Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
petersonal
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:24 am

lte roaming question

Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:40 am

Dear all!
We have a Mikrotik SXT LTE (R11e-LTE). We have two internet connection, one LTE and one ASDL with netwatach set up. The main is the LTE connection. The location of this device is near to state border. This is important detail, because, for two day, the LTE is connecting to foreign state network. The "allow roaming" tick is not enabled in the LTE interface at general tab. Also at general tab, the network mode is set to only 3G because on LTE there was always a disconnect. Does anyone have idea, how to prevent, from connecting the sim card to foregin state network, and force to use what is in our contry?
If you need any more information, please tell me.
Thank you
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: lte roaming question

Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:24 am

From CLI you can set only your ISP by:

a) scan your Operator's ISP and get the MCC-MNC number
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte scan lte1
b) set MCC-MNC number of your ISP like:
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte set lte1 operator=26001

You can disable roaming:
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte set lte1 allow-roaming=no

CleanUp:
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte set lte1 operator=""

BTW, you can create script who will be check your parameters of connection like registration to what ISP and do some action.
Please remember that you must know how to use CLI.
Example to grab e.g. LTE signal parameters:
local LTEInfo [interface lte info 0 once as-value ]
local LTErssi ($LTEInfo->"rssi")
local LTErsrp ($LTEInfo->"rsrp")
local LTErsrq ($LTEInfo->"rsrq")
local LTEsinr ($LTEInfo->"sinr")
local LTEcqi ($LTEInfo->"cqi")

put "$LTErssi,$LTErsrp,$LTErsrq,$LTEsinr,$LTEcqi"
Good Luck!
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: lte roaming question

Mon Dec 16, 2019 10:40 am

If you need any more information, please tell me.
The best way for you is to use CellLock at specific BTS Tower and then you receive internet only from it.
HowTo: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... _Cell_lock
 
petersonal
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:24 am

Re: lte roaming question

Mon Dec 16, 2019 1:57 pm

Hi!
Thanks for help. The allow roaming option was already set to no, it was not working. Now i set up the operator, it seems working. If not, i couId try cell lock. I would like to understand the command, could you help me?
In the specific device we have a "R11e-LTE" lte card. The command sytax is the following: AT*Cell=<mode>,<NetworkMode>,<band>,<EARFCN>,<PCI>
I would like to use cell lock so my guess is the following:
mode: 2 - i want cell lock
network mode: - i am not sure. I cannot found any command the get it right from cli. The 3 LTE, is not good, the 4G signal is weak, we could only use, 3G. So at the GUI interface\let1\network mode, i got tick in GSM and 3G but not in LTE. 1 or 2 option maybe? I did not found decription to "UMTS_TD" and "UMTS_WB".
band - Not in use, leave this blank - ookay
EARFCN - i can get this from lte info or at cellular tab
PCI - big question - if the LTE interface is on 3G mode there is no phy-cellid visible unlike when it is connecting to 4G. - how to get this?
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: lte roaming question

Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:31 pm

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... _Cell_lock -> for R11e-LTE and R11e-LTE6

1) Grab a Phy-CellD and EARFCN
1.1) from current connection
interface lte info 0 once
model: "R11e-LTE6"
primary-band: B3@20Mhz earfcn: 1300 phy-cellid: 485
ca-band: B8@5Mhz earfcn: 3526 phy-cellid: 16
1.2) from a cell-monitor by /interface lte cell-monitor lte1
1.3) You could use other app at your mobile phone, google app: Network Cell Info Lite etc - and other.
1.4) Your bts map like CellMapper (in PL we have got own btsearch.pl)

2) Connect to only specific Band(EARFCN) and Phy-CellID at your BTS TOWER by
interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=2,UMTS type,,$EARFCN,$Phy-CellID"
interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=2,1 or 2,,1300,485"
You must check this UMTS bcs I not see differ.

Reset CellLock by:
interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=0"

My R11e-LTE6 save this settings and I can do reboot/re-enable lte1 and still the CellLock will works.
You in R11e-LTE6 must add the "AT*Cell=..." into Modem-Init to setup it every time when modem is starting.
 
petersonal
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:24 am

Re: lte roaming question

Mon Dec 16, 2019 5:34 pm

1.1) unfortunatelly is not displaying the needed information only when connected to 4G
1.2) unfortunatelly is not displaying anything only on 4G
background info: i am testing with a same modell, next to me with 4G. The router what is need to be set is 200+ km far from me. I can not do 1.3) i am not next to the router, and i did not found a working online solution yet. I am asking the mobile provider for the information maybe they can tell.
The commands muts be 100% sure working, if something goes wrong i have to make a 4-5+ hours trip... so this "trying this option" is not really an option. If I have to go to this location sometime i will check it. Let's wait out, for the operator if it works. But in the meantime if you have time, and patiance, you can help me onwards.

If i choose the 2 option the connect specifis band, like using interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=2,1 or 2,,1300,485" how can i tell if this values will work?
I will try with my testing router.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: lte roaming question

Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:21 pm

The commands muts be 100% sure working, if something goes wrong i have to make a 4-5+ hours trip...
You can do a scheduler to restore a backup in +20 minutes - this give you a time to testing even in remote location. I use that way often and this is much better then SafeMode.
In your example this Cell Lock are always temporary (set one time until lte interface is still up) - means after reboot he comeback without cell lock. System Watchdog can detect offline and do reboot.

If i choose the 2 option the connect specifis band, like using interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=2,1 or 2,,1300,485" how can i tell if this values will work?
I will try with my testing router.
When I write a correct data then I have a registration > connection > Public IP > communication with internet.
When I do mistake then no gsm registration and I cannot use SMS and any communication. Device is offline.

I haven't got a R11e-LTE but I have R11e-LTE6 and do some testing with 3G and give you my feedback later.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: lte roaming question

Mon Dec 16, 2019 9:02 pm

[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte scan lte1
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte set lte1 operator=($MCC-MNC)
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte set lte1 network-mode=3g
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte info lte1
pin-status: ok
registration-status: registered
functionality: full
manufacturer: "MikroTik"
model: "R11e-LTE6"
revision: R11e-LTE6_V020
current-operator: Plus
lac: 11009
current-cellid: 75494651
access-technology: 3G HSPA+

btsearch.pl give me info about this BTS CellID
chrome_PeDsmS0hPN.png

[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte cell-monitor lte1
PHY-CELLID BAND EARFCN RSRP RSRQ RSSI SINR
0 3030
1 3030
9 3030
11 3030
14 3030
16 3030
17 3030
18 3030
19 3030
20 3030

This EARFCN "3030" I check at https://www.cellmapper.net/arfcn?net=UM ... 3030&MCC=0 and this is Band 8/FDD/946 MHz/5 MHz -> slow but big distance
[admin@MikroTik] > tool bandwidth-test address=[:resolve btest.domain.tld] protocol=tcp direction=both
tx-10-second-average: 531.9kbps
rx-10-second-average: 2.5Mbps

Finaly I try do Cell Lock in 3G by:

[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=2,1,,3030,1-20"
output: +CME ERROR: phone failure
This UMTS_TD not work, with this EARFCN

[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=2,2,,3030,1"
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=2,2,,3030,.."
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT*Cell=2,2,,3030,20"
This UMTS_BW I think work with FDD.

FAILURE - I cannot register to network

I think you can only provide specific parameters like
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte set lte1 operator=26001 allow-roaming=no band=8 network-mode=3g
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
petersonal
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:24 am

Re: lte roaming question

Tue Dec 17, 2019 10:34 am

You can do a scheduler to restore a backup in +20 minutes - this give you a time to testing even in remote location. I use that way often and this is much better then SafeMode.
Could you share the used script?

If I understand you correctly, with 3G network mode you can not tell, wich cell tower to connect, only tell, to use specific operator. This seems enough, after yesterday i set up the operator, the connection has not been disconnected yet.,
interface lte set lte1 operator=26001 allow-roaming=no band=8 network-mode=3g
What is band parameter good for?
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: lte roaming question

Tue Dec 17, 2019 10:55 am

Logic Bomb

File mp_bomb.auto.rsc with extention .auto.rsc send to ROS via FTP will be executed automatical by ROS - I use this way to discrtibute all auto-running scripts.
Content:
/
/system scheduler remove [find name~"bomb"];
/put "+bomp_clean";
system scheduler add name=bomb_clean disabled=no start-time=startup on-event={/file remove [find name=bomb.backup];delay;/system scheduler remove [find name~"bomb"];}
delay
/put "+bomb.backup";
system backup save dont-encrypt=yes name=bomb
delay
/put "+bomb +6m";
system scheduler add name=bomb disabled=no on-event={/system backup load name=bomb.backup password="";} start-time=([/system clock get time]+20m)
delay
#23..24
#system scheduler add name=bomb disabled=no on-event={/system backup load name=bomb.backup password="";} start-time=([/system clock get time]-24h+60m)
/delay delay-time=2s;
/file remove [find name~"mp_bomb.auto"];
/put "TheEnd";

When you finish with success then delete just scheduler's and all.
/system scheduler remove [find name~"bomb"]



In EMEA we have few Band (frequency) of using 3G/LTE. All tower use the same freq.
Polish Wikipedia give me info
oECSuXwftU.png
I can select those Band by One and check speed of internet at every of them. One are faster and have worst signal parameters. One are not in range.
After tests I can stay with the fast of ot.

*) About 3G the UMTS works at Band 8 is 900Mhz = UMTS900 and I have signal range only to this.
CellMonitor give me EARFCN = 3030, remember?
This EARFCN "3030" I check at https://www.cellmapper.net/arfcn?net=UM ... 3030&MCC=0 and this is Band 8/FDD/946 MHz/5 MHz -> slow but big distance
*) Band 1 = 2100Mhz = UMTS2100 - out of my signal range.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: lte roaming question

Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:21 am

I have success with CellLock in 3G.

First check your 3G current connection with enable logging.
/system logging action
add memory-lines=10000 name=test target=memory
/system logging
add action=test prefix=SXTR__LTE topics=lte
Execute this command and next do a reconnection with default 3G mode:
log print follow-only where message~"CREG: 1"
jan/08 00:02:00 lte,async,raw SXTR__LTE: +CREG: 1,"2b01","047ff4fb",2 
jan/08 00:02:00 lte,async,raw SXTR__LTE: $CREG: 1,"2b01","047ff4fb",2,"021"
Parameters of $CREG means:
  • LAC: 2b01 hex = 11009 dec
  • Cell ID: 047ff4fb hex = 75494651 dec
  • UMTS Type:
    2: UTRAN
    4: UTRAN w/HSDPA
    5: UTRAN w/HSUPA
    6: UTRAN w/HSDPA and HSUPA
    8: UTRAN HSPA+
  • PHY-CELLID: "021" hex = 33 dec
Cell-Monitor give me only PHY-CELLID 9,16,20 but I create a for loop and do test on all 0-127 phy-cellid and found that only 33 works and cell-monitor not detect it and not provide it at default connection.

Proper CellLock in 3G with my only one earfcn 3030 = Band 8 = 900Mhz.
interface lte at-chat lte1 input="at*cell=2,2,,3030,33"
In my example I have possibility to connect to only one 3G Band, BTS, eNodeB, freq and the automatic way and static by Cell Lock works now to the same Cell ID.
I hope this help you in your example.
Good Luck.
 
WerhSamy
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2023 5:29 pm

Re: lte roaming question

Fri Jan 27, 2023 5:31 pm

That's very strange
 
User avatar
SkadeMetty
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2023 12:43 pm

Re: lte roaming question

Mon Jan 30, 2023 12:46 pm

It's definitely frustrating when your device connects to a network that you don't want it to, especially when you're near a state border.
 
User avatar
Omerik
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2024 12:14 pm
Location: Padua - italy

Re: lte roaming question

Tue Feb 06, 2024 6:49 pm

[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte scan lte1
[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte info lte1


Goodmorning gentlemen & ladies if there are,

I would like to know to query the status of the roaming of my SIM, but I do not the command; could any one give me a suggestion please ?

[admin@MikroTik] > interface lte (xxxxxxx) lte1 -> what is the command to put in (xxxxxxx) to let Mikrotik answer if the allow-roaming is YES or NO ?

Thank you to everybody have the patience to answer me.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ivicask, johnson73, mada3k, pajapatak, rhn007 and 83 guests