Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Michaukrieg
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:28 pm

hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:27 pm

Hello all,
Is there any possibility to have real speed of ~500Mbps on hAP ac via 5GHz wifi?

I've tried many configurations to achieve that, including changing Tx Power to fixed rate, queue changed to only-hardware-queue.
With the device from my IPS I can easily get max download speed.
My link is 500Mbps down and 25Mbps up. CCQ is 93%, the distance to devices is 1-2 meters to AP, no CAP, on cable I have full speeds.
Right now on hAP ac the max I can get is around 330Mbps (TX/RX 866/866Mbps) and 400Mbps (TX/RX 1166/1166Mbps) on MB Pro, with following settings.
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac basic-rates-a/g=6Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,54Mbps channel-width=\
    20/40/80mhz-Ceee country=poland disabled=no distance=indoors frequency-mode=regulatory-domain \
    ht-basic-mcs="mcs-0,mcs-1,mcs-2,mcs-3,mcs-4,mcs-5,mcs-6,mcs-7,mcs-8,mcs-9,mcs-10,mcs-11,mcs-12,mcs-13,mcs-\
    14,mcs-15,mcs-16,mcs-17,mcs-18,mcs-19,mcs-20,mcs-21,mcs-22,mcs-23" max-station-count=30 mode=ap-bridge \
    name=wlan5GHz ssid=5GHz supported-rates-a/g=6Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,54Mbps wireless-protocol=\
    802.11 wmm-support=enabled wps-mode=disabled

I've also tried to reset whole configuration and test the speed on defaults but it was the same.

Can you recommend me some APs for home purposes (UniFi® AP AC PRO?) if that's is not possible?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24882
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:51 am

What device is that client? Does it have more than 2 chain wireless card?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Michaukrieg
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:28 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:55 am

What device is that client? Does it have more than 2 chain wireless card?
Recent Dell laptop with 2 chains and MB with 3 chains. As I said on IPS's router they work with full speed of 500Mbps.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

 
eddieb
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:37 am

Hi,

I can confirm that the hAP AC connects with 3 chans to a newer MacBookPro on 1G+

Thruput tested with iperf3 from this MBP to a server on the wired part of my local network

On 1GB wire I get approx 960Mbit/s
On 5GHz wifi I get approx 530Mbit/s

This 530Mbit/s seems about the max because the hAP AC wifi does not have hardware switching between wifi and wire. So all traffic goes thru the cpu and that goes to 100% during my tests.

Eddie
Running 6.48.3 (stable) on :
CCR1009-8G-1S (2x ipsec/l2tp site-to-site, ipsec/l2tp roadwarrior, dhcpd, dns), CRS125-24G-1S, RB1100, RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT (10pc), RB931-2nD, RB951, RB750GL ,RB2011UAS-RM, PWR-LINE-AP, RBwAPGR-5HacD2HnD, RB750Gr3 running dude
 
Michaukrieg
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:28 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:38 pm

Hi,

I can confirm that the hAP AC connects with 3 chans to a newer MacBookPro on 1G+

Thruput tested with iperf3 from this MBP to a server on the wired part of my local network

On 1GB wire I get approx 960Mbit/s
On 5GHz wifi I get approx 530Mbit/s

This 530Mbit/s seems about the max because the hAP AC wifi does not have hardware switching between wifi and wire. So all traffic goes thru the cpu and that goes to 100% during my tests.

Eddie
Can you please show your wifi configuration?

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

 
eddieb
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:52 pm

config is pretty default ...
plain accespoint, all interfaces in 1 bridge, no firewall rules, dhcp from core-router

/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-eC \
disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=2462 mode=ap-bridge \
security-profile=home ssid=home wireless-protocol=802.11 wps-mode=disabled
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-Ceee \
disabled=no mode=ap-bridge preamble-mode=long \
security-profile=home ssid=home wireless-protocol=802.11 wps-mode=disabled
Running 6.48.3 (stable) on :
CCR1009-8G-1S (2x ipsec/l2tp site-to-site, ipsec/l2tp roadwarrior, dhcpd, dns), CRS125-24G-1S, RB1100, RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT (10pc), RB931-2nD, RB951, RB750GL ,RB2011UAS-RM, PWR-LINE-AP, RBwAPGR-5HacD2HnD, RB750Gr3 running dude
 
Plutone
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:48 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:56 am

config is pretty default ...
plain accespoint, all interfaces in 1 bridge, no firewall rules, dhcp from core-router

/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-eC \
disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=2462 mode=ap-bridge \
security-profile=home ssid=home wireless-protocol=802.11 wps-mode=disabled
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-Ceee \
disabled=no mode=ap-bridge preamble-mode=long \
security-profile=home ssid=home wireless-protocol=802.11 wps-mode=disabled
Have you tried with CAPSMAN? I'm not able to have more than 130Mbps DL and 100Mbps UL (TX/RX 866/866Mbps Samsung S8) using CAPSMAN without local forwarding.
If I use normal wifi ap mode (without CAPSMAN) or using CAPSMAN with local forwarding the speed is increasing to 500Mbps.
 
risk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:16 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:57 am

Capsman without local forwarding requires the CPU to wrap data and send it to the capsman manager, not good fit high speeds considering the CPU inside... (Mikrotik could maybe work to optimize this wrapping to make it less CPU intensive, but it's always more overhead than local forwarding).
 
squeeze
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:53 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Apr 04, 2018 1:17 pm


Hi,

I can confirm that the hAP AC connects with 3 chans to a newer MacBookPro on 1G+

Thruput tested with iperf3 from this MBP to a server on the wired part of my local network

On 1GB wire I get approx 960Mbit/s
On 5GHz wifi I get approx 530Mbit/s

This 530Mbit/s seems about the max because the hAP AC wifi does not have hardware switching between wifi and wire. So all traffic goes thru the cpu and that goes to 100% during my tests.

Eddie

Thank you so much for that data, Eddie, including noting the CPU usage. I was trying to test mine last week with both btest.exe and iperf3, but couldn't push more than 330 Mbps with my clients on hand.

Does Mikrotik actually have any WiFi device or series with both the tranceivers (3x3+) and the CPU to handle 800+ Mbps on 5GHz?
Last edited by squeeze on Thu Apr 05, 2018 2:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
R1CH
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:44 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:25 pm

The CPU on the original hAP AC will bottleneck before the radio maximum throughput can be reached. Realistically you can get about 400 - 500 mbps actual throughput.

Conversely the hAP AC 2 has a better CPU but lots of problems with the radio at the moment, probably driver related.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Sun Jun 21, 2020 6:41 pm

I am considering buying hAP ac is there any improvement on the wifi on 5g speed? Currently in my list is hEX S as a router.
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:11 pm

I'd be looking into Audience + hex s combo.
I don't see any improvements on my hap ac, which i use as ap. perhaps minor in range through walls, with the dynamic noise adaptation setting.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7435
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:13 pm

My rule of thumb which served me well with the old astoundingly fast 54 speed units was, a. its two way added and b. doesnt look at prop losses.
So 54/2 -losses = expect 20-24 if you are lucky. I simply used the 1/3 rule for quick est of real throughput = 18.

Applying that today to 5gz, lets say 1300 speed, so its 650-losses, or my 1/3 = 433 speed.
Seems that with newer technology like mu-mimo etc, one should do better and one of the posters noted 533 speed which is pretty good and reasonable.
The est of between 400-500 is bang on.


