Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
iceMonger
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:17 pm

ERROR: wrong username or password

Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:36 pm

Router RB2011UiAS-2HnD after FULL reset in winbox when i try to connect via MAC address show wrong username or password??
as always default password is:
admin and "blank" as password

i cant understand what is wrong with router?
Anyone can help? please

for full reset i use router touch screen monitor Reset Configuration function with default password "1234"
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1855
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:29 pm

Try to Netinstall.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
User avatar
xvo
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:47 pm

The screenshot shows that you are trying to connect by MAC.
Try connecting by ip.
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Wed Oct 10, 2018 11:17 pm

We have gotten this on a few RB3011s.

This has been after they were 'comprimised', and then netinstalled. Still unable to access them. We have not yet found a solution.
 
WeWiNet
Member
Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:47 am

On my hap ac2 after netinstall and normal reboot (with power off-on as often as you want) nothing goes.
Need to do another reset to default settings (press button >5 seconds) only then finally device reboots properly and Wifi etc. coming up.
My ones were not infected (as far as I could see).
WeWiNet

**
MTCNA
hapac2, map, hap-lite, ltap-mini, RB4011 (good!), Audience (better), Audience + Wap R ac LTE Hybrid DSL + LTE FWA (best :-) ) !!!
 
User avatar
Lifz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 1:05 pm

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:55 am

Update your Winbox to 3.18
 
konstantinJFK
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 3:44 pm
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:26 am

I need o followup the issue with "ERROR: wrong username or password" via Winbox

I have same issue with symptoms below, I am sure that this is a bug with winbox (!!!)

Winbox version 3.23 or 3.27 both 32 and 64 bit and mikrotik version is 6.45.9 (HEX)

The router have multiple interfaces with internal and public ips, the issue is happen when I connect to internal IP

This is not forgotten password issue for sure:
1. same pass working with winbox via public IP, and ssh via any IPs
2. The issue appear when the network topology was changed to use MPLS network
3. the password was retyped into the device

Any ideas?
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:50 am

"wrong password" may appear if the user is not allowed to log in from used IP.
check your users, whether they have limited addresses. e.g:
[vecernik@mikrotik] > /user export
/user
add group=full name=vecernik
add address=10.11.12.0/24 group=read name=test
As you can see, user "vecernik" can log in from any IP, but user "test" is limited to only 10.11.12.0/24 range. If he tries to log in from any other IP (e.g. 192.168.0.2) he will see "incorrect password" because for his IP, there is no matching user entry
 
konstantinJFK
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 3:44 pm
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:40 pm

"wrong password" may appear if the user is not allowed to log in from used IP.
Thanks for the idea, I checked: no IP limitations.

Actually I have more details about the issue: Looks like the error is appear because wrong "next-hop" settings on neighbor router:

The "next-hop" is pointed to the other mikrotik with old version and traffic is "in and out" back to the same interface when go to the affected router.
I changed "next-hop" to new mikrotik with modern version and issue "wrong password" is gone.

I think the problem is some how related to the modification of the winbox packets going via interim router
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: ERROR: wrong username or password

Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:19 am

Interesting finding! thanks for feedback.
If the data are just forwarded (i.e. not ROMON etc), I find it unexpected for any router to modify/corrupt packets. Rather, I would guess that the interim router was accepting the packets and replying on its own possibly?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: atuxnull and 37 guests