Community discussions

 
opalit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:15 pm

P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:00 pm

in the firewall filter section P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4 Dude edition, I get a message that it is obsolete and to use layer 7, it is there on my old RB1100AHx2 and been working perfectly for last 6 years how can I replicate it using layer 7., I need to block bittorrent
 
raymondr15
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:11 am
Location: East London, South Africa
Contact:

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:13 pm

P2P has been removed quite a while ago. What version of RouterOS do you have on each router?

There are different way you can block torrents in RouterOS, layer7, content, blocking ports...
 
opalit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:15 pm

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:41 pm

I know it has been removed my RB1100AHx2 is on v6.31, I have no reason to change firmware, it has been working without problems for at least 6 years, I am having my fibre line updated to 200Mbps on a Gigabit bearer so need to upgrade the router and so I purchased a RB1100AHx4, my thinking is that it would be less problems transferring the scripts across to it, the AHx4 has the latest firmware v6.42.7

I only need to block uploading, i.e. illegal distribution, I am not interested in what they download that will be their problem.
 
mducharme
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 609
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:45 pm

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Wed Aug 29, 2018 3:04 am

I only need to block uploading, i.e. illegal distribution
It was removed because the majority of torrent traffic is encrypted in the modern day making it no longer possible to easily tell torrent traffic apart from regular traffic. The P2P feature has been useless for a long time. It was not likely to have blocked anything in the past several years. It may have made you felt better to have it turned on, but most likely it was not blocking anything, and people could have easily torrented through your router anyway.
 
opalit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:15 pm

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:09 am

It was blocking, it was showing next to the filter how much traffic it was blocking, I am very disappointed it has been removed, it should be our choice if we want to use it or not.
 
proximus
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:27 am

It was blocking, it was showing next to the filter how much traffic it was blocking,
See this: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=121196&p=596405&hi ... is#p596278

It would be wrong to keep it when it wasn't doing anything. False sense of security.
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1682
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Wed Aug 29, 2018 7:40 am

There were lots of false positives, some services were not working cause were wrongly captured by this option, so it was removed.
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
opalit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:15 pm

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:12 pm

It is working and still working on my old router which I have not yet replaced, it blocks the use of the BitTorrent program, all the Layer7 examples I have tried are doing nothing.
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1682
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:44 pm

It is working and still working on my old router which I have not yet replaced, it blocks the use of the BitTorrent program, all the Layer7 examples I have tried are doing nothing.
download different client and/or enable traffic encryption, and it doesn't work anymore.
Do you know what else does it drops?
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 993
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:50 pm

I know it has been removed my RB1100AHx2 is on v6.31, I have no reason to change firmware, ...
Not even to close security vulnerabilities?
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1594
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Sat Sep 01, 2018 7:01 pm

It was blocking, it was showing next to the filter how much traffic it was blocking, I am very disappointed it has been removed, it should be our choice if we want to use it or not.
ours ??

you are the only one complaining about it and there is very few topics about the removal of p2p firewall matcher

you kept outdated your equipment for more than a year and now blaming and complain about that

the moment to complain about that was in 1Q 2017 when 6.39 was in release candidate stage

viewtopic.php?t=116357&start=200

in the topic there was no complains about that,

the feature was becoming useless nowadays

There are new and better firewall matchers much more useful today as
content, tls-host and the well known L7

You Just need to evolve, technology is in constant change and evolution
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1594
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Sat Sep 01, 2018 7:05 pm

I have no reason to change firmware
many lazy old school system administrators were repeating that phrase endlessly just to avoid the work of maintaining and updating systems

but nowadays that does not works, you just simply expose your organization to security breaches keeping systems outdated
 
raymondr15
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:11 am
Location: East London, South Africa
Contact:

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:16 pm

I know it has been removed my RB1100AHx2 is on v6.31, I have no reason to change firmware
Tell me what your Public IP is and then I might need to give you a reason to change your firmware.
 
opalit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:15 pm

Re: P2P missing on my new RB1100AHx4

Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:32 pm

The AHx4 with the latest firmware is installed now and I am using layer 7 and other methods as I have public IP's for all my customers and registered to them now, so it is not as critical as it was to block it, they have been warned about illegal distribution.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 57 guests