Community discussions

 
mejiacalle
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:28 pm
Location: Miami, Florida

AT&T Fiber Gateway Passby

Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:44 pm

Hello,

I have AT&T Fiber (1 Gig Plan) with PACE 5268AC Gateway. I am planning to purchase a Mikrotik router; I am undecided between the RB4011 or CCR1009. How can I set up the Mikrotik router in order to pass-by the ATT Gateway. I know that the PACE 5268 has a bug when placed in DMZ mode. In addition, I do not want to have a lower speeds (the goal is to have my own set-up without sacrificing the speed that I am paying for).

Thanks for all your help,
 
berzerker
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:55 am

Re: AT&T Fiber Gateway Passby

Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:56 pm

According to viewtopic.php?t=137193, both the RB4011 and CCR1009 perform well bypassing an AT&T Gateway.

You'll probably need a BGW210-700, though. The Paces have issues with keeping EAP connections alive and require constant pings on other solutions. See if you can get your Pace swapped with the BGW210.
 
mejiacalle
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:28 pm
Location: Miami, Florida

Re: AT&T Fiber Gateway Passby

Fri Aug 16, 2019 10:09 pm

According to viewtopic.php?t=137193, both the RB4011 and CCR1009 perform well bypassing an AT&T Gateway.

You'll probably need a BGW210-700, though. The Paces have issues with keeping EAP connections alive and require constant pings on other solutions. See if you can get your Pace swapped with the BGW210.
Thanks for the recommendation, I had read that the BGW210 has a limited NAT table, but I guess this will be taken care by the Mikrotik router, right? What set-up do you have (note that I only need INTERNET, no TV or Phone service from AT&T).

Regards,
 
berzerker
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:55 am

Re: AT&T Fiber Gateway Passby

Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:10 pm

According to viewtopic.php?t=137193, both the RB4011 and CCR1009 perform well bypassing an AT&T Gateway.

You'll probably need a BGW210-700, though. The Paces have issues with keeping EAP connections alive and require constant pings on other solutions. See if you can get your Pace swapped with the BGW210.
Thanks for the recommendation, I had read that the BGW210 has a limited NAT table, but I guess this will be taken care by the Mikrotik router, right? What set-up do you have (note that I only need INTERNET, no TV or Phone service from AT&T).

Regards,
Correct. Once you set this bypass up, the gateway won't have any internet traffic going through it, only the EAP-POL packets to complete authentication into AT&T's network. It's just about getting the right gateway that behaves correctly with this setup.

I don't actually have AT&T anymore, but when I did it was internet only.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 75 guests