Solution: By the wireless wire kit for the home, put it outside some windows for example or roof, so LOS to LOS and wire back into house. :-)
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:43 pm

This is general rule of thumb, divide anything that marketing dpt says by 3 and you'll get response under prolonged non-ideal use.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:34 pm

I'd be looking into Audience + hex s combo.
I don't see any improvements on my hap ac, which i use as ap. perhaps minor in range through walls, with the dynamic noise adaptation setting.
What is your main router?
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:34 pm

hex s. i only have 100mbit line, so it's enough.
i have one hap ac, which was my primary router, but a) it had slow cpu, so i had to fasttrack, which ruined queues and consequentially my qos, and b) it was placed rather unfortunately, so the wifi was quite bad as well.
i moved ap to more favorable location and wifi's fine now. i'm not throwing perfectly good hap ac away in favor of audience, because wifi is not bad at all and i'm waiting for a wifi6 device :)
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:04 pm

I wonder if i should take hAP ac^2 to be added to hEX s or jusr wait for wifi6.
Does the hEX s is stronger from ac^2 as a gateway?

Does it still worth to buy hAP ac this days?
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:24 pm

depends, depends and depends.

hap ac is a great little aio device - has wifi, routing and sfp. i need all those 3 things and if isp's optical cable position would be different in regard to my sofa, i'd be optimizing that exact device and be happy with it.
hap ac2 and hex s share same core, but different periphery. hap ac2 has wifi and the other has sfp and poe.

so if you need something decent now, go for hex s and audience. latter is a 4x4 mt's ap, check it out and report back if you happen to go with it.
if not, a) audience is less than a year old b) wifi5 is technically really obsolete in regards of what can be done with wifi6; in terms of multi-user, power saving, 2.4g devices, noise/neighbor immunity etc.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:39 pm

hEX s + hAP ac or hEX s + hAP ac^2?
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:20 pm

hex s + audience :)
there are also wap ac and cap ac to consider, if you need an ap and hate audience. but if you insist on ac-something device, i'd check which of the lot has the best wifi. i heard some people had problems with hap ac2's wifi. i only have experience with hap ac and wap ac, which have similar hw and wifi performance.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:28 pm

Audience is high budget for me
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:08 pm

then don't waste money on hap ac. check, which of cap/wap ac or hap ac2 has best wifi.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:15 pm

Thanks looka! I will check between them.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:44 pm

If hap ac is the most expensive unit it means that its the best?
Hap ac and wap ac has 3 chain....
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:53 am

hap ac is most expensive because it has the most features. i'd search which has the best wifi.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6021
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:46 am

hap ac2 and hex s share same core

Not really. hAP ac2 is based on IPQ4018 SoC (featuring 4-core ARM CPU) while hEX S is based on MT7621A SoC (featuring 2-core MMIPS CPU). hAP ac is yet a different beast, based on QCA9558 SoC (featuring single-core MIPS BE CPU).
BR,
Metod
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:10 am

So hap ac2 is the killer but with the less features
Last edited by Shy on Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:18 am

of the wap/hap ac? i think wifi slightly better with wap, but hard to say. tested in different environments... on the other hands, hap has more ports, if you need a switch as well.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:21 am

Yes i prefer to have switch available
But i think that hap ac has a bottleneck cpu...
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6021
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:22 am

It's hard to answer, because they are devices with quite distinct features. hAP ac2 is no doubt best router. hAP ac should be best WiFi performer but only if client devices support tripple chain (which most of them don't). hEX S comes with SFP port and if you need it, this could be THE reason to choose it. Personally I'm not fan of router/AP combo devices ... quite often wires don't emerge from walls at the place optimal for placing an AP. And then it's easier to set up separate AP (only single wire needed) at optimum place rather than to put combo device there (with a few wires attached). Even worse is to place AP at sub-optimal place which makes WiFi worse (and calls for further investments).
BR,
Metod
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:25 am

so it's hap ac vs ac2.
hap ac2 is cheaper, i think, and has faster processor. but if wifi is not good, you're better off with ac.
check around and report, which one has a better wifi :)
Last edited by looka on Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:29 am

I was thinking the same and router should stay as a router and ap for wifi. Thats the reason i took hEX s.
I just thinking if the sfp is a must or maybe i should take two units of ac^2 one as a gw and second as ap.
It will be quite the same price of taking one hap ac.
I must say that i am willing to get hap ac for years just because of its all features it has...
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:33 am

so it's hap ac vs ac2.
hap ac2 is cheaper, i think, and has faster processor. but if wifi is not good, you're better off with ac.
check around and report, which one has a better wifi :)

I need to choose ;)
But i dont know which will give better performance in long term
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6021
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 11:40 am

My 5 cents: don't try to make long-term investment in AP ... WiFi evolves quite actively and chances are that in few years time there will be something radically better on the market. Plus: if one (not saying you're in the same boat) is willing to shell out €1k for shiny new mobile phone, then it shouldn't be too hard to shell out a fraction of that for shiny new AP.
When it comes to router ... long-term investment is more sensible thing to do and hAP ac2 is, as I already wrote, clearly the winner here. Unless you need SFP port, but in this case you'd want to be at least at SFP+ (10Gbps) which means different price league: RB4011 or something even more expensive (RB4011 has only a single 10Gbps interface which might prove a bottleneck long-term).
BR,
Metod
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:20 pm

thank you so much
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:22 pm

Hi,

I can confirm that the hAP AC connects with 3 chans to a newer MacBookPro on 1G+

Thruput tested with iperf3 from this MBP to a server on the wired part of my local network

On 1GB wire I get approx 960Mbit/s
On 5GHz wifi I get approx 530Mbit/s

This 530Mbit/s seems about the max because the hAP AC wifi does not have hardware switching between wifi and wire. So all traffic goes thru the cpu and that goes to 100% during my tests.

Eddie
in addidion to that what will be the max on 5Ghz for AC^2 ?
 
whatever
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:09 pm

in addidion to that what will be the max on 5Ghz for AC^2 ?
Expect about ~300 Mbps on a 2x2 client in the same room. Occasionally you may even see some peaks up to 400 Mbps.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:12 pm

Isnt it the reason to take hap ac?
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:14 pm

i've never reached Eddie's speeds on my hap ac, more like 400mbps +-100, visible distance. my client is a 2x2 intel card.
is the speed you mention on ac2 based on 3x3 client experience?
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:32 pm

the ac2 doesn't have 3x3 only ac has.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 6:16 pm

how do you check basically which card do i have on my mbair ?
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 7:09 pm

there you have it, one ap with potential only up to 887 or so mbps and other one that gets capped by cpu at that speed. the choice is all yours.
ask on another forum maybe :)?
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 7:27 pm

Sorry i missed that part ac^2 will do up to 887mb on wifi??
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 7:43 pm

867, sorry. it was meant as a reference to maximum theoretical speed for 2x2 ac - meaning there is no way it can go faster.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 7:53 pm

And hap ac? Will it go anyhow up to 867?
So... which should go for? Ac2 or ac??? Final vote

Or hex s plus hap ac as ap?
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7435
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:58 pm

Shy you are not paying attention
The HAPAC2 5ghz wifi is 867 two way, divided by two is 433 speed and subtract prop losses, quick est 867/3 = 289 speed giver take............
The HAPAC wifi is 1300 two way, divided by two is 650 and subtract prop losses, quick est 1300/3 = 433 speed giver take............
The RB400 with wifi is 1733 two way, divided by two is 866 and subtract prop losses, quick est 1733/3 = 578 speeds giver take.....

Top speeds are dependent upon settings on the router and devices that can take advantage of higher speeds and not other wifi devices using the system slowing it down, and of course relatively Line of Sight with no obstructions.

IMHO if you cannot place a WIFI device centrally in an apartment, one needs one at both ends. So you will need two wifi devices likely.
If you already have a hapac, then get an hapac2, which is kickass on the routing side, with enough throughput to handle a future WAN ISP of 1gig down.

