Community discussions

 
mikeleord
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:41 pm

help to set ipv6 / 48

Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:40 pm

Hi everyone,

I would like to set my mikrotik RB4011iGS + to be able to use an ipv6 / 48 subnet that my provider gave me.
However I do not understand the mechanism well and I do not understand if the provider gave me the correct data, among other things it does not help me in the configuration has only answered me ask the builder.

these are the data:
ip wan fe80 :: 1234: 5678: 123
GW: fe80 :: 1
lan: 1234: 5678: 123 :: 1/48
addresses to be assigned to computers:
ip 1234: 5678: 123 :: 2/48
gw 1234: 5678: 123 :: 1
dns1 and dns2

I tried several configations but the mikrotik brings me errors or they are not reachable from the internet.
Thanks for your help
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:57 pm

It's the WAN address starting with fe80 you'll have problem with, it's link-local address and so far RouterOS doesn't support adding these manually.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:02 pm

The /48 is a block of addresses. First step will be to use an IPv6 Subnetting Calculator to obtain the /64 network segments. One of the /64's should then be used for the LAN interface and computers on that segment.

After you have the addressing sorted out, post the config if still having problems.
 
mikeleord
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sat Jul 13, 2019 5:36 pm

hi, here I used the caliper that brought me this:
Compressed Address: 2a02:2f0f:1c2::/48
Expanded Address: 2a02:2f0f:01c2:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000/48
Prefix: ffff:ffff:ffff:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000
Range: 2a02:2f0f:1c2:0:0:0:0:0
2a02:2f0f:1c2:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff
Number of /64s: 65536:
2a02:2f0f:1c2::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:1::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:2::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:3::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:4::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:5::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:6::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:7::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:8::/64
2a02:2f0f:1c2:9::/64

then I set:

Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic, G - global, L - link-local
# ADDRESS FROM-POOL INTERFACE ADVERTISE
0 G 2a02:2f0f:1c2:1::/64 bridge_LAN yes



Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, C - connect, S - static, r - rip, o - ospf, b - bgp, U - unreachable

# DST-ADDRESS GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 S ::/0 2a02:2f0f:1c2:: 1
1 ADC 2a02:2f0f:1c2:1::/64 bridge_LAN 0

but nothing goes
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:17 pm

Router's default gateway should be fe80::1, but it probably won't help you anyway (see my previous post).
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
mikeleord
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:23 pm

yes exact putting fe80 from error, I assume then the catch is there and I can't solve myself
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2464
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:48 pm

Can't you negotiate with your ISP about link-local address of your router? To use it instead of fe80::1234:5678:123 ?

When seeing such stories I become grateful that my ISP delivers IPv6 over PPPoE (together with IPv4) without fussing around with addresses for this and that ..
BR,
Metod
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:13 pm

On the other hand, it doesn't look as anything difficult that MikroTik couldn't support, if they wanted to. If ISPs do this, does it work with an average home router? I guess it must, otherwise ISPs wouldn't use it. And in that case, RouterOS needs it too.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3488
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:43 pm

Is there any RFC allowing to set up a link-local address manually? Both the mac-based method and the random method are there to make the link-local address eventually exist in parallel with a manually assigned one but not to be manually set itself. So unless I've missed such an RFC, asking the end users to support this way of assignment of link-local addresses is merely an arrogance of the ISP.
Instead of writing novels, post /export hide-sensitive. Use find&replace in your favourite text editor to systematically replace all occurrences of each public IP address potentially identifying you by a distinctive pattern such as my.public.ip.1.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Sun Jul 14, 2019 7:18 pm

I don't know, there's quite a lot of RFCs.

I remember the old method where the right 64 bits are derived from MAC address (with ff:fe inserted in the middle). The random method clearly exists too, that's what Windows seem to be using. Realistically, as long as resulting link-local address is unique on the link, it shouldn't matter if it's the user who comes up with own "random" number. And even though it's not exactly scientific argument, it looks like Linux can do it, so why not RouterOS.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
mikeleord
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:43 pm

hi,
an update on the ISP request regarding the link-local proposed by Mkx:
Dear client,

Unfortunately we cannot help you with this request , due to our internal protocols we have to use link-local address.

Kind regards.
well for now the ipv6 dream is over :)
thanks to everyone, however, for the advice!
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:31 pm

You can try writing to MikroTik support and asking them if they could support this, or if they have some good reason why not.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
kalamaja
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Tue Jul 16, 2019 12:24 am

IPv6 has a different, more autoconfig logic. Having link-local address as default gw is completely OK and often used, so seeing the line "GW: fe80 :: 1" tells atleast to me that PROBABLY provider is communicating configuration wrong to customer. So I would try with usual DHCPv6 PD configuration:

/ipv6 dhcp-client add add-default-route=yes disabled=no interface=ether1 pool-name=ipv6-pool pool-prefix-length=64 request=prefix use-peer-dns=yes

If it doesn't succeed (=no prefix appears in ipv6 dhcp-client), then I would ask provider to be more clear about IPv6 configuration techologies they use. BUT, if it succeeds and you see /48 prefix assigned, routes set etc, then you need to do these additional lines to start sharing:

/ipv6 nd set [ find default=yes ] advertise-dns=yes advertise-mac-address=yes interface=bridge managed-address-configuration=no other-configuration=yes
/ipv6 address add address=::/64 advertise=yes disabled=no eui-64=no from-pool=ipv6-pool interface=bridge no-dad=no
/ipv6 dhcp-server add address-pool=ipv6-pool disabled=no interface=bridge name=server1
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:38 am

It's true that IPv6 tends to be more dynamic, but static config is possible too. And it looks like it's what this ISP is doing. As a customer, I'd actually prefer this, it's just this one little detail about requiring specific link-local address on client's router that makes it problematic. But of course trying DHCPv6 can't hurt, it takes ten seconds to check if it's there.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
mikeleord
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: help to set ipv6 / 48

Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:11 pm

hi guys, thanks for the advice i tried as you say kalamaja and all however it doesn't work.
I asked the ISP who simply replied that they are using RFC standards and that any router that supports ipv6 can be configured with those values manually.
I also asked Mikrotik to see what they answered.
thanks a lot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests