Community discussions

 
dhcpy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:38 am

n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:38 am

Hello, newbie here.

Office scenario. 2 WAN links, different ISP.
4 VLANs, one for servers has public IP. Web server published, and other services.
All firewall rules working, multiple port forwarding through ISP1.

Time pases, bandwidth is not enough.

We buy ISP2 access to separate Browsing traffic of the users.
Users now in other VLAN.
Wifi guest other VLAN too.

How do I separate the VLAN200 so users go by ISP2.
and still, ISP1 with public IP address, servers etc be still active ( vlan300)?

As I see, is not "load balancing" but allocation, or matching.
how is this done?

thanks!
 
solar77
Member
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:47 pm

in IP - Firewall - mangle, use In interface = VLANxx to mark connection , then mark Routing
use this routing mark in IP - Routing, to route traffic with such mark to ISP 2

Edited it need to be mark routing not mark packet, Sorry I was dealing with queues at the time.
Last edited by solar77 on Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
anav
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:53 pm

Im confused by the initial information.
The member didnt mention a block of IPs but I am assuming a /29 block 6 useable IPs.
One used for the router and private LANs (or vlans) and one used for public IP (4 left to use?)
Then they added ISP2.
Is that about right?

Also why is it sometimes people mark connections then mark routes based on the marked connection and in this case not even bothering with marking routes?
I like the WHY more so than the what>
 
solar77
Member
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:37 pm

I guess if you mark connection first then you don't have to inspect every packet on that connection to mark routing. More efficient
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
anav
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:18 pm

Solar, that's not me, just regurgitating fables, known in some parts as "Sob Rules". I simply state - Yoda says 'be efficient'. ;-)
 
solar77
Member
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:46 pm

there are always good way of doing things and better way of doing things. Most cases I am happy as long as it works :D
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
dhcpy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:38 am

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:22 am

Im confused by the initial information.
The member didnt mention a block of IPs but I am assuming a /29 block 6 useable IPs.
One used for the router and private LANs (or vlans) and one used for public IP (4 left to use?)
Then they added ISP2.
Is that about right?

Also why is it sometimes people mark connections then mark routes based on the marked connection and in this case not even bothering with marking routes?
I like the WHY more so than the what>
Hello all, thanks for the reply.
On ISP1, I only have 1 public IP address. Not a range.

I'm very new to the concept of marking packets/connections.
Ex cisco ccna, now retired from managing networks.I will now go read something about mangle.
thanks
 
anav
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:17 pm

Mangled is also a state of mind after reading mikrotik literature and the gobblity gook iptables speak of geekheads at MUM presentations.
Enjoy!!
 
dhcpy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:38 am

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:53 pm

I'm not ab le to get this working.


what about NAT? should I configure NAT with routing marks too?
 
anav
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: n VLANs, allocated to x WAN

Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:00 pm

Post your config from terminal
/export hide-sensitive file=nameofyourchoosing

go to files and download the file to your pc........

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests