Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jurism
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:56 am

ERRO: wrong username or password

Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:03 pm

Hello!

On first I just thought it is kind of impossible bug or exception, but now I already have this problem on 2nd CCR1036. After some power failure and reboot, router says:
ERRO: wrong username or password
Despite these routers have configuration which is not changed for year or so.

First router had 6.39.X version, 2nd has 6.40.5 version. But have same problem - after reboot, no access. I can pig it, it works, but no access. Web access also doesn't work, other access I have switched of on configuration.

First router was reset and replaced with newest SW and work normal again. 2nd is located in remote location, do anyone have idea how to get back access without resetting?
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1855
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:34 pm

Real admins use real keyboards.
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:38 pm

There was another "Winbox" vulnerability where passwords were changed by malicious people, this was corrected in 6.42.2 I think
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE
 
jurism
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:56 am

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:52 pm

Thanks for answers. Replaced with spare unit with backup file. Also upgraded to newest version. Good that upgrades and backups are super easy on Mikrotiks.
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:23 pm

You are lucky. Restoring backups on a different model (even same type) is tricky. Better use configuration export next time.

(Also, why did you replace the unit, is there a hardware fault?)

Nevertheless, good you had a backup! ;-)
 
dcdorsey777
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Fri Oct 05, 2018 1:28 am

Just encountered this problem and it was not the result of a hack. I was able to get in by connecting via SSH to the device.

To clarify: after the upgrade, Winbox gave "error, bad user name or password". I connected to the same box via SSH, used the same user name and password, and was able to get in. Used the command line to set the system password (used the old password for "old password" and set the new password to the same thing). After than Winbox was able to connect using the same password that didn't work a moment ago.

This happened on a RB951G-2HnD, upgrading from 6.40.4 to 6.43.2. I had upgraded another RB951G-2HnD at the same time and didn't have the problem with that one.

So, try SSH to get in. In my case, the SSH client I used was the Telnet tool on an adjacent Mikrotik device.
 
sazzad123
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:42 pm
Location: Chittagong
Contact:

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:04 pm

I have same problem in my router.
Suddenly i can't login in my router, when i try to login in router after that show the error username & password. This is very disgusting for me. How can recover my password without reseting. You guys please help me out how to recovere!!
Thanks in advance
 
jbarbieri
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 6:46 pm

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:01 pm

I just ran into the same problem on a new install. Thought I had botched my password, so I reset to default. Got it configured all back up, logged out of winbox, couldn't log back in again!

Webgui worked, and telnet did as well. Re-entering the password on the CLI finally allowed winbox to reconnect.
 
npyoung
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 2:40 am
Location: Applegate, OR, USA
Contact:

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:55 pm

Same issue here. Damn!
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:41 am

Hi!

Did you find a solution for this?
I just updated one device and now: wrong username or password

Device is on "empty" password!!

Telnet is working, but winbox is not...

Regards
Stril
 
BRMateus2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:18 pm

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:12 am

Hackers on your outdated versions.
Or maybe outdated firmware scraped the settings.
 
evil
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 6:55 pm

Re: ERRO: wrong username or password

Sat Feb 16, 2019 8:41 pm

Hi there
Today I upgraded RB915G-2HnD to 6.43.12 ...
From local with new Winbox 3.18 I could connect, with both accounts: default one(admin) and new one ... but from Internet, using my NB where is installed the same Winbox version, it's giving me the error: wrong username and password.
On my NB I have more Mikrotik account , that works ok.

Could someone give me any advice?
10x

P.S. could this issue be because I'm connected remotely to NB?!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], dpsguard, tdw and 103 guests