Community discussions

 
anav
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

CCS106 RB260GS ISSUES

Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:08 pm

I am new to the switch line and the SWOS.
It appears to be extremely flaky. :-(
The switch came with an old version which didn't resemble the UG, so the first job was to update the unit.

Well, I downloaded the file from the website and manually tried the upgrade.
My experience is that each time I reset the unit (many times) it would take on average 3-5 attempts at upgrading before it accepted the file and rebooted with the latest firmware.
This is horrible!

The other main issue I am having is how easy it is to get locked out of the unit and thus forced to use the reset, frequently (Oh how I long for SwOS safe mode)
In a funny way, I noted others requested HTTPS login, and I have to ask why, this thing kicks me (the admin) out so easily its pretty secure.

1. I noted the ALL entry was blank and that seems to work just fine although I dont like leaving things blank.
2. I then read that "
IP address from which the service is accessible. Default value is '0.0.0.0/0' - any address
" so I then entered 0.0.0.0/0 into the blank spot
YUP - kicked out and had to reset the switch.
3. I planned to use the switch attached to the router and through the router I was going to use a VLAN to manage the switch let say VLAN111. I noted the VLAN entry for management and thus entered in 111, (keeping the blank entry in the other line).
YUP - kicked out and had to reset the switch.
4. Got it reset and then decided I would try putting my network in the ALLOW entry 192.168.0.0/24 instead of blank and instead of 0.0.0.0/0
YUP - kicked out and had to reset the switch.

I am quite frustrated by this SwOS and starting to wonder if its any better than the crappy managed switches I have from DStink and NetGit.
 
anav
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: CCS106 RB260GS ISSUES

Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:01 am

Locked out again when attempting to setup 802.1q vlans. I may just put it under my tires and drive back and forth on it, it may improve performance stability (never works)_ and thus more reliable. ;-)
 
anav
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: CCS106 RB260GS ISSUES

Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:44 pm

Still not having much luck with this pita......
What is weird is that when I use the reset button it resets it to the original firmware instead of to the default setup of the Currently installed firmware. Isnt that like so 90's?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests