Community discussions

 
abhijeetsamant
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:29 am

Static routing help needed

Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:24 pm

Hi I am a newbie in networking and having mikrotik as core router, what is the best way to route data on below secnario

Vlan 6 has ip address 172.29.29.1/30
Vlan 7 has ip address 172.30.30.1/30

Need to be able to ping 172.30.30.2 from 172.29.29.2, any suggestion would be helpful

Regards
Abhi
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4619
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Static routing help needed

Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:58 pm

Check your firewall. By default, if you didn't have any, it would work (assuming 172.29.29.2/30 is connected to vlan 6 and 172.30.30.2/30 is connected to vlan 7). It's what router does, it routes anything it can. If it doesn't work, it's probably some firewall rule blocking it, or configuration mistake somewhere else.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
Vooray
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 3:34 pm

Re: Static routing help needed

Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:18 pm

set corresponding gateways and masks on your 172.30.30.2 and 172.29.29.2 hosts.
 
User avatar
sri2007
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 10:14 pm
Location: Quito

Re: Static routing help needed

Tue May 01, 2018 4:24 pm

And you may need to check the Layer2 Switch in the middle too, i'd check if the plans are properly tagged and the port configuration is correct (between trunks & access)
MikroTik Soporte y Consultoría - Español / English +593 98 709 3502
https://www.safenet.ec/consultoria.html/ soporte@safenet.ec
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: Static routing help needed

Sun May 13, 2018 5:59 am

There should be no further action on the Mikrotik needed (assuming no restrictive firewall rules). It should show two routes with flags DAC for both 172.30.30.0/30 and 172.29.29.0/30

When routing traffic your source device need a route to your destination and your destination device needs a route back to the source.

So your host on 172.29.29.2 must have a route added for 172.30.30.0/30 with gateway=172.29.29.1 - and likewise the 172.30.30.2 host must have a route to 172.29.29.0/30 with gateway=172.30.30.1
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests