Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ccl13
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:20 pm

Weird VLAN issue after upgrading to ROS 6.48.1 from 6.48

Sat Feb 06, 2021 10:55 pm

Hi,

I noticed a weird issue that I cannot determine the actual reason after upgrading to 6.48.1. All I can confirm is the issue happens only on 6.48.1 but not 6.48.

The issue is related to VLAN. I have several VLAN configured on my network, they are mostly to isolate different kind of network devices. After upgrading to 6.48.1, one of the VLAN (VLAN ID 19) stops getting access to the router, but all other VLANs and untagged are working just fine.

On my network, I have assigned an IP and subnet for each VLAN. Untagged has a similar setup. After upgrading, each VLAN can ping their corresponding gateway IP without problem, and cross VLAN routing works. But just VLAN 19 it cannot reach router. From winbox I can see devices on VLAN 19 sent DHCP request and router offered address, but no packet is received at devices. From device all I see is a big 0 on received packets.

I tried to lift all firewall rules, shuffle ways devices are connected (remove intermediate switches), nothing helped. Once I downgrade to 6.48, the issue is gone. I tried to upgrade to 6.48.1 again, issue is back. Restore configuration did not help.

There's nothing seemingly related to the issue from change log. Or am I missing something?
 
sid5632
Member
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: Weird VLAN issue after upgrading to ROS 6.48.1 from 6.48

Sun Feb 07, 2021 6:58 pm

You're not going to get any (sensible) reply unless you provide a configuration export.
 
ccl13
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:20 pm

Re: Weird VLAN issue after upgrading to ROS 6.48.1 from 6.48

Mon Feb 08, 2021 10:13 am

You're not going to get any (sensible) reply unless you provide a configuration export.
Thanks for your reply!
I am not new here. Did not post a config because I have a quite long config so between two things I am doing the easier one that is to diagnose myself looking at the export. If I cannot get anything out of it, it would be cleaned up enough for forum. This post for now is just to see if anybody have seen this too.
I think I noticed the issue and trying out a fix. Will share the update if that's working (or not).
 
kbzajunior
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:50 am

Re: Weird VLAN issue after upgrading to ROS 6.48.1 from 6.48

Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:58 pm

Same problem here after upgrade to 6.48.1 this morning.

All VLAN's are working fine, but VLAN for management SW dont work. I upgraded two devices (CRS317) and the exact problem is repdoduced in both devices.
If disabled VLAN Filtering in bridge, it is accesible, but the other VLAN's not passed to other ports (switch is like a 'dumb' switch.)

In my scenario, i use VLAN 299 for management the switch, but use another vlanes (a lot) and there works fine, just VLAN 299 is not working after upgrade.
Thanks
 
User avatar
memelchenkov
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Weird VLAN issue after upgrading to ROS 6.48.1 from 6.48

Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:07 pm

Just downgrade then, no? 6.48 branch has so many reported bugs so I'd be stay away from it as far as possible.
 
kbzajunior
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:50 am

Re: Weird VLAN issue after upgrading to ROS 6.48.1 from 6.48

Tue Feb 09, 2021 2:11 pm

Just downgrade then, no? 6.48 branch has so many reported bugs so I'd be stay away from it as far as possible.
Downgrading to 6.47.9 (long term) is fine. Upgrading to 6.48 work fine too. So, rOS version 6.48.1 introduced the bug/problem.

Thanks.

EDIT: Work fine only in 6.47.9. In 6.48.1 has got the issue, so not resolved.
 
ccl13
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:20 pm

Re: Weird VLAN issue after upgrading to ROS 6.48.1 from 6.48

Tue Feb 09, 2021 8:53 pm

Thank you all for responding to this.

For now I seem to have a solution but I cannot explain why the phenomenon is different on 6.48.1.

My issue is resolved by adding all interfaces to bridge's VLAN. Recently I configured a bonding for LACP to connect one of my switch to the router (RB4011). After the change, I forgot to add the bonding interface to bridge's VLAN tagged list. So upon checking logs, I could see that my VLAN from this switch was not working after I made the change in version 6.48. However untagged works fine. After adding the bonding interface to bridge's VLAN it solved my issue in 6.48.1.

What I don't understand is that in 6.48.1 the symptom is totally different. There are other VLANs that's blocked due to the same mistake. They don't work under the mis-configured switch for sure. But when upgraded to 6.48.1, only the VLAN 19 is not working everywhere, including under other switches which was configured correctly.

I still cannot correlate the difference in behavior with the change log of 6.48.1. I can confirm that with incorrect configuration, under 6.48 it is working as expected, so I am quite sure it is a 6.48.1 issue.
 
liza17
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2021 5:06 am

Re: Weird VLAN issue after upgrading to ROS 6.48.1 from 6.48

Wed Feb 10, 2021 5:09 am

Upgrade your boxes asap and disable winbox -- it seems to be just a dump of ... I really don't understand why Mikrotik keeps supporting that thing -- ROS can be ... I understand there are some issues when mixing 10G and 1G interfaces. ... I have a brand new Mikrotik RB4011gs and latest RouterOS 6.48.1 behind my ISP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], nichky and 27 guests