Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
BorisSapphire
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:37 am

How to create two vlan and two dhcp servers

Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:45 am

Hello all,
I like to create on my RB962UiGS-5Hac two vlan and two dhcp servers.
On port2 i like to have vlan10 and dhcp server 10.0.0.1 (trunk),
on port3 vlan20 and dhcp server 20.0.0.1.
How to create?
 
User avatar
xvo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 631
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: How to create two vlan and two dhcp servers

Thu Sep 27, 2018 11:37 am

Just do exactly as you wrote yourself:
1) Create vlan-interface on top of port 2 with vlan-id=10
2) Create vlan-interface on top of port 3 with vlan-id=20
3) Assign addresses to this vlan-interfaces
4) Create DHCP servers on top of this vlan-interfaces

As a result the traffic on port2 and port3 will be tagged by corresponding vlan tag.
And you will have a dhcp running for each of the vlans.

Only note that 20.0.0.1 is not a private address, so in real setup it has to be something else from the private ip's range.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3377
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: How to create two vlan and two dhcp servers

Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:30 pm

In addition to steps, described by @xvo, perform also this step:
0) remove port2 and port3 from any bridge

If you want to have those two ports members of bridge (e.g. to switch untagged traffic between these two ports and rest of your RB), then setup is slightly more complex.
BR,
Metod

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 76 guests