Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
estebandipietro
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 7:08 am

Powerbox Pro Grounding

Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:32 pm

Hello, sorry for my English. Could someone please tell me what would be the correct way to ground the connected equipment in a Powerbox Pro using the outgoing POE function?
The housing has a connector apparently for that purpose, but it is not attached to anything, just threads in the plastic. Regards and thanks from now.
 
Liliya
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:14 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Mon May 07, 2018 5:13 pm

Have you found the answer? We are also interested.
 
User avatar
PaulsMT
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Tue May 08, 2018 5:39 pm

Hello, sorry for my English. Could someone please tell me what would be the correct way to ground the connected equipment in a Powerbox Pro using the outgoing POE function?
The housing has a connector apparently for that purpose, but it is not attached to anything, just threads in the plastic. Regards and thanks from now.
Actually, the screw is directly connected to the board PCB, with a small metal plate between the plastic case, so it is recommended to ground your PowerBOX Pro using this screw.
 
User avatar
blue
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 1:48 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:04 am

Hello,

PowerBoxPro metal grounding screw is only connected to SPF and DC negative! It is not connected to metal grounding of LAN ports! Design error?
 
User avatar
blue
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 1:48 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:10 am

Here are the pictures
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:05 am

Some question. Do we need to ground cable separately or have some type of varistor or similar between utp ports and ground and not need to ground cable ?
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:43 pm

Hello,

PowerBoxPro metal grounding screw is only connected to SPF and DC negative! It is not connected to metal grounding of LAN ports! Design error?
Anybody? Same question here....
 
AdrianVillalba
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Mon Mar 09, 2020 9:47 pm

Hi, what would be the correct way to connect the powerbox pro to ground? Was this bug corrected? Thank you.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1843
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Thu Mar 12, 2020 1:51 am

Hello,

PowerBoxPro metal grounding screw is only connected to SPF and DC negative! It is not connected to metal grounding of LAN ports! Design error?
:shock:
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
AdrianVillalba
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Thu Mar 12, 2020 3:06 pm

Good morning,
should we solder the LANs to ground as seen in the image?
regards.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24493
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Thu Mar 12, 2020 4:40 pm

Actually just use shielded Ethernet cable and make sure your other device is grounded.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
AdrianVillalba
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Fri Mar 13, 2020 5:13 pm

Hello, I have wireless distributions mounted with several rb922uags-5hpacd equipment and an OmnitikUPA-5HnD which are powered by a PowerBox Pro with shielded Ethernet cable. What would be the correct ground connection? Thank you.
 
AdrianVillalba
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Powerbox Pro Grounding

Thu Mar 26, 2020 9:58 pm

Hello, the previous query refers to the omnitik and rb922uags-5hpacd equipment having no external ground connection. This is why the question arises as to why the powerbox does not have its LANs grounded in order to use the ftp cable in other equipment and thus ground everything. Thank you so much.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Matta and 82 guests