an admin has its own responsibility and none should overtake it from him or against him.
But it wasn't overtaken! The password is on the sticker. Use it, and change the unit as you want. The problem is: YOU are an administrator, and know what You are doing. The user isn't - and this is aimed at users.

We already are battling hordes of compromised zombies, from CCTV to IP cameras, due exactly to default password. If anything, Mikrotik should be applauded in killing this would be botnet on the cradle.

Yes, I know. You may loose the sticker. True. Why not netinstall it first, using the password you like? This isn't an ISP product: this is a consumer product.

I believe the ISP line will get around soon.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23451
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:40 am

Actually you can remove the password if you damage the sticker with the default password. This is from the manual. Reset button has different functionality than standard:
5 second button hold on startup USR LED light starts flashing - resets to password protected state.
10 second button hold on startup USR LED turns solid after flashing - completely removes configuration.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... tion_Reset

Also the Quick Guide paper says the same:
Release the button when green LED starts flashing, to reset RouterOS configuration to defaults.
Release the button when the LED turns solid green to clear all configuration and defaults.
https://i.mt.lv/routerboard/files/WirelessWire.pdf
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7465
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:44 am

If there is a way to reset to standard admin user with blank password, then I take back my comments and thank you.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23451
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:48 am

If there is a way to reset to standard admin user with blank password, then I take back my comments and thank you.
The second option you should enjoy. It removes the default config (quickset style) and only leaves admin with no password.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7465
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:50 am

Good. Thank you.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4712
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:51 am

I think it is a good idea even for certain routers (the lower-segment ones). Similar for the WiFi security.
As written above, the typical consumer will just plug it in and when it works they will not do any further configuration.
In typical consumer routers today, the WiFi comes up with WPA2 and a pre-set password, not "open" to the world.

Of course a weakness often is that the pre-set password isn't random but it is generated from the device MAC address
using some "cryptographic" algorithm that becomes known after time. Then the hackers can calculate the default password
from the observed MAC address and/or the SSID (which is generated from the MAC address too).

Hopefully on the 60G a different method was used... it is of course best when the default password is independently
generated (randomized) at the factory and stored somewhere separate from the MAC address.
 
salamon
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 11:18 am

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu May 10, 2018 4:49 pm

confirming successfull reset to clear ROS via releasing button in solid LED state after flashing LED state (aprox 10s) (we had lost labels)
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:38 pm

Unpacked a RBwAPG-60ad, Login with Winbox (no Password set), reset config, updated to 6.43.rc27, now I cant Login: "wrong username or password".
Tried the 10s reset method. Does not help.

There is no sticker. This is the AP Version, no wireless wire.
 
sid5632
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:03 pm

Upgrade to Winbox 3.14 and next time post the version number you are using. Or do some very basic research on the forum first.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:47 pm

Upgrade to Winbox 3.14 and next time post the version number you are using. Or do some very basic research on the forum first.
Did but failed ;-)). Thanks. Using newer Winbox did the job.
 
Nate97
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:04 pm

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:18 pm

Hello! Ordered the wireless wire kit off amazon, and have been tinkering with the kit for the past day or so. I set each ap up, plugged them in, connected them, ensured they were pointing at each other less than 25 feet apart, and I have no connection. I've reset the configuration per the manual in both manners:
"5 second button hold on startup USR LED light starts flashing - resets to password protected state.
10 second button hold on startup USR LED turns solid after flashing - completely removes configuration.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... tion_Reset"
But I haven't had any luck. Is it something I'm doing wrong? I've managed to get into the configuration a couple of times via winbox and the web gui tool. The configuration is a bit jarring to look at, having come from a cisco/ubnt class and home lab, and I'm not quite sure if I'm technically capable of restoring a wireless ptp connection between these aps through those utilities. Is there any way to attempt to restore the "Default" configuration that comes out of the box? Am I overlooking something? Thank you so much for your assistance.
 
amtechpc
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:47 am

Re: Wireless wire 60Ghz default password

Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:08 pm

I've tried everything that is says to do but I still can not logon to the wireless wire " wrong username or password "

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests