Community discussions

 
millenium7
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:12 am

CRS3xx hardware offload with split-horizon? or similar setup?

Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:54 am

Setting a horizon value on a bridge port disables hardware offload on that port, so this isn't an option
But I have a setup that requires ports to be isolated from each other to prevent any accidental loop and reduce unnecessary broadcast traffic

How else can it be achieved without lots of messy filter rules?
 
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3742
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: CRS3xx hardware offload with split-horizon? or similar setup?

Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:08 pm

By means of not so messy /interface ethernet switch rule. For each ingress port you can specify a list of permitted egress ports. Sorry, on the phone, can't be more verbose.
Instead of writing novels, post /export hide-sensitive. Use find&replace in your favourite text editor to systematically replace all occurrences of each public IP address potentially identifying you by a distinctive pattern such as my.public.ip.1.
 
millenium7
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:12 am

Re: CRS3xx hardware offload with split-horizon? or similar setup?

Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:43 pm

Yeah I managed to set it, wasn't messy

Thing I really don't like though is switch commands don't show up in a /export
 
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3742
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: CRS3xx hardware offload with split-horizon? or similar setup?

Fri Jul 12, 2019 3:40 pm

Does at least print show them? It would be a workaround and missing parts of configuration in export are definitely a bug worth reporting to support@mikrotik.com, but better than nothing.
Instead of writing novels, post /export hide-sensitive. Use find&replace in your favourite text editor to systematically replace all occurrences of each public IP address potentially identifying you by a distinctive pattern such as my.public.ip.1.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CRS3xx hardware offload with split-horizon? or similar setup?

Fri Jul 12, 2019 3:59 pm

If export doesn't show settings, then that's definitely a bug. On my RB951G export displays relevant settings:
[user@RB951G] /interface ethernet> export 
# jul/12/2019 12:50:53 by RouterOS 6.45.1
# software id = QCG5-PSG8
#
# model = 951G-2HnD
# serial number = 642E05BB727B
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=ether1-router
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] name=ether2-BOX
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] name=ether3-AV
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] name=ether4-TV
/interface ethernet switch
set 0 mirror-source=ether1-router
/interface ethernet switch port
set 0 vlan-mode=secure
set 1 default-vlan-id=40 vlan-header=always-strip vlan-mode=secure
set 2 default-vlan-id=42 vlan-header=always-strip vlan-mode=secure
set 3 default-vlan-id=42 vlan-header=always-strip vlan-mode=secure
set 4 default-vlan-id=42 vlan-header=always-strip vlan-mode=secure
set 5 vlan-header=add-if-missing vlan-mode=fallback
/interface ethernet switch vlan
add independent-learning=yes ports=\
    switch1-cpu,ether1-router,ether3-AV,ether4-TV,ether5 switch=switch1 \
    vlan-id=42
add independent-learning=yes ports=switch1-cpu,ether1-router switch=switch1 \
    vlan-id=2
add independent-learning=yes ports=ether1-router,ether2-BOX switch=switch1 \
    vlan-id=3999
add independent-learning=yes ports=switch1-cpu,ether1-router switch=switch1 \
    vlan-id=41
add independent-learning=yes ports=switch1-cpu,ether1-router,ether2-BOX \
    switch=switch1 vlan-id=40
BR,
Metod
 
millenium7
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:12 am

Re: CRS3xx hardware offload with split-horizon? or similar setup?

Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:24 pm

Must be a bug then. Switch is a CRS317 running 6.44.3 so its a recent firmware. Definitely does not show up in a normal /export
It doesn't even show if I do a '/interface ethernet switch export'
I have to specifically do '/interface ethernet switch port export'
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1298
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: CRS3xx hardware offload with split-horizon? or similar setup?

Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:50 am

It shows on my CRS326 running 6.44.3
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 57 guests