Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
emils
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:53 am

Winbox v3.24 released!

Mon May 18, 2020 4:15 pm

What's new in v3.24:

*) fixed WinBox crash when viewing firewall rule with src/dst-address-type configured;
*) fixed checkbox group disabled state inheritance;
*) fixed dates and times in interface link up/down properties (RouterOS v6.47 required);
*) fixed system comment message display;
*) fixed vertical font alignment in optional fields;
*) fixed window size inheritance from the previous session;
*) keep advanced and simple mode table settings separately;
*) make WinBox upgrade work with wine 5.0 or newer;
*) properly show popup windows on top;

If you experience version related issues, then please report them to support@mikrotik.com.

Both Winbox 32-bit and 64-bit versions are available here:
https://www.mikrotik.com/download
 
templeos
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:58 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Mon May 18, 2020 4:24 pm

Finally the window resizing has been fixed after numerous Winbox releases. Winbox now saves them and if you log in they are not getting bigger and bigger anymore.
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1633
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Mon May 18, 2020 5:33 pm

Looks good and no more resizing of the windows on it's own is a big relieve. Running it on a Windows 10 system.
One RB4011 (cooled) and a RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. 4011 Does PPPoE/IKEv2.
Running:
RouterOS 6.47 / Winbox 3.24 / MikroTik APP 1.3.12
NordVPN viewtopic.php?f=2&t=158439&p=781009 for multiple connections.
 
w0lt
Member
Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Mon May 18, 2020 5:50 pm

Hallelujah !!!! :D :D
It works... :D :D
MTCNA - 2011

" The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long After the Sweetness of Low Price is Forgotten "

Image
 
xandrman
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:38 am
Location: Russia

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Mon May 18, 2020 11:19 pm

Everything is good on hidpi display, but terminal font is too thin. Can you change terminal font?
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5483
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue May 19, 2020 12:02 am

^^^ If you do, please don't break it for default dpi, it's perfect there.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
Saleh9416
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 6:21 am

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue May 19, 2020 6:23 am

It'd be great if you support Arabic characters in the next version like on Winbox Android App.
 
roe1974
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:14 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue May 19, 2020 12:30 pm

New Winbox shows strange changelog in "system -> packages" for stable tree ??!?!?!?
The error comes after "clear cache" only on the first device you connect after downloading descriptors. On other devices the changelog is OK. It stays strange only on the first connected device after performing a "clear cache" .....
No sorry....it is every 2nd time you connect
connect rb4011 .... changelog OK ... closing winbox .... connect rb4011 .... changelog NOT OK .... closing winbox .... connect rb4011 .... changelog OK .... and so on

Unbenannt.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by roe1974 on Tue May 19, 2020 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1633
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue May 19, 2020 12:43 pm

New Winbox shows strange changelog in "system -> packages" for stable tree ??!?!?!?
The error comes after "clear cache" only on the first device you connect after downloading descriptors. On other devices the changelog is OK. It stays strange only on the first connected device after performing a "clear cache" .....

Unbenannt.PNG
That has different cause and Winbox is correct here. It will be fixed when the Mikrotik software server is fixed/updated.
One RB4011 (cooled) and a RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. 4011 Does PPPoE/IKEv2.
Running:
RouterOS 6.47 / Winbox 3.24 / MikroTik APP 1.3.12
NordVPN viewtopic.php?f=2&t=158439&p=781009 for multiple connections.
 
roe1974
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:14 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue May 19, 2020 12:46 pm

No sorry....it is every 2nd time you connect
connect rb4011 .... changelog OK ... closing winbox .... connect rb4011 .... changelog NOT OK .... closing winbox .... connect rb4011 .... changelog OK .... and so on
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1633
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue May 19, 2020 1:32 pm

No sorry....it is every 2nd time you connect
connect rb4011 .... changelog OK ... closing winbox .... connect rb4011 .... changelog NOT OK .... closing winbox .... connect rb4011 .... changelog OK .... and so on
What if you enforce it to use only one of the two servers under the domain dowload.mikrotik.com? Round Robin behaviour of DNS could be causing that.

Mikrotik has first get their download servers in order again before we can draw any conclusions from that. It went all wrong at the end of last week.

See: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=154662#p793526
One RB4011 (cooled) and a RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. 4011 Does PPPoE/IKEv2.
Running:
RouterOS 6.47 / Winbox 3.24 / MikroTik APP 1.3.12
NordVPN viewtopic.php?f=2&t=158439&p=781009 for multiple connections.
 
User avatar
a.devecerski
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:23 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue May 19, 2020 6:50 pm

Hello

With Log window opened, minimize WinBox, then Restore. Log is always reverted to the beginning.
Anyone else seeing this?

Regards
 
User avatar
karlisi
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:09 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 20, 2020 10:15 am

Hello

With Log window opened, minimize WinBox, then Restore. Log is always reverted to the beginning.
Anyone else seeing this?

Regards
Yes, the same here
---
Karlis
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1352
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 20, 2020 11:36 am

With Log window opened, minimize WinBox, then Restore. Log is always reverted to the beginning.
Anyone else seeing this?
Yes, the same here
Just tried it on several routers, but only see this behavior on a single device. A differentiating factor appears to be the number of records kept in the log. I see this on a device with 1000 record in the log buffer. And it is the actual number of rows that matter, as I have a CHR instance with the line limit set to 1000 but with only 120 records currently in the buffer, and I do not see this problem there.
 
wispmikrotik
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:43 am

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 20, 2020 11:47 am

Hi,

Error, sorry.

Regards.
 
nkourtzis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:56 am
Location: Greece

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Fri May 22, 2020 11:35 am

Are there any plans to introduce something analogous to a taskbar in winbox, so that we can move seamlessly between open windows? Along with this, a miimize feature for open windows would also be useful.
Passionate about networks
Enthusiastic about Mikrotik
MTCNA | MTCRE | MTCINE

No trees were killed to send this message,
but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
 
User avatar
karlisi
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:09 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Fri May 22, 2020 1:25 pm

With Log window opened, minimize WinBox, then Restore. Log is always reverted to the beginning.
Anyone else seeing this?
Yes, the same here
Just tried it on several routers, but only see this behavior on a single device. A differentiating factor appears to be the number of records kept in the log. I see this on a device with 1000 record in the log buffer. And it is the actual number of rows that matter, as I have a CHR instance with the line limit set to 1000 but with only 120 records currently in the buffer, and I do not see this problem there.
I tried to set limit to 990 lines, there are 927 lines currently. Nothing changes, log goes to beginning after window restore. BTW, it's RB1100AHx2, RouterOS 6.45.9.
---
Karlis
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Fri May 22, 2020 3:46 pm

Hi,
Bug still exists on PC with HiRES display with 150% interface resize.
After winbox resized to needed size and disconnected, the winbox scale turns back to default.
God bless UNIX!
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4261
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Sat May 23, 2020 7:19 pm

Hi, just wanted to say THANKS Emils for you and your teams hardwork. Thats all!
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
User avatar
EvGn
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 11:50 am

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Sat May 23, 2020 10:23 pm

Implement multiple tabs with routeros sessions in winbox
The Cake Is a Lie
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6522
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 27, 2020 2:19 pm

The problem with windows that have dynamic updates remains the same, I went back to 3.21 after 10 seconds of test...

To reproduce: open a window like "IP firewall filters" in a router that is in active use, and make sure the hit-counts of firewall rules are being displayed (and changing all the time).
Now, position the mouse over a header separator and keep mouse button pressed to attempt to move the separator to set the column width appropriately.
Result -> column jumps to some default width at the same time the counters are updated. Dragging is ignored.

Similar problem occurs when you keep mouse button pressed over a filter line to drag it to some other place. Line jumps to wrong place, not the place you drag it to.

This is a critical problem that makes all recent versions of winbox unusable!
 
kd2pm2
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:14 am

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 27, 2020 2:24 pm

I never had this happen to me when I downloaded previous versions but now 3.24 is being flagged by MalwareBytes as having Malware.Generic malware. I suspect its a false positive but something changed since Malware Bytes never complained about previous versions...(and yes, I did download direct from MT site)
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1352
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 27, 2020 2:44 pm

open a window like "IP firewall filters" in a router that is in active use, and make sure the hit-counts of firewall rules are being displayed (and changing all the time).
Now, position the mouse over a header separator and keep mouse button pressed to attempt to move the separator to set the column width appropriately.
Result -> column jumps to some default width at the same time the counters are updated. Dragging is ignored.

Similar problem occurs when you keep mouse button pressed over a filter line to drag it to some other place. Line jumps to wrong place, not the place you drag it to.
Never experienced this problem, so now I went and tried it myself. Tested against several devices, result- cannot reproduce, everything works as expected for me.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6522
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 27, 2020 4:03 pm

I am running winbox (32-bit) under wine on a Debian system.
Maybe it behaves differently on a native Windows system?
I have seen others confirm this problem in the release topics of earlier versions (3.22 and 3.23)...
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1352
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 27, 2020 7:31 pm

I am running winbox (32-bit) under wine on a Debian system.
Maybe it behaves differently on a native Windows system?
Sounds plausible. I run Winbox (64-bit) natively on Win10. And (simply out of curiosity) I have just tested 32-bit version, which also works fine for me.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6522
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Wed May 27, 2020 7:37 pm

I am running winbox (32-bit) under wine on a Debian system.
Maybe it behaves differently on a native Windows system?
Sounds plausible. I run Winbox (64-bit) natively on Win10. And (simply out of curiosity) I have just tested 32-bit version, which also works fine for me.
It would be interesting to hear if wine users on the Mac experience the same issue, and/or if other Linux users see it as well.
Under Linux it could maybe depend on the window manager in use? (KDE/GNOME/XFCE etc)
 
Darmach
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 11:32 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Thu May 28, 2020 12:08 am

I am running winbox (32-bit) under wine on a Debian system.
Maybe it behaves differently on a native Windows system?
Sounds plausible. I run Winbox (64-bit) natively on Win10. And (simply out of curiosity) I have just tested 32-bit version, which also works fine for me.
It would be interesting to hear if wine users on the Mac experience the same issue, and/or if other Linux users see it as well.
Under Linux it could maybe depend on the window manager in use? (KDE/GNOME/XFCE etc)
Let me check that on macos
 
Darmach
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 11:32 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Thu May 28, 2020 12:13 am

I am running winbox (32-bit) under wine on a Debian system.
Maybe it behaves differently on a native Windows system?
Sounds plausible. I run Winbox (64-bit) natively on Win10. And (simply out of curiosity) I have just tested 32-bit version, which also works fine for me.
It would be interesting to hear if wine users on the Mac experience the same issue, and/or if other Linux users see it as well.
Under Linux it could maybe depend on the window manager in use? (KDE/GNOME/XFCE etc)
Let me check that on macos
Nope, macos catalina, wine64 (wine-5.7) and WinBox 3.24 - I can resize columns why they're updating all I like.
 
joegoldman
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Thu May 28, 2020 2:51 am

It'd be really great if you can fix group sorting

I put all my routers into groups, then I sort by group and go 'Show Categories' - this used to work in that it would be unique per group, but for the last few releases it does it by first letter, so if I have a heap of

Client1
Client1
Client2
Client2

They will all just sort under 'C' not under 'Client1' then 'Client2' with the category headers.

PLEASE fix this so I can get my groups set normal again
 
roykeanapu
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 7:02 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Sun May 31, 2020 7:07 pm

Next add dark mode will great :)
 
YASSKYLIGHT
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:58 pm

Why you couldn't fill file version value in file property field (details)?
MikroTik WinBox File version.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
xbipin
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:22 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue Jun 02, 2020 3:16 pm

how do we disable all this high DPI setting or winbox following system DPI?
i like how it was on 3.20 and want it to work how it was there so is there any command line switch which we can apply to disable the new dpi feature coz its turning out headache for me so sticking to 3.20 for now
 
xbipin
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:22 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue Jun 02, 2020 3:32 pm

I run winbox with my system set to a custom scaling of 121 the first time it shows big, then I close and reopen and then it shows small and then again big and again small, what's going on.
Can we please have a tick box to not follow system dpi settings or a parameter with which we can disable dpi scaling or else I'll be stuck to 3.20 which was fine for me
 
rzirzi
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:33 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Tue Jun 02, 2020 10:40 pm

I run winbox with my system set to a custom scaling of 121 the first time it shows big, then I close and reopen and then it shows small and then again big and again small, what's going on.
Can we please have a tick box to not follow system dpi settings or a parameter with which we can disable dpi scaling or else I'll be stuck to 3.20 which was fine for me
Agree!
And please rpair other BUG: when I disable Simple Queue - the (new) icon of queue is not turning gray - it's still greean like enabled.
 
UpRunTech
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:11 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Thu Jun 04, 2020 2:46 am

I wiped my .wine config and ended up with the old problem of the cursor and text being misaligned when running winbox on wine in fields of text to be edited, especially as the line grows longer. I had made some forgotten changes ages ago which fixed this but also turn off font smoothing - winbox looked perfectly fine without smoothed fonts and the cursor was always in the right place.

This old registry trick still works and you get to keep your smooth fonts, which is nice!

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\X11 Driver]
"ClientSideWithRender"="N"

Create a file test.reg with the key/text above, and on terminal:
regedit test.reg

This works with winbox 3.24, wine-stable 4.0.3~bionic and Linux Mint 19.3.
 
UpRunTech
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:11 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Thu Jun 04, 2020 3:49 am

I wiped my .wine config and ended up with the old problem of the cursor and text being misaligned when running winbox on wine in fields of text to be edited, especially as the line grows longer. I had made some forgotten changes ages ago which fixed this but also turn off font smoothing - winbox looked perfectly fine without smoothed fonts and the cursor was always in the right place.

This old registry trick still works and you get to keep your smooth fonts, which is nice!

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\X11 Driver]
"ClientSideWithRender"="N"

Create a file test.reg with the key/text above, and on terminal:
regedit test.reg

This works with winbox 3.24, wine-stable 4.0.3~bionic and Linux Mint 19.3.
Edit: I noticed now the initial login window for Winbox still has font-cursor misalignment, but once in Winbox it's fine. WTF!?
 
nje431
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:17 pm

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Thu Jun 04, 2020 5:01 am

@UpRunTech
Thank you! I've been wondering how to do that.
 
usernews
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:35 am

Re: Winbox v3.24 released!

Thu Jun 04, 2020 11:24 am

After connecting by IP address, the Winbox does not show any RouterOS settings, either interfaces or licenses, nothing, all windows are empty. Sometimes, after connecting, it shows, after a while, the connection disappears and after the connection there is already nothing. Frequent shutdowns of winbox also happen. Winbox version 3.24. Version RouterOS 6.45.9 long term. The problem is not only mine but also in another organization.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Grauzdins, krisjanisj, llubik, MarkoB, pendie, Radex and 22 guests