Community discussions

MikroTik App

greenhill
just joined
Topic Author

Cant get vlans to work [SOLVED]

Sun Mar 18, 2018 9:25 pm

Hello,

Im new to routeros, recently bought a CRS109 to try it out but im having problems getting vlans to work on mikrotik. At home im running a pfsense router on hyperv where I have set up an interface on pfsense with vlan tag 20 and on hyper v I configured an external virtual switch with vlan tag 20 (also on the hyperv machine). Pfsense is also my DNS and DHCP server.

I followed some videos on vlans with routeros on youtube but im not able to get my pfsense to connect to mikrotik using a vlan with tag 20. I hope someone here can help me out with my problem. The goal of this vlan is to be able to seperate my internal network with a new secondary network using a vlan while still being able to use pfsense for dhcp, dns and firewalling. If I can get this working I also plan to use this for a guest wifi.

Im uncertain if the configuration/steps I used are missing something or it might be something with my pfsense.. all other vlans on my pfsense working ..

I made a small diagram of my network:

On the mikrotik I have set up a vlan20:

Next I set up a bridge:

Added the bridge to the ports list:

Configured an address in the IP addresses list:

Also set up a static route in the route table:

My current interface list:

Im not sure what im missing or did wrong, is there anyone who can give me some pointers ?
Thanks in advance!
Last edited by greenhill on Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

skuykend
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: Cant get vlans to work

Sun Mar 18, 2018 10:46 pm

You're going to want only the one bridge, don't add a second. The vlan20 interface should use the main bridge.

Then use the switch menu to set up which ports are tagged and untagged and what vlans are allowed.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:S ... p_Features

CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru