Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
cgrey001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:36 pm

RB450Gx4 WAN throughput decreases

Fri Sep 07, 2018 12:52 am

Configuration Summary
*RB450Gx4 configured using WebFig and QuickSet for default configuration
WAN interface is ether1
LAN interface is ether2 which is bridged for ether 2-5
IPv6 Installed configured for PD /60
Default IPv4 Firewall
Default IPv6 Firewall

Component Summary
Router: RB450Gx4 v6.4.27
Access Point: UniFi UAP-XG v3.9.42
Cable Modem: SurfBoard SB8200
Broadband Service: Comcast Gigabit Tier

Problem Statement
Wireless clients connected to UAP-XG progressively slows down to half the the internet connection rate (500-600 mbps), whereas wired throughput remains consistent at ~930mbps. The wireless internet slow down can be replicated by running speed test (1st test 860mbps, 2nd test 720mbps, 3rd test 500-600mbps). Once throughput is degraded, wireless clients randomly experience extreme service degradation down to 15-25mbps.

Workaround
Clean reboot of both router and access point restores wireless throughput to ~860mbps. Rebooting the access point only does not restore wireless throughput.

Additional Question(s)
IP > Address default LAN address is set to ether2 instead of bridge0. Is this correct?
Interfaces ether 2 - 5 are in bridge and in the switch. How can I verify the interfaces are using the switch chip and not software bridging?

Thank you in advance. I'm new to MikroTik.
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: RB450Gx4 WAN throughput decreases

Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:31 am

IP > Address default LAN address is set to ether2 instead of bridge0. Is this correct?
Interfaces ether 2 - 5 are in bridge and in the switch. How can I verify the interfaces are using the switch chip and not software bridging?
If 2 -5 are in the Bridge, the IP address should be on the Bridge. The rb450gx4 default configuration puts the LAN IP address on "bridge", you mention "bridge0". Have you made a lot of changes? Perhaps post config ... at least ip address / bridge / switch.

If you go to Bridge -> Ports, you should see the "H" flag for hardware offload.
 
cgrey001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:36 pm

Re: RB450Gx4 WAN throughput decreases

Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:06 am

Correct. The Bridge is labeled bridge. It was a typo on my part from my Edgemax days where bridges are software and labeled br0.

The only changes from QuickSet are related to IPv6 configuration.

I changed the interface in IP > Addresses from ether2 to bridge.

It appeared to take the setting without issue, but WebFig is unresponsive when I went back to get the config. Traffic is routing just fine though. I've had this issue with WebFig from day one when I tried to enable ssh it would crash WebFig.
 
cgrey001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:36 pm

Re: RB450Gx4 WAN throughput decreases

Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:16 am

The throughput issue seems to be resolved. I updated the firmware on the UAP-XG to the latest stable build and also changed IP > Address > Interface to bridge from ether2. Not sure which one corrected the problem.

New Issue:
WebFig freezing appears to be related to using the logout in WebFig. Whenever I logout of WebFig it throws an error in red on the main landing page. Then I can't log back into WebFig until I power cycle.
 
User avatar
NathanA
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:01 am

Re: RB450Gx4 WAN throughput decreases

Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:30 pm

...and also changed IP > Address > Interface to bridge from ether2.
`
Guaranteed this wasn't the issue.

Although it can "work" (depending), assigning an IP address to an interface that is a member of a bridge makes no sense. Once an interface is a bridge member, it should not be individually referenced. Treat the bridge as one (logical) interface, at least when it comes to addressing.

-- Nathan
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: RB450Gx4 WAN throughput decreases

Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:34 pm

New Issue:
WebFig freezing appears to be related to using the logout in WebFig. Whenever I logout of WebFig it throws an error in red on the main landing page. Then I can't log back into WebFig until I power cycle.
Great that the throughput issue has been resolved. For the WebFig problem, I would suggest:

+ Create a new topic so the issue doesn't get lost.
+ Try different browsers.
+ When it is broken, generate a supout file ( via ssh or winbox ) and sent it to support. https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:S ... utput_File
 
cgrey001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:36 pm

Re: RB450Gx4 WAN throughput decreases

Fri Sep 07, 2018 7:26 pm

@Nathan - Not sure how ether2 was the interface for the IP > Address as this setting was created by QuickSet. I'll scrub my config later today to see if there are any other reference to a specific port vs bridge.

@proximus - It appears the WebFig issues is resolved in the release candidate. I prefer to stay with the stable release, but since this is a SOHO device and I don't have any Windows clients I had to upgrade to rc66. Seems to have resolved the WebFig issue.
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: RB450Gx4 WAN throughput decreases

Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:13 pm

@proximus - It appears the WebFig issues is resolved in the release candidate. I prefer to stay with the stable release, but since this is a SOHO device and I don't have any Windows clients I had to upgrade to rc66. Seems to have resolved the WebFig issue.
Just FYI, since you are new to MT ... If you only have Mac's, there is Winbox for Mac available here: http://joshaven.com/resources/tools/winbox-for-mac/

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: awed730, Baidu [Spider], Kindis and 139 guests