Community discussions

Askey307
Topic Author

Mikrotik State of the Art Security and Firewalling

Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:22 am

Good Morning.

I would like your help and input setting up state of the art firewall system (attached you will fine a Cisco Packet Tracer drawing concept example). I would like to use Mikrotiks for this due to the price of Cisco and Juniper. I am still new to Cyber Security (2 years) thus all type of input of do's and don'ts will be appreciated. The

So the following will be used:
* VoIP Phones, PBX and ATA's.
* File Share, Active Directory and Domain Control Server.
* 1500+ PC's via LAN only.
* 500+ VoIP phones.
* CCTV cameras with DVR's, LAN only.
* 2 Fiber line each 1000mbps business priority. (Fail over will need to be done as the one line will act as a redundant line).
* Internal WiFi with for example UNIFI AC-SHD's. (Optional due to easy hacking of WiFi, thus might not be used)
* Antivirus, Malware and Threat Detection Software needed.
* For Routers CCR1072-1G-8S+
* Switches CRS317-1G-16S+RM/CRS328-24P-4S+RM

The sketch attached is a rough example of the network. Your input will be appreciated to extend it and make it better.
The plan is to use 1x1072 for VoIP with another as a fallover if the first fails and a 1x1072 per 200 users.
The network must not be breached from the outside.
Logs must be written for any erros, threats, breaches etc.
Only necessary ports must be blocked.
Aim is to use IPv6.

I've done CCNA, CCNP Routing and Switching as well as other vendor certificates like MTCNA and MTCRE for example. So I would appreciate criticisms with solutions how you would do it. From a strong firewall script and logging examples.

If more information is required I would gladly provide.

Askey307
Topic Author

Re: Mikrotik State of the Art Security and Firewalling

Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:23 am

Here is the picture of above mentioned post.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

i4jordan