Community discussions

 
cypa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:20 am

NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 8:51 am

Is NV2 good for VoIP? How is it in comparison vs DECT?
Any handheld devices support NV2?
Actually I want to replace DECT cordless phones with WiFi handhelds - any hints on this?
What is we want to implement NV2 on our own wireless device? Licensing?
 
Zacharias
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 737
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:52 am

NV2 is a MikroTik protocol and used only between MikroTik devices.
No other device can connect using nv2.
 
cypa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:20 am

Re: NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:27 pm

Well, any MikroTik NV2-capable OEM platform has soundcard to make IP-phone device?
Is it possible to buy NV2 protocol OEM-license to forge our own hardware with NV2?
 
Zacharias
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 737
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:42 pm

No and No...
You must use MikroTik devices only..!
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:18 pm

sadly no... only way to get mikrotik and your own code running on a single CPU is to use VM or go a different way and use RaspberryPI (or other similar board like even smaller OrangePI). It all together can be small enough, but it's not very power efficient...
Also while ROS x86 and some other have VM support built in (MetaRouter) it doesn't support any type of hardware passthrough, not even USB, so you can't use it to run any OS to work with HW directly... it sucks and haven't been updated for years.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1187
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:14 pm

Actually I want to replace DECT cordless phones...
DECT means short range / indoors, right? What kind of problems are you going to solve using NV2 indoors?
 
cypa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:20 am

Re: NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:32 pm

As far as I know there is outdoor DECT also and DECT problems are next
- more radio hardware working in parallel with WiFi (it has it's TCO)
- no common smartphone has DECT-connectivity so it is second handheld for every VoIP user
- so DECT do not feat well for unified communication approach ...

We were exploring problems with WiFi VoIP-phone and found 802.11 is not suitable for guaranteed VoIP traffic delivery, but I found NV2 do has TDMA, which is better for VoIP.
I'm aware WiFi 6 ax standard will be VoIP-ready, but before it's adoption is NV2 better than WiFi 4 and 5?
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3177
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:57 pm

Re outdoor DECT: at least in our country, outdoor DECT (built using professional equipment) is always used for fixed PtMP installations ... pretty much as poor substitute for last-mile wires. Being unable to offer data services it's getting phased out and replaced with 4G fixed-mobile broadband (carrying VoIP among other services).

You're right, WiFi without implemented the whole QoS machinery is just not good enough for VoIP. It's not necessary that uderlying technology is TDMA, but it is essential that the central point (AP in case of WiFi) runs QoS-aware scheduler ... and that stations know how to deal with QoS as well.
BR,
Metod
 
Zacharias
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 737
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: NV2 licensing? Do any android/iOS device support NV2?

Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:58 pm

Why you are so sure that 802.11 does not work for you?
Yes it does not use TDMA as Nv2 and also Nv2 has the benefits of applying QOS as mkx correctly says but is it so bad with 802.11 that makes it impossible to work right?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests