Community discussions

 
soooc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:51 pm

RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:20 pm

Hello,

do you have trouble with port flopping? Here is "answer" from support.This "trouble" is writen nowhere in specification. RB3011 is CRAP and Mikrotik makes bad device.
The reason for port flapping is that you have different kind of devices connected to the same switch group. When you have 1Gbps devices connected to the same switch group with 100Mbps devices, the switch buffer needs to be cleared before forwarding traffic to the next port, but when you have mixed speeds it can't keep up clearing out the buffers so it flops the port. This is a RB3011 switch chip specification, there isn't much you can do, you must use the same speed Ethernet devices to avoid this.
 
whitbread
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:55 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:52 pm

wtf - the longer you read about experience with new devices the longer you tend to keep good old RB2011's, but with every second power failure I loose one ot those either.
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:59 pm

That's the worst explanation of egress buffer overflow and port flapping I ever read.

So at least this should be mitigatable by employing flow-control.

A switch must *never* drop the Layer-1 connectivity, when having issues handling large loads of traffic. So this simply is a sign of resignation over the chosen design.
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:38 pm

I confirm the issue. I've never experienced the port flappings everyone mentions since RB3011's release.
I now know why. I didn't mix Fast ethernet and Gigabit devices on the same switch group.

I just tried it and indeed after I maxed out a fast ethernet all ports flapped.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:01 pm

Oh dear, this is a major slip up on MT behalf. The RB3011 really did have a bright future but then had a huge amount of teething problems when launched (probably due to new arm architecture) and then there was the "loop detected" issue as well.

I wasn't aware of this however am now a little dubious of this as shortly I had planned on connecting 3 10/100 devices to an RB3011 in a remote location.

Nothing quite says buy a CCR like your existing model failing.....
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
haik01
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:50 pm

Is it a possibility to put a dumb 10/100 switch after the RB3011? I know, it should not be like that.

Is going back to RB2011 an option? I never had this problem, mixed Gbit and fast ethernet.


And still, how do YOU control the users equipment? Today all users have "old laptops", with 100 Mbit NIC's. Tomorrow one guy buys a new laptop and that one has Gigabit connection. So what, after the new laptop he get's worse performance or reliability? Strange.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1025
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:25 pm

I wonder if other RouterBOARD models with the same switch-chip model (QCA8337) suffer from the same problem. According to this wiki page the models in question are: hAP ac, OmniTIK 5 ac (including OmniTIK 5 ac PoE), the old hEX model (RB750Gr2), hEX PoE and PowerBox Pro.
 
soooc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:06 pm

From support
This is not an issue, this is how this specific switch chip works.
I don't know any other switch with L1 disable and enable during buffer overload. I think, there is something bad in ROS a RB3011.

@normis ?
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:20 pm

I don't know any other switch with L1 disable and enable during buffer overload. I think, there is something bad in ROS a RB3011.
Me neither.

This is either a bad software design on Mikrotik's part, or bad device design by Mikrotik for using such a switch chip (if indeed the issue is there - any qualcomm/atheros datasheet or documentation pdf confirming this would answer this question).

Either way, this is Mikrotik's fault IMHO. And even worse, they haven't posted any announcement on this, so people are still buying a faulty device (yes I consider this a fault since it doesn't work as advertised).

I wonder if this is the reason that RB3011 was pretty much left on it's own and we never saw any other models after the RM one. Did they realized they messed up and simply dropped the whole series?

Does anyone know any other devices (routerboards or not) using this specific switch chip? I wonder if we can independently reproduce Mikrotik's claims.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1025
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:14 pm

Does anyone know any other devices (routerboards or not) using this specific switch chip? I wonder if we can independently reproduce Mikrotik's claims.
I have listed other RouterBOARDs where the same switch chip is used several posts above.
They seem to be: hAP ac, OmniTIK 5 ac (including OmniTIK 5 ac PoE), the old hEX model (RB750Gr2), hEX PoE and PowerBox Pro.
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:16 pm

Does anyone know any other devices (routerboards or not) using this specific switch chip? I wonder if we can independently reproduce Mikrotik's claims.
I have listed other RouterBOARDs where the same switch chip is used several posts above.
They seem to be: hAP ac, OmniTIK 5 ac (including OmniTIK 5 ac PoE), the old hEX model (RB750Gr2), hEX PoE and PowerBox Pro.
Oops I totally missed your post! :oops:

I don't have any of these devices to check it out.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:49 pm

It looks like I may now be suffering from this. Have taken relevant screenshot and supout files and sent to support but reading back over RB3011 port issues it looks like I am now falling foul of this.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
Sheriff1972
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:26 pm

i am looking forward to an update on this one.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sat Mar 03, 2018 4:01 pm

i am looking forward to an update on this one.
There won’t be one. Simply don’t mix 10/100 and 10/100/1000 on the same switch group. I’m going to uplink to a CRS112 and use that for for non gigabit devices.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
gotsprings
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:31 pm

10/100 modem plugged into Port1 going to cause a problem for ports 2-5?
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:46 pm

10/100 modem plugged into Port1 going to cause a problem for ports 2-5?
Probably yes. May be better grabbing an SFP to RJ and using that if you have it spare.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
gotsprings
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:19 am

The one I see regularly...
Plugging an Xbox directly into the 3011... Something about the network card on those things.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:28 pm

Hello, the discussed RB3011 issue is not hardware related, despite the quoted email in the first post.
We have discovered that it tends to occur due to software after several day uptime, therefore it is harder to reproduce and debug it. Despite all that, we are working on it and plan to apply fixes in upcoming RouterOS versions.
 
