Community discussions

MikroTik App

erore2
just joined
Topic Author

firewall vs nat packet flow

Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:41 pm

What is the proper way to execute firewall rules before nat? I am just a beginner but from what i found, natted packets do not enter firewall at all. But what if I want to run a set of rules on ALL traffic entering IN the device through a particular eth port regardless of what happens to it. A good example would be black list. I have seen the scripts e.g. https://github.com/pwlgrzs/Mikrotik-Blacklist or https://www.marthur.com/networking/mikr ... ewall/388/ but if it is really true that packets to be natted do not go through any of the chains, those examples are not very good one.

One option would be to do it via firewall>raw but i have never really encountered this so i don't know its downsides.

Can anyone help out (especially to solve the problem of say blacklist properly)?

BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: firewall vs nat packet flow

Fri Jan 03, 2020 6:12 pm

A. "RAW" part of firewal inspects packets which enter firewall or leave it but are originated by router: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/Firewall/Raw

B. NAT is done before routing and firewal so you have inspect proper addresses in firewall rules e.g if you DST-NATted packet to internal device then it in it's header has pair of ORIGNALSRCIP:DSTNATTEDIP instead of ORIGINALSRCIP:ORIGINALDSTIP. If you do alse SRC-NAT then you should match SRCNATTEDIP:DSTNATTEDIP addresses

Check this: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Packet_Flow_v6

erore2
just joined
Topic Author

Fri Jan 03, 2020 6:47 pm