Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mutluit
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 4:04 am

10G device needed

Thu Mar 26, 2020 5:44 pm

Hello,
I need a network device (a managed L3-switch or router) to attach 1 or 2 high-speed data servers via 10G SFP+ link(s),
and which serves at least 8 local Gigabit (copper, RJ-45 ) clients.
I'm new to MikroTik devices and it seems I should take one of these devices:
CSS326-24G-2S+RM
CRS326-24G-2S+RM
RB4011iGS+RM
Maximum network throughput (ie. speed) is the most important criteria.
Which device can you recommend? What are the pros and cons of the above devices?
Thx
 
mutluit
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 4:04 am

Re: 10G device needed

Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:31 am

Update:
Before going 10G I'll try the following alternative first:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=159139&p=782114#p782126
 
mada3k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 10G device needed

Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:45 am

RB4011 is not a switch so pass on that.

CRS326 will probably do fine.
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's
 
mutluit
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 4:04 am

Re: 10G device needed

Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:12 pm

RB4011 is not a switch so pass on that.

CRS326 will probably do fine.
Yes, I think the same, but as a newcomer to MiktoTik devices, I haven't figured out its license stuff yet.
From the 2 alternative OSes I think I'll use the RouterOS. I need just a Web Interface and maybe also a
command line interface (CLI) via ssh for administering the device.
But on this page
https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... PC+License
it says
RouterBOARD devices come preinstalled with a RouterOS license, if you have purchased a RouterBOARD device, nothing must be done regarding the license.
For X86 systems (i.e. PC devices), you need to obtain a license key.
Eh, what? Is the CRS326-24G-2S+RM a RouterBOARD or is it an x86 system? A PC device? I've no clue what the writer of the doc means with that :-)
Can you or someone from support elaborate / help pls? Thx.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6324
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: 10G device needed

Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:09 pm

When you buy a box with the MikroTik logo on it, it already has a license. Nothing to worry about.
And MikroTik licenses usually are not very restrictive. On a switch there is nothing that is restricted, on a router there may be an additional license level you need when you have e.g. > 200 VPN users.
And on WiFi point-to-point link devices you may need an additional license to use them as multi-user access point.

Nothing relevant to your situation, any MikroTik switch should be fully usable with the license it comes with.

The "x86 device" and also "CHR" refers to using the MikroTik RouterOS software on a standard PC or virtual server.
As the software can be downloaded for free, you need to purchase the license separately.
 
mada3k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 10G device needed

Sun Mar 29, 2020 12:14 pm

A switch with included license can do all that a switch is supposed to do. Nothing to worry about.
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Guntis, MSN [Bot] and 72 guests