Recommend you show a schematic of the apartment/location, where the router has to be and where wired outlets are available for adding an access point type device.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:27 pm

I really appreciate your answer, and I understand that i am going to need two units.
I will try to make a diagram of how it looks like, its 100^2 sqr meter. All rooms will have ethernet socket near the Tv,
Since the main router is going to be in a closet near the entrance and the main room will be with socket and a tv.
I ordered hEX s (for the gpon fiber)
And i though about adding 1 extra access point in the main room. I am considering adding hap ac just as AP or hAP ac^2 for best performance .
i have decided for hEX s because it should be powerfull in routing and wanted dedicated ap for wifi. Now the question is what will fit my needs if i am going to take hAP ac just because the wifi should be better or hAP ac^2 with less good wifi but with less features that i already have on hEX s (which i am still not sure if it will be used if i will take hAP ac and as main routet and hAP ac^2 as additional AP).

And again,
Thank you so much for your patient
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7435
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:21 pm

Okay so is the router location central then?
The hapac was setup there but didnt reach the corners?
Why do you think you will be able to use the GPON of the hex with your internet providers equipment?

One idea is hex in the middle in the closet and then wired to hapac at one end and hapac2 at the other end.
Personally what I would do is connect up the ethernet cable assuming coming from the ONT of the ISP provider and hook it up to a small switch in the closet which connects to the hapac2 at one end and the hapac at the other end. In this scenario you could simply use the hex as a switch!!
This can happen over time as the hex will be fine as your router and switch up to 500gig down speeds, once you move to 1gig down speeds, then make the hex only a switch and move the routing to the hapac2!!! Problem solved.

Solution: Procure a hapac2
Phase 1: current ISP Speeds up to 500mbps
Connect modem to hex in closet, hex is router, hex attached to hapac2 at one end of apartment and hapac at other end of apartment.

Phase 2: ISP speeds increase to 1000mbps 1gig
Connect modem to hex in closet, hex is switch, hapac2 is router and wifi, hapac is wifi at other end of apartment
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:36 pm

i think i have gpon - i took sfp out of my isp' router and shoved into my hex s. it works nicely, there is a dhcp on top.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:13 pm

I understand your point,
and the reason I am asking so so much time is that Mikrotik support told me that hAP ac and hAP ac^2 will be working properly with 200mb /500mb with no problems, they recommended the hAP ac as they claim that its stronger (wifi and in general) - what makes me wonder how is it if on the forums its written the opposite and people recommends on ac^2.

regards the wifi coverage I understand that the hAP ac could act only as an AP an not recommended to be as a router
for me the SFP is a future need but it will be P2P and probably no GPON so SFP will be good, i wanted also to have PoE to power up an AP.
Since hEX s has 256mb ram I though that it will be sufficient for 1gb wan link so the initial setup I could make up in mind is to have hEX s + cAP ac or hAP ac^2
I really wanted to have PoE out but hAP ac^2 doesn't have them .

my plan was to check the heX s, if it won't be sufficient I will need to order hAP ac^2, if this won't be I will add hAP ac for faster wifi.
 
jahatkeh10
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 7:18 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jul 08, 2020 3:28 am

I think sfp isn't really necessary even for future need since it only 1Gbps and isp always provide modem for fiber connection.
Home user only need ethernet, either its 1Gbps or 10Gbps link unless you got a big home exceeding 100meter long or width then its another story.
So instead of buying unused sfp hex s + hap ac, it might be better to buy hap ac2 + wap/cap/hapac, you can get higher routing cpu power and extra wifi coverage since you got 2 wifi device and it's cheaper as well.
However of course it's all depend on your own preference.
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jul 08, 2020 11:41 am

You are basically right, the reason to have hEX s is because i dont have too much space so i do have hEX S for the sfp part and poe out i will add hAP ac^2 to the setup.
Probably another ac^2 in the future for switch capabilities.

Sent from my SM-A705FN using Tapatalk

 
looka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: hAP ac 5GHz max speed

Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:09 pm

i agree here with the fact, that having only 5 ports is annoying. even low-level companies offer 8-port routers, while with mt things get intere$$ting with more ports...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests