Community discussions

 
User avatar
gpienaar
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 2:05 pm
Location: South Africa

Sun Jan 14, 2007 7:26 pm

On my systems I have the queue tree setup on main gateway MT and all other clients connect via tower MT's (PPPOE links). whole network is running ospf! 8)

Regards

Mr G
 
User avatar
gpienaar
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 2:05 pm
Location: South Africa

Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:28 pm

Try it did it work!

Like I said before, I do not currently run PPPOE and Queue tree on same unit!

But I am sure that you can play with the mangle rules to spesify your outgoing interface! therefore your PPPOE (interface on it's own) should work fine!

Try it and let me know!

Regards

Mr G
 
titius
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:38 am

I will try without pppoe . . .

Im not ISP it is for local wireless community

Thanks
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:24 pm

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=12870

is example when download gets old it is slowed down...

it can be easily adjusted to your needs

if no, you have to read QoS manual
 
titius
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:58 pm

QoS manual ok, I link ??
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:44 am

 
User avatar
sidney
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: South africa - Pretoria East

Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:13 pm

Hi to all

I am buzy trying out gpienaar setup and also janisk
i see one is using forward and the other pre-routing but that would depend
on each setup or what?
ok can one do the same as you setup using tcp and then do another setup
using udp but both marked the same eg
ip firewall mangle
add chain=forward protocol=tcp action=mark-connection \
new-connection-mark=new_conn passthrough=yes comment="mark all new \
connections" disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=tcp connection-mark=new_conn \
connection-bytes=0-2000000 action=mark-packet new-packet-mark=new_packet \
passthrough=no comment="mark packets" disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=tcp connection-mark=new_conn action=mark-packet \
new-packet-mark=old_packets passthrough=no comment="marking old packets" \
disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=udp action=mark-connection \
new-connection-mark=new_conn passthrough=yes comment="mark all new \
connections" disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=udp connection-mark=new_conn \
connection-bytes=0-2000000 action=mark-packet new-packet-mark=new_packet \
passthrough=no comment="mark packets" disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=udp connection-mark=new_conn action=mark-packet \
new-packet-mark=old_packets passthrough=no comment="marking old packets" \
disabled=no
then i am doing the same with queue trees and if i keep the simple queues as i had be for would it matter as when i tested it last night at home running as a client my old simple queues still locked me at a limmited speed at +- 500kbps witch is about 55KBs as i was downloading
a SBLive driver cd it keeped me at +- 55KBs as for wireless clients that
is more than enough although the download queue worked the upload queue stayed on zero

My setup is a RB500 with internet going in ether2 and bridged with 3 wlan to clients

Sidney 8)
 
User avatar
samsoft08
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:52 pm

Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:52 pm

does this example marking Proxy packets also ??
 
User avatar
samsoft08
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:52 pm

Sun Feb 04, 2007 10:47 pm

it doesn't mark the web-proxy packets .... :(
 
PrSliCa
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 2:08 pm

Single user traffic?

Sun Feb 18, 2007 2:17 pm

Hm... it looks like that applying this rules to my MT I limit total traffic not per-user traffic...

I have limited users using single queue to 350/350kbps. Setting up queue tree like above my users drop speed.

What am I doing wrong ? :)

I have few old 2.8.26 MT, is there a way to do good QoS on them ?
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: connection limit ( ok Im borring a little bit )

Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:47 am

Please note that all my clients come in on PPPOE on previous MT's limited at 128k and their connection limits is aready being set at 100!

Main MT configuration is as follow!

Here it is!

First Mangle

16 ;;; mark all new connections
chain=prerouting protocol=tcp action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=new_conn passthrough=yes

17 ;;; mark packets
chain=prerouting protocol=tcp connection-mark=new_conn connection-bytes=0-1000000 action=mark-packet
new-packet-mark=new_packet passthrough=no

18 ;;; marking old packets
chain=prerouting protocol=tcp connection-mark=new_conn action=mark-packet new-packet-mark=old_packets
passthrough=no


Then Queue Tree


0 name="Main_Upload" parent=global-out packet-mark="" limit-at=0 queue=default priority=8 max-limit=384000
burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0 burst-time=0s

1 name="Up First 192kbit" parent=Main_Upload packet-mark=new_packet limit-at=192000 queue=PCQ_Upload priority=1
max-limit=384000 burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0 burst-time=0s

2 name="Up Rest kbits" parent=Main_Upload packet-mark=old_packets limit-at=64000 queue=PCQ_Upload priority=8
max-limit=384000 burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0 burst-time=0s

3 name="Main_Download" parent=global-in packet-mark="" limit-at=0 queue=default priority=8 max-limit=1000000
burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0 burst-time=0s

4 name="Down First 1Mbit of data" parent=Main_Download packet-mark=new_packet limit-at=800000 queue=PCQ_Download
priority=1 max-limit=1000000 burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0 burst-time=0s

5 name="Down Rest kbits" parent=Main_Download packet-mark=old_packets limit-at=200000 queue=PCQ_Download priority=8
max-limit=1000000 burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0 burst-time=0s

My Up load is 384kbps and Download is 1MB

Theory:

New p2p(or any other connection) connection will come in and will download at priority 1, the moment it reach 1 M bytes of data it will move down to priority 8. Same with upload!

Advantages: All p2p is always larger than 1MB, so always it will move down to priority 8

Disadvantage: You can never reach speeds faster than Global in and out for example a mail server that is connected just after MT!

Hope this helps! :wink:

Mr G

P.S. I hope other more advance users will also share their Mangle and Queue tree secrets!! :!:
When I try to add this via Winbox it won't let me set the "limit at" higher than the "max limit".
Is this in the Wiki? I haven't been able to find it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 132 guests