Community discussions

 
sonyhavana
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:02 am

Connecting QRT5 ac and LGH5 on a 16Km link? Is it possible?

Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:37 pm

Hi guys. I have a QRT5 AC and I´m l will like to stablish a point to point link. I´m thinking on using a sxt HG5, but the antenna is adviced to have 24 degree beamwith so it not very directional. Do yo guys think is it better(and cheaper) to use a LGH 5 to achieve this? I can´t afford another QRT5ac right now, that´s why I need a cheaper solution. And also, is QRT compatible with all other mikrotik wireless devices? Thanks!
 
mistry7
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Connecting QRT5 ac and LGH5 on a 16Km link? Is it possible?

Sun Jun 10, 2018 11:08 pm

How much Power EIRP is allowed to you?
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Connecting QRT5 ac and LGH5 on a 16Km link? Is it possible?

Mon Jun 11, 2018 12:08 am

 
sonyhavana
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:02 am

Re: Connecting QRT5 ac and LGH5 on a 16Km link? Is it possible?

Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:33 am

Hello and thanks for the reply. I can use max power in both devices. And by the way.. is it possible to force the QRT to use 31dbm power all the time?
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Connecting QRT5 ac and LGH5 on a 16Km link? Is it possible?

Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:04 pm

ITs possible to force a device to specific power level. But remember - in noisy environment - You will also amplify the noice.
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1917
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Connecting QRT5 ac and LGH5 on a 16Km link? Is it possible?

Sun Jun 17, 2018 11:45 pm

Distance: 16.0 Km (9.94 miles)
Free Space Path Loss: 131.223 dB
Theoretical signal level at TX: -67
Theoretical signal level at RX: -59
Link status: Unreliable

Use LHG5 XL.
 
sonyhavana
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:02 am

Re: Connecting QRT5 ac and LGH5 on a 16Km link? Is it possible?

Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:01 am

Thank you so much for your time. I will keep in mind your advice and try to use this equiment in a closer link, about 9Km, so it should be fine with this distance without forcing the maximum power. Thanks guys!
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: Connecting QRT5 ac and LGH5 on a 16Km link? Is it possible?

Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:37 pm

ITs possible to force a device to specific power level. But remember - in noisy environment - You will also amplify the noice.
Now this needs a little explanation since it makes no sense. IMHO the noise gets amplified on supplemental Rx amplification, not on Tx, where only the S/N ratio gets boosted.
Unless you mean the spectral purity of the signal, which is something entirely different and is possible to be degraded by increased Tx power. But for devices with the proper FCC and CEPT certifications, this should not be a major issue.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests