Community discussions

 
Kommando
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:39 pm

Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:35 pm

I am attempting to setup a LHG to give me a second internet connection on a Draytek 2925 Dual Wan.
I am new to Mikrotik and only know basic networking so finding it hard to fathom out what to do next.

Currently the LHG is connected to a LAN socket on the Draytek but will not connect to a WAN socket which is setup to take an assigned IP address on an Ethernet connection. The connection works with a bridged Huawei B525.

Draytek Lan is 192.168.1.1/24

the LNG is running v6.45.3 (stable)

I have 3 interfaces showing

Ether1 is assigned to a fixed IP which the Draytek sees when the LHG is connected to a LAN socket
Ether1 has also picked up an IP address from the Sim card connection

LTE1

Vlan1 which picks up a Draytek DCHP ip address

When its plugged into the LAN I an access the config through the Ether1 fixed IP or the VLAN1 IP.

I have gone into terminal and added passthrough to LTE1 and this went ok with no error messages

I have a good LTE signal and lte1 info is

[admin@MikroTik] > /interface lte info lte1 once
pin-status: ok
registration-status: registered
functionality: full
manufacturer: "MikroTik"
model: "R11e-LTE"
revision: "MikroTik_CP_2.160.000_v010"
current-operator: vodafone UK
lac: XXXX
current-cellid: XXXXXX
enb-id: XXXX
sector-id: XX
phy-cellid: XXXX
access-technology: Evolved 3G (LTE)
session-uptime: 38m20s
imei: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
imsi: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
uicc: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
earfcn: 6300 (band 20, bandwidth 10Mhz)
rsrp: -77dBm
rsrq: -11dB
sinr: 9dB
cqi: 11

So reading through the info it looks like I need to add a DCHP client to LTE so it will give the Draytek the IP address and it is missing but the terminal command given in the online manual is not working also so cannot add it.

[admin@MikroTik] > /ip dhcp-client
[admin@MikroTik] /ip dhcp-client> add default-route-distance=1 disabled=no interface=lte1
input does not match any value of interface

If I use webconfig it does not give lte1 in the list of interfaces to add a DHCP client to so stumped.



[admin@MikroTik] > export
# aug/14/2019 15:11:01 by RouterOS 6.45.3
# software id = KB48-8D0Q
#
# model = RBLHGR
# serial number = ABXXXXXXXXX
/interface vlan
add interface=ether1 name=vlan1 vlan-id=1
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface lte apn
add apn=pp.vodafone.co.uk authentication=pap name="Voda PAYG" \
passthrough-interface=ether1 passthrough-mac=auto password=wap user=wap
/interface lte
set [ find ] apn-profiles="Voda PAYG" band=3,20 mac-address=AC:FF:FF:00:00:00 \
mtu=1500 name=lte1 network-mode=lte
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/ip pool
add name=default-dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=default-dhcp interface=ether1 name=defconf
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface detect-internet
set detect-interface-list=all internet-interface-list=all lan-interface-list=\
all wan-interface-list=all
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=lte1 list=WAN
add list=LAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.146/24 comment=defconf interface=ether1 network=\
192.168.1.0
/ip arp
add address=192.168.1.1 interface=ether1 mac-address=00:1D:AA:B7:EF:D0
/ip dhcp-client
add dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=vlan1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.1.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.1.146 netmask=24
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=1.1.1.1,1.0.0.1
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.1.146 name=router.lan ttl=3w
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-sta
invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat
connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" disabled=ye
ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
/ip ssh
set allow-none-crypto=yes forwarding-enabled=remote
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/London
/system package update
set channel=testing
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
[admin@MikroTik] >


Any suggestions on next step
 
Kommando
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:39 pm

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:43 pm

More by fluke I got the DHCP client for lte1 added, it appeared right after I put a tick in bridge all LANS, this added a bridge and the DHCP client for lte1. Removed the bridge and the DHCP client is still there greyed out ie disabled, when I enable it then it goes red and reports as being stopped, rebooting or disabling the LTE inteface and re-enabling it does not start it.
 
wja962
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 11:33 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:43 pm

I don’t have an LHG but I do have an SXT LTE which is a very similar device.

In the factory configuration the RouterOS should have a DHCP server running on IP address 192.168.88.1 and handing out IP addresses from 192.168.88.254 downwards on the 192.168.88.x/24. It should just work once you enter the SIM card details and the device obtains a WAN IP address from the ISP.

But on my SXT LTE it seems there is an issue with the newer firmware. I had to downgrade the firmware and only then did the unit acquire a WAN IP address and start passing traffic.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=140153

The fix in the thread solved my issue. Maybe it will fix yours too.
MTCNA / MTCRE / MTCUME / MTCTCE / MTCIPv6E
Image
 
wja962
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 11:33 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:47 pm

Also, in RouterOS there are DHCP clients and DHCP servers. A DHCP client on its own won’t help in your configuration, as far as I’m aware.

In your configuration you can see you have a DHCP server allocation pool from 192.168.88.10-254, but then you’re adding IP addresses and gateways on the 192.168.0.x and 192.168.1.x ranges. From your description of your use-case, just reset the device, change the admin password, set the SiM card credentials and plug it into WAN 2 on the Draytek. It will give the Draytek a WAN IP on the 192.168.88.x subnet and the Draytek will NAT that traffic onto the 192.168.1.x address range you’re using.

Isn’t that what you want to achieve?
MTCNA / MTCRE / MTCUME / MTCTCE / MTCIPv6E
Image
 
Kommando
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:39 pm

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:27 pm

I have reverted back to 192.168.88.1 on the LHG with a DHCP server set giving the Draytek an IP address, the Draytek gets the IP address when the LHG is connected to the WAN socket and I can ping 192.168.88.1 from the Draytek but not any further. The LHG says it is connected to the internet on lte1, it has a network address and DNS server IP from Vodafone but there is a gap between lte1 and ether1.
 
User avatar
krafg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Fri Aug 16, 2019 12:22 am

If I understand you have 2 wan connections? If it yes, I prefer to get both ISP's addresses directly on your Draytek and manage all through it.

On LTE APN profile, the last option is passthrough interface. Choore your Ethernet port and with it you will get ISP IP directly on your Ethernet cable, to your Draytek.

I not know if this can solve your problems.

Regards.
Image
 
wja962
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 11:33 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Fri Aug 16, 2019 12:24 am

The firewall on the LHG will stop you doing anything more than pinging it.

But I didn’t think you wanted to go from the Draytek to the LHG, you want to pass traffic from the LHG to the Draytek.

Does the Draytek know it’s supposed to be using the secondary WAN I.e. the LHG? If it doesn’t, it may never try to use it for data.
MTCNA / MTCRE / MTCUME / MTCTCE / MTCIPv6E
Image
 
Kommando
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:39 pm

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:38 am

If you select static or dynamic IP as the connection method then when you plug an ethernet cable into a Draytek wan socket and it gets assigned an IP address and if it can ping 1.1.1.1 then it shows as being connected. Works fine on a Bridged B525 and a POE wireless antenna connection to a local wifi provider (this is the one the LNG is to replace, its only 10mb and Vodafone will give me 50mb).

The issue seems to be the lte1 DHCP client is stopped and cannot be started. Without that the passthrough is missing an assigned IP address from the vodafone dhcp server.
 
Kommando
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:39 pm

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan

Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:37 am

This is the terminal info on DHCP clients

[admin@MikroTik] > ip dhcp-client print detail
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
0 interface=vlan1 add-default-route=yes default-route-distance=1
use-peer-dns=yes use-peer-ntp=yes dhcp-options=hostname,clientid
status=bound address=192.168.1.10/24 gateway=192.168.1.1
dhcp-server=192.168.1.1 primary-dns=1.1.1.1 secondary-dns=1.0.0.1
expires-after=4w1d23h49m35s

1 I interface=*1 add-default-route=yes default-route-distance=1 use-pee
use-peer-ntp=yes dhcp-options=hostname,clientid

The Vlan is working correctly. the stopped lte1 is being misreported as *1 , no idea if that is significant.
 
Kommando
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:39 pm

Re: Connecting LTE LHG to Draytek dual wan  [SOLVED]

Fri Aug 16, 2019 3:15 pm

Solved !!!

Followed these instructions and the added some extra steps of my own.

In WinBox or in WebFig do the following (assuming you have internet connection):
1) System --> Packages --> Check For Updates --> Download&Install
2) System -> Reboot
3) System --> Routerboard --> Upgrade
4) System -> Reboot
5) In terminal in winbox enter this command (assuming you have LTE connection):
interface lte firmware-upgrade lte1 upgrade=yes

The LTE firmware went from 10 to 12

reset the device to its defaults:
System --> Reset Configuration (uncheck all boxes and hit Reset)
after that disable dhcp server (you wont be needed it in passthrough mode):
IP --> DCHP Server --> Select and delete or disable it
The make sure interface you are trying to passthrough to is not in the bridge
Bridge --> Ports, Select and delete or disable it
turn on passthrough:
Interfaces --> LTE --> LTE APNs --> doubleclick on apn --> select passthrough interface

I also did these extra steps

1. In firewall added a masquerade with LTE1 as output.

2. Added a DHCP Client to ether1

I did the second step as ether1 was showing the vodafone gateway as a network with gateway but no leases and it was waiting, no idea why it works but it does. Guessing ether1 now collects a vodafone IP address and passes it through to the Draytek (i can't access the LHG when its connected to a WAN socket, need to add a fixed route to the Draytek to allow access as per the B525)

I did not need to add a DHCP Client to lte1.

The Draytek is connected and has been assigned a vodafone ip address, ping timing is good, download speeds will be better once I get the LHG outside.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests