Community discussions

MikroTik App

thaideval
just joined
Topic Author

Ipsec vpn traffic limit?

Fri Oct 25, 2019 12:19 pm

Hello, i have a simple question - is it possible to limit speed on ipsec vpn peer?
Sorry if this is dumb to ask, but i didnt find any info on that topic and one of my roadwarriors is transmitting a lot of bytes through tunnel. Its not a problem, but i got curious - is it possible to limit him.

schrodingersdoge
just joined

Re: Ipsec vpn traffic limit?

Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:12 pm

I'm absolutely no expert, but I believe this shouldn't be difficult to implement assuming the following is true. Are you able to identify the RW by a consistent IP? If not, I think you can achieve that through a combination of /ip ipsec identity and /ip ipsec peer.

I found this just now from here: viewtopic.php?t=81797. If you can identify by IP, should be that simple. I'm a bit of a newb though.

Code: Select all

# Limit Bandwidth of each IP in an entire subnet:
/queue type
add kind=pcq name=pcq-upload-custom pcq-classifier=src-address pcq-rate=2M
add kind=pcq name=pcq-download-custom pcq-classifier=dst-address pcq-rate=2M
/queue simple
add name=Throttle-Each queue=pcq-upload-custom/pcq-download-custom \
target=192.168.1.0/24

thaideval
just joined
Topic Author

Sat Oct 26, 2019 10:36 am

I'm absolutely no expert, but I believe this shouldn't be difficult to implement assuming the following is true. Are you able to identify the RW by a consistent IP? If not, I think you can achieve that through a combination of /ip ipsec identity and /ip ipsec peer.

I found this just now from here: viewtopic.php?t=81797. If you can identify by IP, should be that simple. I'm a bit of a newb though.

Code: Select all

# Limit Bandwidth of each IP in an entire subnet:
/queue type
add kind=pcq name=pcq-upload-custom pcq-classifier=src-address pcq-rate=2M
add kind=pcq name=pcq-download-custom pcq-classifier=dst-address pcq-rate=2M
/queue simple