Community discussions

 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3075
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:33 pm

@20 MHz 802.11N (not AC) NV2 now 110 Mbit/s for TCP speedtest good job mikrotik :D . Now time for fix 40 MHz channel in this moment max speed only 150 Mbit for TCP :(
That makes little sense... If you see an improvement on the ROS for 20Mhz then you should also see the same kind of improvement on 40Mhz. The only thing that happens in 40Mhz compared to 20Mhz is de widht of the data pata. Now (theoratically) you can send twice as much data. It's like having now a 4 lane motorway instead of 2.

When you see this little improvement on the 40Mhz compared to 20Mhz as in your example then probably you have interference in the wide frequency. Where 20Mhz would have a pretty 'clear' channel the 40Mhz could well overlap with some other transmitting device which could ultimately make the connections even worse.
Because the radio energy now is devided over a twice a wide spectrum it means the power per hz goes down. And thus the S/N becomes smaller so the datarate cannot maintained at the same level and thus the capacity of the channel goes down.

So check if the 40Mhz channels is as free as the 20Mhz is....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2279
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:55 pm

Now time for fix 40 MHz channel in this moment max speed only 150 Mbit for TCP :(
+ 1
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
DavidAlves
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 11:00 pm

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:53 pm

@20 MHz 802.11N (not AC) NV2 now 110 Mbit/s for TCP speedtest good job mikrotik :D . Now time for fix 40 MHz channel in this moment max speed only 150 Mbit for TCP :(
It is great! But it is possible percept in your print that on registration sheet that you have just 6 clients and so with that amount of clients on this antenna so it is relatively easy get highs throughput on this AP. Would you got a teatanother AP with more than 20 clients connected?

Enviado de meu Mi A2 Lite usando o Tapatalk

 
joserudi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:16 pm

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:34 pm

Hi, is mikrotik planning to use arm devices in sector antennas like mantboxes now that nv2 works correctly? Thank you
 
server8
Member
Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:52 pm

Netmetal mipsbe works great please don't ask for a new russian roulette :-)
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2279
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:30 pm

Still unsolved problem:
ARM client with NV2 is disconnected from AP without reason (ROS 6.44). In log is - lost connection, synchronization timeout
Solution? Reboot client from LAN side. Ticket#2019012222004029
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
human1982
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 2:36 am

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:00 pm

Still unsolved problem:
ARM client with NV2 is disconnected from AP without reason (ROS 6.44). In log is - lost connection, synchronization timeout
Solution? Reboot client from LAN side. Ticket#2019012222004029
Watchdog?
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:50 pm

Still unsolved problem:
ARM client with NV2 is disconnected from AP without reason (ROS 6.44). In log is - lost connection, synchronization timeout
Solution? Reboot client from LAN side. Ticket#2019012222004029
This is a general observation comment about Mikrotik ( not just ARM devices) , why does most of the connectivity issues occur on the wireless part of the router and yet the LAN side is still functional ?
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2279
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:32 pm

Watchdog?
Yes watchdog is workaround. But we have more than 600 ARM clients. Watchdog on all? This is not solution....

This is a general observation comment about Mikrotik ( not just ARM devices) , why does most of the connectivity issues occur on the wireless part of the router and yet the LAN side is still functional ?
No this is not comment from mikrotik. Reboot or power shut down is our solution how to solve this...
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3075
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:31 pm

Still unsolved problem:
ARM client with NV2 is disconnected from AP without reason (ROS 6.44). In log is - lost connection, synchronization timeout
Solution? Reboot client from LAN side. Ticket#2019012222004029
Sounds to me a wireless issue. Probably interference so NV2 sync between AP and CPE gets lost or corrupted and thus connection will be broken until next attempt might repair it.. etc. etc.
A reboot is not going to help it. Sort the wireless. Other frequency, increase S/N (or absolute signal), use other protocol (802.11 is usually better then NV2)
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2279
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:51 pm

Sounds to me a wireless issue.
Yes, this is wireless bug. But only on ARM.
Mipsbe, mmips don´t have this problem.
This problem has nothing to do with SNR or CCQ. You can have the signal -45, CCQ = 100% and still disconnect from AP. The client will never reconnect himself.
In scan from client during problem is 0 networks!
After rebooting or disconnecting power works well. Maybe chipset bug or something with drivers :(
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3075
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:51 pm

Sounds to me a wireless issue.
Yes, this is wireless bug. But only on ARM.
Mipsbe, mmips don´t have this problem.
This problem has nothing to do with SNR or CCQ. You can have the signal -45, CCQ = 100% and still disconnect from AP. The client will never reconnect himself.
In scan from client during problem is 0 networks!
After rebooting or disconnecting power works well. Maybe chipset bug or something with drivers :(
What is your software version? I run 6.44 now on all my AP's and clients and have some 700 clients. Some 50% are now arm devices but I don't see any difference between arm and mipsbe.
I also don't see these disconnects often. Sometimes yes, but that can be any device.
I run 802.11n or ac if the network is changed for it. It works much better then NV2 anyway.
But I still have some 50 clients on NV2 networks and have no issues like you'd prescribe.
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2279
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:59 pm

What is your software version? I run 6.44 now on all my AP's and clients and have some 700 clients. Some 50% are now arm devices but I don't see any difference between arm and mipsbe.
I also don't see these disconnects often. Sometimes yes, but that can be any device. I run 802.11n or ac if the network is changed for it. It works much better then NV2 anyway.But I still have some 50 clients on NV2 networks and have no issues like you'd prescribe.
6.44 on clients. And on AP 6.43.x
This issue is random. Sometimes after 7days or xx days or xxx days. We use NV2 on all sector antenas and about 700 ARM clients
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3075
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:37 pm

What is your software version? I run 6.44 now on all my AP's and clients and have some 700 clients. Some 50% are now arm devices but I don't see any difference between arm and mipsbe.
I also don't see these disconnects often. Sometimes yes, but that can be any device. I run 802.11n or ac if the network is changed for it. It works much better then NV2 anyway.But I still have some 50 clients on NV2 networks and have no issues like you'd prescribe.
6.44 on clients. And on AP 6.43.x
This issue is random. Sometimes after 7days or xx days or xxx days. We use NV2 on all sector antenas and about 700 ARM clients
Well, fist thing i would do is set the AP to 6.44 too. (and update firmware for all units!).
I noticed that when versions are not the same some CPE needed long time to connect. I never like to have different versions on CPE and AP anyway.
I always upgrade all clients first (AND firmware!) and end with the AP.

If you are working with mixed versions on devices that communicate with eachother and in this communications something goes wrong you have no clue which software version is the culprit. So first you need to eliminate that.... ;-)
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
steen
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:15 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Sun May 19, 2019 7:04 pm

Now time for fix 40 MHz channel in this moment max speed only 150 Mbit for TCP :(
+ 1
Tried to use 40MHz instead of 20MHz using nv2 many years ago on a link that was up for nearly 7 years. It was rock solid but it did not become faster than 20MHz, in fact no differences at all. Flat out speed was around 20-30 Mbit/s when doing file transfer tests. No channel overlap or noice or fresnel zones.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Sun May 19, 2019 10:50 pm

Now time for fix 40 MHz channel in this moment max speed only 150 Mbit for TCP :(
+ 1
Tried to use 40MHz instead of 20MHz using nv2 many years ago on a link that was up for nearly 7 years. It was rock solid but it did not become faster than 20MHz, in fact no differences at all. Flat out speed was around 20-30 Mbit/s when doing file transfer tests. No channel overlap or noice or fresnel zones.
Mikrotik Performance with 20Mhz is good now,
but with 40 MHz they performe not well.

We Switched a 9 km Link Last week from Mikrotik
(M11G+ R11e-5HacD), Antenna is 27,5 dBi RF Elements (RF-ULD-TP-550) to Mimosa.

Spektrum is clean ,Signal Level is -64db, CCQ 99%
Mikrotik 20 MHz about 95MBit
Mikrotik 40 MHz about 130 MBit

No big difference between 802.11 and Nv2

Mimosa C5C 20 MHz about 125 MBit
Mimosa C5C 40 MHz about 230MBit

Tested with Mikrotik BTest from 4011 to Wap60Gx3

The best is the Latency on Mimosa, 1-2ms with Full load
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3075
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Mon May 20, 2019 12:14 am

Now time for fix 40 MHz channel in this moment max speed only 150 Mbit for TCP :(
+ 1
Tried to use 40MHz instead of 20MHz using nv2 many years ago on a link that was up for nearly 7 years. It was rock solid but it did not become faster than 20MHz, in fact no differences at all. Flat out speed was around 20-30 Mbit/s when doing file transfer tests. No channel overlap or noice or fresnel zones.
Mikrotik Performance with 20Mhz is good now,
but with 40 MHz they performe not well.

We Switched a 9 km Link Last week from Mikrotik
(M11G+ R11e-5HacD), Antenna is 27,5 dBi RF Elements (RF-ULD-TP-550) to Mimosa.

Spektrum is clean ,Signal Level is -64db, CCQ 99%
Mikrotik 20 MHz about 95MBit
Mikrotik 40 MHz about 130 MBit

No big difference between 802.11 and Nv2

Mimosa C5C 20 MHz about 125 MBit
Mimosa C5C 40 MHz about 230MBit

Tested with Mikrotik BTest from 4011 to Wap60Gx3

The best is the Latency on Mimosa, 1-2ms with Full load
I have to disagree.
I have several P2P and P2MP links with Mikrotik running. Most with moderate to heavy congestion (and thus high noise levels) and all those that need it for the capacity are running on 40Mhz and one link even runs fine on 80Mhz. Not 4 times the throughput as on 20Mhz but 3 times yes...

I also have one Omnitik 5ac with 35-40 SXT-5ac's running in an overlapping 80Mhz bandwidth network. In the same region I have 3 Mimosa A5's with 30 to 45 clients.
Although the peak capacity to the Mimosas can reach 200Mbps I can do 150-180 on the Mikrotik and running tcp speedtest from 3 or 4 SXT's at the same time I can push almost up to 200Mbps over the Omnitik.
We lately have several Mimosa clients wining about connection dropps or slow internet and indeed I see the PHY rates go down at times. The Mikrotik seems to be more stable in the last moths.

Mimosa works all in SRS (= tdma) where basically all my Mikrotiks work nowaday in 802.11ac with RTS/CTS fully enable.

I did many tests on several Mikrotik 802.11ac and 'n' P2MP networks and only when there is strong interference NV2 will do better. But under moderate interference (or low) plain 802.11ac almost always outperforms NV2 by some 30 to 50%.
And all my network run latest 'stable' OS and fw.

I see many here on this forum stating that NV2 is better then 802.11ac but I showed already several times on different post it simply is not.
And with some 40 sectors in a 15 km wide region I have many different spectral environments but in 90% of the cases NV2 is not a winner....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
peson
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Sweden

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue May 21, 2019 12:27 am

Now time for fix 40 MHz channel in this moment max speed only 150 Mbit for TCP :(
+ 1
Tried to use 40MHz instead of 20MHz using nv2 many years ago on a link that was up for nearly 7 years. It was rock solid but it did not become faster than 20MHz, in fact no differences at all. Flat out speed was around 20-30 Mbit/s when doing file transfer tests. No channel overlap or noice or fresnel zones.
Mikrotik Performance with 20Mhz is good now,
but with 40 MHz they performe not well.

We Switched a 9 km Link Last week from Mikrotik
(M11G+ R11e-5HacD), Antenna is 27,5 dBi RF Elements (RF-ULD-TP-550) to Mimosa.

Spektrum is clean ,Signal Level is -64db, CCQ 99%
Mikrotik 20 MHz about 95MBit
Mikrotik 40 MHz about 130 MBit

No big difference between 802.11 and Nv2

Mimosa C5C 20 MHz about 125 MBit
Mimosa C5C 40 MHz about 230MBit

Tested with Mikrotik BTest from 4011 to Wap60Gx3

The best is the Latency on Mimosa, 1-2ms with Full load

Nothing wrong with 40MHz or 80MHz from my testing
This is a test that I've been doing comparing 802.11 AC and NV2 on different channel width, non interference environment.
The tests have been running between a hAP AC and a Powerbox Pro. TCP test was maxing out the CPUs on the testing routers
AP: mANTBox 19S (MIPS) CPE: SXTsq 5 AC (ARM)
NV2-40 TCP DL/UL, UDP DL/UL 165/146, 277/260
802.11-40 TCP DL/UL, UDP DL/UL 197/178, 307/270
NV2-80 TCP DL/UL, UDP DL/UL 188/167, 517/437
802.11-80 TCP DL/UL, UDP DL/UL 208/189, 545/421
Reboot is the last resort, try to find out what's wrong instead.
 
2jarek
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 3:28 pm
Location: Poland

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue May 21, 2019 9:28 am

@peson Try TCP test. NV2 no scale properly for TCP. I try external machines 2x CCR for tests NO BOTTLENECK FROM CPU just NV2 scale like shiet.
 
peson
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Sweden

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue May 21, 2019 12:26 pm

@peson Try TCP test. NV2 no scale properly for TCP. I try external machines 2x CCR for tests NO BOTTLENECK FROM CPU just NV2 scale like shiet.
Will expand the test with CCR1036.
Reboot is the last resort, try to find out what's wrong instead.
 
xrayd
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:28 pm

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Wed May 22, 2019 10:27 pm

TCP bandwithtest supportet only one cpu!
 
2jarek
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 3:28 pm
Location: Poland

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Wed May 22, 2019 11:35 pm

TCP bandwithtest supportet only one cpu!
Now BT for tcp use one core for one stream & close easy 1000Mbit port.
 
AllisonLittle
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 4:08 pm

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:37 pm

my provider has told me that there is no more ap with mipsbe. It is true? I have not bought anything for months and they call me worried. I recently changed all my arm for other manufacturer. I would like to know if mikrotik is going to solve the problem or I have to throw all the arm
I have the same issue!
For now did you find solution?

Allison,
https://consumerepic.com
Last edited by AllisonLittle on Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3075
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue Jul 30, 2019 4:48 pm

my provider has told me that there is no more ap with mipsbe. It is true? I have not bought anything for months and they call me worried. I recently changed all my arm for other manufacturer. I would like to know if mikrotik is going to solve the problem or I have to throw all the arm
I have the same issue!
For now did you find solution?
You can still buy mipsbe devices, just find the right provider.
And why would you not use 'arm'? I have a 800+ devices Mikrotik network with a mix of all kinds of devices. 75% of my antenas are now 'arm' and they work absolutely fine. Due the higher cpu speeds much better in all kind of wireless scenarios then mipsbe although they also still do fine.
I have full P2MP networks running with either mipsbe (Netmetal) or are devices and as clients both kinds. Some of my networks have up to 35 associated units and we sell 50Mb package to the client

I don't see your issue....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
peson
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Sweden

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:36 pm


I don't see your issue....
Me neither.


Rudy: Tried to PM you, but failed
Reboot is the last resort, try to find out what's wrong instead.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3075
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ARM devices and NV2 protocol

Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:27 pm


I don't see your issue....
Me neither.


Rudy: Tried to PM you, but failed
rudy@marucom.es
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests