Community discussions

MikroTik App

Proximo737
just joined
Topic Author

2 Existing Wireless Backhauls - need bonded

Wed Jun 09, 2021 10:08 pm

I've been doing networking and wireless setup for some time now, but when it comes to new stuff and more intricate setups I'm a noob for sure. So, please keep it simple and winbox style. :)

I have two wireless backhaul links setup to a tower (Ubiquiti airFiber 5XHD). I want to bond the links to function as one "faster" link.

I have a RB750Gr3 to use at each end. I want to connect backhaul link A to ether1 and backhaul link B to ether2 on each RB750, then connect my network to ether3 at each end. No routing, just a bonded link that is in the same network subnet passing through data, without creating a network loop. Failover and/or balancing would be nice.

Hominidae

Re: 2 Existing Wireless Backhauls - need bonded

Thu Jun 10, 2021 10:45 am

...so each site has an identical infrastructure?
You have two "wireless wires" at L2 level between Site A and Site B or are these two IP based ISP-Links each?

If your connection is transparent L2, you can create the bond directly on etherX interfaces on each side.
For an IP based link, create two EIOP Tunnels (which is a L2 over IP tunnel) between the MT-Routers, one for each link, and then create bond accross these, like in a physical ethernet bond.
Then setup your own IP network accross both sites.

Edit: but over a wireless link, your mileage mayvary, as EOIP requires ARP and the link will always be UP, creating overhead.
Another option would be to use Mulit-Link PPP, which is more efficient....but as far as I know, MT does not provide a MLPPP server in RouterOS.

Proximo737
just joined
Topic Author

Thu Jun 10, 2021 5:30 pm

...so each site has an identical infrastructure? Basically yes

You have two "wireless wires" at L2 level between Site A and Site B or are these two IP based ISP-Links each? Yes, I have 2 "wireless wires". I love that phrase by the way! :)