Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mattstephenson
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:03 am
Location: UK

IPv6 Prefix Problem with Windows Server DHCPv6

Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:14 pm

Hello

I have a MikroTik with a PPPoE connection for WAN with a static /48 prefix which I then split into my various networks of /64. It has the following IPv6 configuration, which allows a workstation/device to get an IPv6 address from the Microsoft DHCPv6 server on the same VLAN.

Windows PCs, iOS devices, Macs all work perfectly and receive a single IP from the DHCPv6 server, setup a /64 prefix and can router traffic with IPv6 fine.

The problem is Linux machines, various distributions and even Raspbian on a Raspberry Pi; they get an IP but they have a /128 prefix.

If i turn on autonomous then the machines auto-configure with the several IPv6 addresses (with the correct /64 prefix) and work perfectly, however I wanted to use stateful DHCPv6.
# nov/07/2018 16:58:34 by RouterOS 6.43.4
# model = RouterBOARD 3011UiAS

/ipv6 address
add address=2a02:XX:YY::1 interface=vlan2
/ipv6 nd
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
add interface=vlan2 managed-address-configuration=yes
/ipv6 nd prefix default
set autonomous=no
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: IPv6 Prefix Problem with Windows Server DHCPv6

Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:18 am

Normal behavior.

See this: https://serverfault.com/questions/91847 ... -in-ubuntu

Also, when I look at my iOS devices and Mac's, their DHCPv6 assigned IPv6 addresses all show /128.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], leopardus2, Shy, tdw and 146 guests