Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Bergante
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:27 pm
Location: Bilbao, Spain

IP route table display

Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:07 am

Hi,

I noticed a regression between the 6.46.1 (which was the previous version installed on my router) and 7.0beta4. It's the first time I try 7.0.

The router is a rb2011.

I have several black hole routes for the private IP address ranges which I use with rpf to avoid spoofing. Using /ip route print doesn't show the blackhole routes as "blackhole". They appear as Active Static ones, which is wrong.

This is a route print from a rb2011 with 6.46.1
 /ip route> print where type=blackhole
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, 
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme, 
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit 
 #      DST-ADDRESS        PREF-SRC        GATEWAY            DISTANCE
 0 A SB 10.0.0.0/8                                                   1
 1 A SB 169.254.0.0/16                                               1
 2 A SB 172.16.0.0/12                                                1
 3 A SB 192.168.0.0/16                                               1
The same configuration on rb2011 with 7.0beta4
/ip/route> print where type=blackhole
Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive, A - active; C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, d - dhcp, v - vpn
Columns: DST-ADDRESS, Distance
#      DST-ADDRESS     D
0  AS  10.0.0.0/8      1
1  AS  169.254.0.0/16  1
2  AS  172.16.0.0/12   1
3  AS  192.168.0.0/16  1
[admin@MikroTik] /ip/route> 
While the routes were added like:
/ip route
add dst-address=169.254.0.0/16 type=blackhole
add dst-address=172.16.0.0/12 type=blackhole
add dst-address=192.168.0.0/16 type=blackhole
add dst-address=10.0.0.0/8 type=blackhole
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5960
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IP route table display

Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:22 pm

v7 have completely reworked routing table with completely different flags.

v7 Has 3 Flag columns:
* shows if route is dynamically added by any protocol
* route status flag (active, inactive, disabled)
* protocol flag (bgp, osf,static,connected etc.)

I would suggest to use /routing/route menu to monitor routes as it has more useful info. Including "blackhole" being shown as gateway.
Use /ip/route menu just for configuration
 
alfredo
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 3:06 pm

Re: IP route table display

Mon Jan 20, 2020 8:50 am

I would suggest to use /routing/route menu to monitor routes as it has more useful info. Including "blackhole" being shown as gateway.
Use /ip/route menu just for configuration
I sense a lot of suffering in the future. Please don’t. If /routing route print is the new way to do it, then remove /ip route print altogether.
 
User avatar
Bergante
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:27 pm
Location: Bilbao, Spain

Re: IP route table display

Mon Jan 20, 2020 1:06 pm

v7 have completely reworked routing table with completely different flags.
Understood. Looks good, but!
I would suggest to use /routing/route menu to monitor routes as it has more useful info. Including "blackhole" being shown as gateway.
Use /ip/route menu just for configuration
I agree with Alfredo, this is really breaking an old Mikrotik tradition of changing stuff on a menu level (in this case, /ip/route) and using "print" on the same menu level
to check it.

I am not sure whether the new approach is better or worse, but would it be possible to keep the old behavior in /ip/route at least for a transition period? I guess lots of people will get confused, not to mention scripts!!

Thanks!
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5960
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IP route table display

Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:48 pm

You can do print on the same menu and you will see parameters related only to static IP routes.
Routing route should be used to monitor all routes (including filtered ones) and their protocol specific parameters.
eally breaking an old Mikrotik tradition of changing stuff on a menu level (in this case, /ip/route) and using "print" on the same menu level
This "tradition" is already broken in v6 for a very long time

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests