Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
americanmcneil
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Contact:

setting up email notifications?

Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:40 pm

I recently found and started using The Dude and was wondering on how to configure email notifications on discovered AP's and other various equipment. When I go through the notification set up it is asking for a server address. Is this supposed to be the address of an email server? I tried that but I kept getting time out errors.

Can anyone help me?
Thanks in advance
 
msorensen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:47 pm
Location: California

Wed Mar 28, 2007 2:44 am

yes, the "server" needs to the IP address of an available SMTP server that will accept an SMTP connection from the machine running the Dude.

And, of course it would also require that any intervening firewalls, routers, etc, between the SMTP server and the machine hosting the Dude must allow the SMTP conversation to take place.

It definately works :- )
.....
 
nivlaboi
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 2:27 am
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Contact:

Thu Mar 29, 2007 3:12 am

We just got this working the other day. You'll need a personal SMTP server that will accept SMTP connections, as the previous poster said. It's really a neat little utility. It, in all reality, spoofs whichever email address you want it to come from, such as Admin@Microsoft.com, or Admin@google.com ((I don't suggest using that one)). So if you don't want to use your local email, and say you have an hotmail account or something, you can use that one. They can reply to the email address too as if it really came from there.

-Brad
 
User avatar
americanmcneil
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Contact:

Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:08 pm

Ok, let me see if I have this right. If I have a yahoo email account, I can use that if I know what the server address is? Would I have to use the yahoo email address to receive the notifications or could I use a different email address?
 
nivlaboi
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 2:27 am
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Contact:

Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:51 pm

If you find out their SMTP server, which alot of places no longer give out. Even if you set up your personal SMTP server, you can still send it from your e-mail, reason being, as I said earlier, it spoofs it.

-Brad
Wichita Data Centers
 
User avatar
americanmcneil
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Contact:

Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:17 pm

So I finally got the email notification set up. I have my email servers address in the box. I have the notification set up how I want it. When I hit the test button, a successful test email is sent. Now the problem is that when my test piece of equipment goes down (on purpose for this test) The Dude doesn't email me with the notification. I have the subject and body variables set with the defaults messages and like I said, the test email works. What am I doing wrong?

Please help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests