Community discussions

MikroTik App

ski1123
just joined
Topic Author

Mikrotik vpn with ikev1 set up

Sat Apr 11, 2020 10:51 pm

I am new to mikrotik and having issues setting up a vpn on mikrotik to an unknow equipment manufacturer, They had sent me the configs for it but I am having issues finding where in winbox to actually use and set those configs. I have gone through the tutorial and not much making sense at the moment. Any quick easy set up guides out there?

andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Mikrotik vpn with ikev1 set up

Sat Apr 11, 2020 11:18 pm

Any quick easy set up guide for a generic IKEv1 setup? Good luck finding one! IKEv1 is so versatile it's impossible to write a guide that would cover all and every case possible. Once you know how IPsec works, it becomes pretty straightforward to configure an arbitrary tunnel. But you need to spent literally months to learn and understand how the damn thing works.

Anyways, I'd suggest you post all the details/requirements you have. This way you may find someone here who will be willing to help you with your specific configuration.

ski1123
just joined
Topic Author

Sun Apr 12, 2020 1:02 am

Thanks,
I am setting up a laptop that needs to connect via vpn to a system running the server side of the software package. I bought mikrotik to set up the vpn. The only config given to me is follows minus confidential information:

IKE Version 1
WAN IP x.x.x.x
Main Mode
Any peer
Pre-shared key XXXXXXXXX

Phase 1
AES128 SHA256
DH Group 5,14
Key life 86400

Phase 2
AES128 SHA256
DH Group 5,14
Key life 43200
Remote network x.x.x.x/32

After setting up the VPN the IT guy from the distant end is suppose to configure the software on the laptop to connect. No other details given and it seems as I go through the wiki it asks for more information than given and not sure if this is set up under ipsec or pptp?

Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Sun Apr 12, 2020 1:32 am