Community discussions

 
maxsaf
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:47 pm

Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:51 pm

Do not migrate to Dude 6!!!

After migration from Dude 4 to Dude 6 new dude starts to lose interfaces under DEVICE- SETTINGS - SNMP- INTERFACE.
If device supports RouterOS API - all interfaces presents under DEVICE- SETTINGS - RouterOS- INTERFACE
Link labels sometimes shows RX/TX ??
Dude1.png
If i change Link - Mastering Type to RouterOS instead of SNMP - It shows Ether1. It doesn't work with non-mikrotik devices
Dude2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
excession
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:34 pm

+1
This is still happening in 6.42.6. Any fix / workaround to force re-discovery of interfaces?
 
Juanrri
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:12 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:00 pm

I have the same problem, I lose interfaces and it does not allow me to connect devices, this happens with version 6.42.7. Someone knows how to solve this problem.


In the attached image, example, I try to connect to the Gig 1/0/20 interface and it is not shown, several interfaces are lost, this happens to me at a global level.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Adam84
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:23 pm

On 6.42.7 problem remains. Tested on CHR platform.
 
excession
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:07 pm

It wouldn’t be such an issue if I could get it to rediscover ports when this happens.

Sometimes quitting dude client and reconnecting seems to help rediscover lost ports; but not reliably.
 
MikrotikOdessa
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:06 pm

+1
Have this problem on the 6.42.7

Also have another problem with wlan ifaces while monitoring devices running OpenWrt 18.06 (OIDs discovered by SMNPwalk)
While working few days, this interfaces simultaneosly change their indexes and accumulate own non-working copies ("zombies") in the dropdown list of intefaces
this copies have different indexes like
wlan0(19) - zombie (previous working)
wlan0(20) - zombie (previous working)
wlan0(22) - working
wlan0(30) - zombie (previous working)
wlan0(33) - zombie (previous working)

And that's why correct monitoring going to be impossible ..
Last edited by MikrotikOdessa on Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
eddieb
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:15 pm

running

dude -> vacuum-db

solved this a couple of times for me
Running 6.44.2 (stable) on :
CCR1009-8G-1S (2x ipsec/l2tp site-to-site, ipsec/l2tp roadwarrior, dhcpd, dns), CRS125-24G-1S, RB1100, RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT (10pc),
RB951, RB750GL ,RB2011UAS-RM, CHR running dude (CHR running in VirtualBox on OSX)
 
MikrotikOdessa
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:38 pm

Thanks, it works.
I think it will be good to schedule this command for every day running
 
sid5632
Member
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:50 pm

This is just a coincidence of stopping and restarting the server, which is what really fixes it.
Vacuuming the database has no effect in itself.
 
User avatar
ryny24
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Wed Oct 10, 2018 5:40 am

Just upgraded from v4 to v6.43.2, and many SNMP interfaces are missing too. Has anyone found a resolution or a way to rediscover?
 
maxsaf
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:47 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:55 am

Did you check SNMP V2c instesd of V1?
 
lesnikov
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:33 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:32 pm

Did anyone find fix for this problem? i have same problem with interfaces..
snmpawlk finds them but they are not shown in snmp\interface tab. Is there any way to add them manualy? this is driving me crazy :)))
 
excession
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:35 pm

Quitting the Dude client then re-opening it and waiting normally works for me.
 
ExtraNET
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:41 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:23 am

Hello guys, I am running v6.43.2 and the problem is still there. The interfaces are found in SNMPwalk, but I am not able to find it when adding charts.
I have tried everything, including the command "dude vacuum-db" with no luck.

Any idea?
 
xxiii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 12:55 am

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:26 am

Experiencing the same problem here, currently on version 6.42.6.
 
User avatar
43north
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:06 am

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:01 am

Migrated from an old Version 4.0beta3 to 6.42.9 and no SNMP interfaces anywhere. Tagging this to track for any updates.
 
User avatar
43north
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:06 am

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:33 pm

Just an update..... Switching to SNMP v2 fixed all my links in the newer Dude.
 
sherics
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:01 pm

Please, what in a such case, that no interface is getting recognised via SNMP?

SNMPwalk can fin everything, but when I want to make a link connection, nothing shows up for snmp.

I use the v3 and privace community. Passwords are Ok.
 
gianmaxfactor
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:20 pm

still loosing interfaces.... it is a nightmare this V6...
 
shamet
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:16 am
Location: KR

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:21 am

I'm also struggling with new The Dude loosing interface status and even not listing corectly SNMP interfaces.
What I tried today was to stop The Dude server for a moment and then start it again (dude set enabled=no, and dude set enabled=yes).
It helped.
Maybe you can try it for yourself to check if that helps.
 
maxsaf
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:47 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:11 pm

As far as i know, if you are missing some of your interfaces - just close dude and open it again, go to your device and interface list should be full again. It works for me 100%, but so annoying. Hey, MT team, please do something with that issue. :-)
 
shamet
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:16 am
Location: KR

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:28 pm

"... just close dude and open it again, ..."

In my case restarting client didn't help at all.
I was testing a bit in the meantime and I think that The Dude has major problem with working with SNMP v3. Tested both with and without encryption.
I guess, even lenght of the encryption key and password may matter because I have experienced some odd behaviour depending on lenghts of the keys/passwords.
I didn't test long enough to find pattern, but maybe I will some day.
 
kayander
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:43 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:39 pm

I have 30+ devices on my map with no SNMP issues whatsoever on the latest version of The Dude. SNMP is either v2 or v1.

Отправлено с моего Mi A1 через Tapatalk

 
excession
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:53 pm

It’s not like the developers are unaware of these issues, almost certainly there’s a coder at Mikrotik who knows exactly what needs to be done to fix both this and several other stability issues but that it’s just not a priority for them at the moment, however much we would like it to be.

It’s so frustrating because overall the Dude is such a competent tool with loads of potential; it seems weirdly short sighted to just switch off development for your NMS software when the likes of Ubiquity are putting so much effort into theirs.

I guess all we can do is continue to make noise for further development, I just wish it didn’t feel so much like shouting into the wind.
 
M3nt0san
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:01 pm

Re: Dude 6.41.2 lost SNMP interfaces

Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:52 pm

Already since 6.44.1 some weird issues popped up. I was hoping 6.44.2 would fix them but no such luck.
I'll explain: I'm using snmpv3 with about 40 devices. On some of them (5-10 devices), most services are offline, most except routeros management. From the logs I was reading, i can tell that snmpv3 is no longer working : "v3 err : 3 unknown engine id". Due to this fact,i'm guessing, the dude server hosted on a chr, gets to 100% cpu usage (usually at 5-10%), evenly balanced on networking, management and unclassified. I scavenged the internet ever since for fixes or alternatives to Dude. I am still wondering, am I the most stupid Dude user, or is this really a bug?
I just hope that on the next update everything will work from this perspective.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests