Community discussions

MikroTik App

nixmd
just joined
Topic Author

Routing traffic for specified domains to a different gateway

Fri Jan 15, 2021 2:46 pm

Today I was working on running OVPN client on my router so I can route request to visit some special websites to my openvpn provider, then I figured out that OVPN client does not support UDP and SHA512 on routerOS, therefore I had to run ovpn client on a raspberry pi.

Now all I need is routing a list of websites to raspberry pi ip address which is acting as a gateway. How can I configure my MT router to perform this task for me?

P.S:
  • DNS requests are sent to MT router, thus it is aware of domain names.
  • RaspberryPi has ip forwarding enabled and iptables rules set to forward incoming requests to vpn connection
  • I'm a noob, so helping me with actual commands to configure router are welcomed

Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Routing traffic for specified domains to a different gateway  [SOLVED]

Sat Jan 16, 2021 5:24 am

It may be tricky, mainly the part how you identify destination addresses. Websites often download stuff from many other domain, not just from their main domain. And even the main domain can be hosted in some cloud and can have several IP addresses that change all the time.

But let's say you want to start with something simple, for example this forum. Add destination to list:
/ip firewall address-list
add list=route_to_vpn address=forum.mikrotik.com
Add route to RasPi:
/ip route
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=<RasPi address> routing-mark=to_vpn
Tell router to use that route when destination is in the list:
/ip firewall mangle
add chain=prerouting dst-address-list=route_to_vpn connection-state=new action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=to_vpn passthrough=yes
add chain=prerouting connection-mark=to_vpn action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_vpn passthrough=no