Sheriff1972
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:06 pm

Thank you for the update. The fix will be applied to current and RC software release channels?
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Mar 09, 2018 10:34 pm

Hello, the discussed RB3011 issue is not hardware related, despite the quoted email in the first post.
We have discovered that it tends to occur due to software after several day uptime, therefore it is harder to reproduce and debug it. Despite all that, we are working on it and plan to apply fixes in upcoming RouterOS versions.
Will make me very happy if that is the case.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2092
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sat Mar 10, 2018 12:45 pm

Hello, the discussed RB3011 issue is not hardware related, despite the quoted email in the first post.
We have discovered that it tends to occur due to software after several day uptime, therefore it is harder to reproduce and debug it. Despite all that, we are working on it and plan to apply fixes in upcoming RouterOS versions.
Very good news!!
It's great that you wrote it publicly on the forum.
Thanks
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator based on ROS.
 
nescafe2002
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:58 pm

We have discovered that it tends to occur due to software after several day uptime
Does this mean that a scheduled daily reboot will fix this problem for now?
 
gotsprings
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sat Mar 10, 2018 5:33 pm

We have discovered that it tends to occur due to software after several day uptime
Does this mean that a scheduled daily reboot will fix this problem for now?
Nothing scream hack GARBAGE like "requiring daily reboots".
PLEASE DON'T MAKE ME ADD DAILY REBOOTS TO MY SYSTEMS.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
soooc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:24 pm

Now It starts flopping on 2 Hex Poe - same switch chipset. Traffic over Hex is about 200 Mbit and there is one 100 Mbit port. I will migrate it to 1Gbit, but it is user router and it spends more money. Will new release fix Hex Poe?
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:55 pm

Good news!!!

"Hello,

We have repeated the RB3011 problem, determined that the cause is purely software related and now we are working on fixes which should be done soon.
Thank you for reporting.

Best regards,
Janis B."

Love that MikroTik actual take fault reports seriously!
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
Sheriff1972
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:53 am

Do we know how soon is soon?
 
Sheriff1972
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:43 am

I guess not...!
 
soooc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Thu May 24, 2018 9:30 pm

Any progress?
 
axc27
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:28 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:25 pm

Any news on the progress?

My problem with port flopping on the hAP ac might be related to the same problem. Therefore, I am looking foreward to news on the topic...

/axc27
 
Sheriff1972
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:27 pm

Hello All,

Just checking to see if this is being looked into anymore?

It's been a while
 
jhardy
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:39 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:51 am

Still hoping for word of a solution. I've found that instead of rebooting the whole switch, I can just bounce the offending interface interface and that clears it up, at least for awhile.
 
Sheriff1972
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:13 am

Well that is something.

It has been very quiet on this for a long time, I had just wondered if the team had given up.
 
sjoukes
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:44 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:13 pm

Any updates on this topic?
 
gotsprings
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:01 pm

Good news!!!

"Hello,

We have repeated the RB3011 problem, determined that the cause is purely software related and now we are working on fixes which should be done soon.
Thank you for reporting.

Best regards,
Janis B."

Love that MikroTik actual take fault reports seriously!
SONY
Soon Only Not Yet
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
huntermic
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:42 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:10 pm

Probably something that isn't easy to fix so i guess they will eventually say it will be fixed in version 7, that's another way of saying it won't be fixed thsi century
 
gutoloureiro
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Fri Jul 20, 2018 5:33 pm

Is it a possibility to put a dumb 10/100 switch after the RB3011? I know, it should not be like that.

Is going back to RB2011 an option? I never had this problem, mixed Gbit and fast ethernet.


And still, how do YOU control the users equipment? Today all users have "old laptops", with 100 Mbit NIC's. Tomorrow one guy buys a new laptop and that one has Gigabit connection. So what, after the new laptop he get's worse performance or reliability? Strange.
Hello, I have purchased a RB3011 and migrated an RB2011, copy all settings via the terminal. However, when I put the RB3011 in the air, the port that reaches my link (ETH1), is in constant UP / DOWN. Due to this situation, I put the rb2011 back and this error does not occur.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
gotsprings
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:06 pm

Xbox does that exact thing. Have to put a switch in-between or run wireless.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
Sheriff1972
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:10 pm

How about they just fix the issue....
 
gotsprings
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:27 pm

How about they just fix the issue....
Not sure if the Xbox thing IS the same thing as the port flopping... but have seen this since the 2011s came out.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
soooc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: RB3011 port flopping - bad design

Sun Aug 12, 2018 11:06 pm

Any progress?

We stopped buying this HW, last good product in Mikrotiks offer is RB1100AHx4, but its twice expensive :(

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mosfet, resetsa and 7 guests