Community discussions

 
cvbkf
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:21 am

Advanced CAPSman config with vlan trunk to firewall

Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:42 am

Hi there,

i have some problems with adding a wireless network for guests to my network setup, which manages the wireless aps via capsman. The CAPSman manager switch has a direct connection to the OPNSense Firewall with one 10 Gbit/s cable. So, i want to add the guest network separated by VLAN from my LAN without changing the config of the LAN. It should be like that: Guest VLAN with ID 20, LAN untagged (=VLAN trunk).
After adding a VLAN to OPNSense and CapsManager i can ping between both devices, but i can't get the APs working, because i don't know how to setup the datapath without using bridges.

I attached an simple overview of my setup

Image

How can i solve that ?
 
cvbkf
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:21 am

Re: Advanced CAPSman config with vlan trunk to firewall

Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:43 pm

Fixed by setting datapath to the same bridge as the local network, using tag with VID. the real problem was a typo in the default route for the vlan, fixed that, too.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tricksol and 80 guests