Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Cablenut9
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 543
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:30 am

Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Wed Feb 17, 2021 4:16 am

I want to power a cAP ac from another cAP ac with the included 24v power supply, but I noticed that its listed maximum power output on the second port is 500mA. A cAP ac takes up to 13w, which equates to 540mA with 24 volts. Is this power requirement close enough, or is it too risky? Note that the 13w is under maximum load, and you'd only get that maximum load with lots of routing activity (which I wouldn't be doing).
Serial question asker
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1475
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Wed Feb 17, 2021 9:49 am

You only get the maximum load at booting, under load we never saw more then 5w
 
quackyo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:14 am

Re: Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Wed Feb 17, 2021 10:06 am

It'll probably be fine, but to stay in spec you should get a higher voltage PSU.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 25042
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Wed Feb 17, 2021 10:59 am

You can power the in a chain, it works. maximum power is really only reached when all interfaces are at maximum load, in real life, that doesn't happen
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mdinisoae
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:29 pm

Re: Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Thu Oct 14, 2021 3:35 am

I can share my experience here:
At the time when I bought 2 "cAP ac" I've managed to have them cascaded: the 1st one was powering the second 2nd one and it has been working for few days when suddenly the second one stop.
Then I've switched the cAPs (2nd one to power the 1st one) ...also it was working for few days ...then something happen and the 2nd one stop working too (no power).
Both of them are still working well when each cAP is connected to its power injector.
 
olivier2831
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:53 pm

Re: Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Thu Oct 14, 2021 5:02 pm

I want to power a cAP ac from another cAP ac with the included 24v power supply, but I noticed that its listed maximum power output on the second port is 500mA. A cAP ac takes up to 13w, which equates to 540mA with 24 volts. Is this power requirement close enough, or is it too risky? Note that the 13w is under maximum load, and you'd only get that maximum load with lots of routing activity (which I wouldn't be doing).
Given how to difficult cabling can be, having a specially crafted device for daisy chaining 2 AP would surely interest a lot of people.
I first thought of a specially designed AP but as WiFi needs et requirements often change, maybe an external 3 ports PoE 2.5Gb/s capable switch you could mount an AP on, would better fit (you can hope for an AP mounting kit to support several AP models).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests