Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dksoft
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:56 am
Location: Germany

Can not use GRE with CHR on Proxmox

Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:19 pm

Hi,

I would like to ask if anyone has the same problem and might know a solution:

Using CHR on Proxmox and the standard Linux bridge on the Proxmox hypervisor leads to the problem that EoIP is not working.
So far I am able to torch that GRE packages are not passed through the Linux bridge to the CHR VM.

Therefore I switched from Linux bridge to Open vSwitch and suddenly GRE is passed and EoIP works. But other problems appear, so I would like to stick with the standard Linux bridge.
 
meconiotronic
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Can not use GRE with CHR on Proxmox

Mon Jun 05, 2023 11:47 am

Same problem here
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 9966
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Can not use GRE with CHR on Proxmox

Mon Jun 05, 2023 4:09 pm

I do not have experience with Proxmox, but in VMware ESXi there are settings for this, maybe on Proxmox as well.
 
elbob2002
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 8:15 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Can not use GRE with CHR on Proxmox

Tue Jun 06, 2023 12:42 am

I've limited Proxmox experiernce but with ESXi you need to enable promiscious mode on your vswitch.

Not sure what the setting for proxmox might be for this.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 9966
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Can not use GRE with CHR on Proxmox

Tue Jun 06, 2023 11:45 am

That is what I mean, there also is another setting to allow MAC spoofing. You NEED that to run a bridge in a VM.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests