Community discussions

 
lebphi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:27 pm

vlan and guest in mode bridge ?

Thu May 16, 2019 8:24 pm

hi,

it is possible to create VLAN and guest wifi with separate network when the router is in bridge mode ?
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2820
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: vlan and guest in mode bridge ?

Thu May 16, 2019 9:12 pm

Not sure what you mean but YES, all the settings are available. If you mean give out DHCPs, I believe it has to be in router mode.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4178
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: vlan and guest in mode bridge ?

Thu May 16, 2019 9:38 pm

You can combine things any way you want. If you add guest vlan to bridge (see manual about the new bridge vlan filtering), it will be an independent interface, so dhcp for guests (= for this vlan only) is no problem.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
lebphi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: vlan and guest in mode bridge ?

Fri May 17, 2019 9:42 am

i ask the question because i've tried to follow with an hap ac2 router the guide https://www.marthur.com/networking/mikr ... wifi/2582/ but it doesn't works with bridge mode and work with router mode.

For the router mode :
home ap dual
internet = automatic address acquisition (ip = 192.168.1.165) - firewall router
local network = 192.168.88.1 - dhcp server - nat
wireless 2G and 5G
guest as virtual with lan on 2G following the guide 'marthur'
-> all work ferfectly

for the bridge mode :
wisp ap
bridge mode - automatic address acquisition (ip = 192.168.1.165 - gateway = 192.168.1.1
wireless 2G and 5G
guest as virtual with lan on 2G following the guide 'marthur'
-> i can connect to the guest but i don't have access to internet
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4178
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: vlan and guest in mode bridge ?

Fri May 17, 2019 3:59 pm

I'd guess that you're probably just missing srcnat/masquerade.

But that guide is a little strange. There's virtual AP interface with VLAN interface on it. But then both VLAN and its parent interface are bridged together. Maybe it works, but it doesn't make much sense.

Depending on what exactly you need your guest LAN to be:

a) If only one wireless interface is enough: Create virtual AP and the interface itself is your guest LAN.
b) If you want both 2.4 and 5 GHz wireless: Create virtual APs for each, bridge them together using new bridge and the bridge is your guest LAN.
c) If you want wireless (one or both) and wired VLAN: Create virtual AP(s) and assign VLAN tags to them. Add them to main bridge. Create VLAN interface on bridge. Configure bridge VLAN filtering. VLAN interface is your guest LAN.

Now whatever your guest LAN interface is, add DHCP server to it and configure firewall. You need srcnat and then you must either allow access from guest LAN where it should be allowed, or block it to where it should not (depends on your firewall, if you block or allow forwarding by default).
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
lebphi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: vlan and guest in mode bridge ?

Fri May 17, 2019 6:10 pm

i've added a masquerade 10.10.10.0/24 and now it works. Thanks you.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests